Chevron Left
Communication in the 21st Century Workplace に戻る

カリフォルニア大学アーバイン校(University of California, Irvine) による Communication in the 21st Century Workplace の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.2
1,049件の評価
193件のレビュー

コースについて

In today's fast-paced business environment, employees at all levels find themselves being asked to handle more tasks, meet more deadlines, take on more responsibilities, and adapt to more change. Added to these challenges is the constantly shifting diversity of the workplace, where coworkers cope with generational, gender, age and cultural differences. Communication, both verbal and nonverbal, is at the foundation of everything we do and say, and is especially important in the 21st century workplace. The good news is that communication is a learned skill, and can be improved upon with the right training. The focus of this course is to heighten students’ awareness of workplace communication, and add new interpersonal skills, with the end result of becoming a more competent communicator overall. Target areas include: the process and functions of communication, behavioral patterns, perceptions as reality, verbal and nonverbal cues and behaviors, confidence, assertiveness, tact, anger management, criticism and constructive feedback, conflict resolution, team building, leadership, interviewing, and communicating more effectively with technology (email, Skype, texting, etc.). Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define communication and its role in the workplace 2. Describe benefits of effective communication in the workplace 3. Identify and explain most common audiences and techniques for communicating with each audience 4. Identify and solve common obstacles to effective communication 5. Summarize the 5 Step Technique and explain its usefulness in communicating with your manager 6. Discuss the best approaches and communication techniques for delivering bad news to your manager 7. Describe ways to make positive connections with your staff. 8. Discuss techniques for deciphering the communication styles of executive managers 9. Discuss techniques for identifying the characteristics and drivers of executive managers 10. Discuss techniques for persuading executive management 11. Identify best practices for working successfully with virtual/remote teams 12. Apply proven techniques for effective conference calls and webinars...

人気のレビュー

NA

Apr 12, 2016

This course is really helpful. I would recommend it to my friend to learn how they can improve their communication skills at workplace and can be a good employee and a great manager.

MM

Feb 01, 2016

The content of the course was good. Lectures were effective. I specially liked the last statement after every lecture "where ever you may be have a great time"

フィルター:

Communication in the 21st Century Workplace: 151 - 175 / 192 レビュー

by Robin V

Nov 14, 2015

A good introduction to Workplace Communication.

The resources supplied were extremely helpful.

I didn't pay so much attention to the slides that came with this - in fact, I'm not even sure how relevant they are looking back.

I had expected the overview videos to be an insight to the resource content, but it wasn't quite compiled that way.

The tests could have been longer, and perhaps could have contained obvious solutions - in some instances the solutions provided were all applicable, leaving the student to select the best option. In other instances the options available weren't even discussed in the content, confusing the student.

by Stefan V

Sep 17, 2015

Ok course. Well tught, but overall I prefer more business related classes.

by Mohamed f r

Sep 18, 2015

the course is not that strong when it comes to communicating with direct reports .

by Hong J

Jan 17, 2016

It is basic course with simple information

by Nguyen M C

Jan 14, 2016

I think that , this course need to add more keys critical important point in each lesson by keywords on Videos. And examples how to use these skill on nature life

by James B

May 07, 2016

The extra/outside content provided is great. As others have stated, but clearly not adjusted, some of the quiz questions aren't clear items covered in the material (which is frustrating).

by Fuad H

Aug 12, 2017

test questions is somehow not realistic and are not logical. there are multiple answers which may be true, but the test maker decided that only one answer is correct, why? because that is his/her own persuation. for example in my organization my manager can contact me by using social media, and that is normal. in the test questions, that was not correct answer. why? who decided that? and beside of that, other test questions were so illogical and many of answers could be the right answer. but it was not. I have tried days of repass this test, nevertheless I usually pass other tests from the first attempt. test must have ONE realistic and logical correct answer, and other options / answers must be non-realistic. but in your tests 90% of answers are realistic, they can be correct. thanks

by Yazan E C

Oct 26, 2015

The teacher of this course talks toooo fast ! I`m for example a french educated student, so I prefer to take courses with a teacher who talks in a comprehensive way in which I can understand everything he says in order to proceed in my work and then to benefit everything in this course.

Concerning the quiz, in the all of the quiz there is questions not related to what already said from the teacher or in the articles required to read. I red the articles coupes of time but in a specific questions, the answers, it seems, that we should answer from our own memory because badly it`s not mentioned in any article or in the video of the teacher.

Thanks

by Rafael S D

Aug 18, 2016

Kinda disappointed that in a course about Communication, Margaret can be such a "so-so" communicator herself. Except that, the course is good and offers some cool tips on how to deal with that new ways of communication that we must deal of.

by Stephen R

Dec 16, 2016

It wasn't challenging but more irrelevant to what I'd guess is a lot of "workplaces"

by Kuan S

Jun 21, 2019

Contents are not very organized and not in-depth. For example, many readings in "communicate with manager" section are general communication tips. Also, some outside readings requires membership of the websites.

by Yawovi A

Sep 14, 2016

Quite nice course

by Nguyen D S

May 29, 2019

Study materials are not really useful because of links to many other sites and courses

by Stan H

Jul 20, 2017

This course is a basic intro to communicating in the workplace. While the class contains some good advice to help old-school organizations move into the world of virtual offices, it doesn't offer much that

by Sana A

Sep 28, 2015

a nice "entry level" course lacking a forum discussion... was not even able to report some issue with videos and no explanation provided with quizzes results :/

by Vida F

Oct 24, 2016

Cheesy. If you mess up in your delivery, press the little button and start over! Needs some judicious editing.

by Evane G

Dec 21, 2015

There wasn't a lot of information inside the video and the test's questions hade multiple possible answer.

However, the links to ressources such as HarvardReview or Inc.com were pretty good and usefull.

by Omodiaogbe S

May 08, 2016

I did not meet my expectations from the course

by Sam E

Aug 30, 2015

The material was well delivered but I found it distracting to go between the video lecture and the additional material.

by Dee S

Aug 26, 2015

The value of this course is the collection of reading materials that can be found in the same place. The lectures don't add much to the course.

by Víctor H V V

Feb 24, 2016

The idea of having support with the videos does not work with this course. Also, the exams do not match at all with the information provided. The anwers to the exams are so relative or subjective, and that's a problem for those who does not domain English very well, just like me.

by Natalia S

Sep 24, 2015

Tiny lectures and no readings from professional books

by Christian

Jan 11, 2016

I think the teacher was very welcoming, but the content was less than enough to answer the quizzes. In the quizzes, every answer choice was correct and there wasn't any possible way to discern. What the teacher said and complemented with the lectures didn't match with the question answers. So, my score is "2".

by Lester D

Mar 20, 2018

Some concepts are explained poorly.

by Hany I

Nov 07, 2016

thanks it just needs more time