Chevron Left
Comparing Genes, Proteins, and Genomes (Bioinformatics III) に戻る

カリフォルニア大学サンディエゴ校 による Comparing Genes, Proteins, and Genomes (Bioinformatics III) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
117件の評価
21件のレビュー

コースについて

Once we have sequenced genomes in the previous course, we would like to compare them to determine how species have evolved and what makes them different. In the first half of the course, we will compare two short biological sequences, such as genes (i.e., short sequences of DNA) or proteins. We will encounter a powerful algorithmic tool called dynamic programming that will help us determine the number of mutations that have separated the two genes/proteins. In the second half of the course, we will "zoom out" to compare entire genomes, where we see large scale mutations called genome rearrangements, seismic events that have heaved around large blocks of DNA over millions of years of evolution. Looking at the human and mouse genomes, we will ask ourselves: just as earthquakes are much more likely to occur along fault lines, are there locations in our genome that are "fragile" and more susceptible to be broken as part of genome rearrangements? We will see how combinatorial algorithms will help us answer this question. Finally, you will learn how to apply popular bioinformatics software tools to solve problems in sequence alignment, including BLAST....

人気のレビュー

AH
2016年8月18日

A very well taught course that gives you the ins and outs of sequence comparision and introduces chromosme rearrangement analysis in a succint manner. This was

HN
2017年6月21日

I have taken courses I, II and III. They were consistently excellent. I plan to go for the next one.

フィルター:

Comparing Genes, Proteins, and Genomes (Bioinformatics III): 1 - 21 / 21 レビュー

by Ricardo S

2016年11月10日

One of the most difficult courses so far, but working hard you made it.

by ZIHAN X

2019年4月9日

Some content in Stepik might be erroneous...

by Christiane A

2017年8月6日

for me this was a very intresting courde where I learined a lot about the research behind genetics especially how difficult it is to interprete the experiemntal data. I also like the mathematical background in graph theory.

Not being a boilogist I miss some extra inforamtion about the biological relevance and would like more pratical exemples before doing the final challenge which I found rather diffucult: only after reviewing my peers I really startd to onderstand the challenge.

What I also miss is the community building aspect. Therre is a forum on every page but the comment are usually very old (3 of more years) so you can't expect to have a dialogue anymore. Problems reported years ago are sill open. I also woud like to know how many learners are currently following this course.

by Daniel D

2019年10月24日

It's simply astounding to see how clearly the authors managed to explain the concepts presented in the course (and in the entire series, for that matter). I always had a hunch that this was an excellent course, but only after reading other bioinformatics materials did it become clear to me how much effort the authors put into making this course the best that it can be.

My only criticism is that the peer reviewed final challenge doesn't work very well because there are not that many participants to do the peer reviews. It took me about 1 week to finish the course, including al programming challenges, and it's been 6 weeks since I am waiting to get my work graded. A better option would be to use an auto-grader.

by Robert K

2017年10月19日

This was intensive, time-consuming, thought-provoking ... pleasure! I really enjoyed it, it took me more time than the schedule proposed, but it was worth it. I liked exploring things on my own, and tampering with the code/algorithms. This part of the course now assumes that you can think intelligently and will do so. Although this is a course in bioinformatics I often found myself laying on the bed with a piece of paper drawing graphs in order to fully grasp what I need to do so my code would be more efficient.

Excellent work! I'll start the next part now.

by Ayaan H

2016年8月19日

A very well taught course that gives you the ins and outs of sequence comparision and introduces chromosme rearrangement analysis in a succint manner. This was

by Tobi F

2016年12月25日

Take your time, this course is harder than the others. Very worth it though, learned a lot and it was a lot of fun!

by Hercules P N

2017年6月22日

I have taken courses I, II and III. They were consistently excellent. I plan to go for the next one.

by Paolo B

2017年11月30日

This course was harder than the previous one, I am happy to have made it to the end!

by Yasmine E H

2020年7月26日

Interesting course but I wish that it took less time to give me my certificate.

by Zack X

2019年7月21日

In depth and comprehensive coverage of the topics in genetic data analysis.

by Yulan W

2016年10月2日

this course is easy understandable and interesting for the beginners!

by Simon O

2018年5月24日

One of the most challenging courses that I have done.

by Luis F R C

2017年11月13日

Very challenging but excellent walk through

by Weidong X

2016年9月17日

a very good course!

by Mohamed T

2018年6月19日

Excellent course

by chenhyde628

2016年12月13日

Good coursera.

by clearclouds

2018年9月12日

Good class

by José M P F

2016年8月9日

Muy bueno.

by Yudi,Tian

2019年5月19日

I think I will need some pseudocode in stepik interactive material to complete the code challenge. some part still too confused to me

by Linbo Z

2017年7月10日

I think Week 4 and 5 should be explained more. Pseudo-code can be more detailed.