Chevron Left
The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking に戻る

Google による The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
15,471件の評価
3,531件のレビュー

コースについて

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

人気のレビュー

BC

Jun 24, 2018

I loved this course. When I had issues support was awesome sauce. I really enjoyed the puns this instructor used to keep you from going off in a daze. I really wish I would have found Coursera sooner.

JP

Jan 26, 2018

A lot of information, but i feel like i fully understand core networking concepts. A lot of this info has helped me comprehend what will be required for me when I take my Network + certification exam.

フィルター:

The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking: 26 - 50 / 3,529 レビュー

by Abdulhamed A

Apr 26, 2020

This course was EXTREMELY DIFFICULT to understand. Prepare to do a lot of research outside of this course, which does not help as well. The first course of the certificate was easy to follow, but this course is way too advanced for people with no IT background. I don't understand how people are giving this course more than 1 star because it is theory-dense with a lot of new terms that are not even explained properly throughout the course. This course is the same as the typical college courses where profs just read off slides without caring to explain what they're reading.

by Andrew M

Feb 19, 2020

Apply yourself to these terms and concepts and you will gain knowledge that is presented in a very understandable way. Watch and rewatch the course videos and I promise it will all start making sense!

by Charles

Apr 09, 2020

I feel this course could have included so much more information, and benefited from more time spent explaining some of this stuff. It was unfortunately a lot of a guy just talking on screen, reading a teleprompter. It had some errors and over-generalizations, plus many of the exams were just simple drag and drop games that didn't really demonstrate our learned knowledge. I did come out of it learning new things, and already had a good solid basis in networking knowledge and maybe that's why I wasn't totally happy? Maybe someone with zero knowledge in networking would have found this more useful.

by Jeremy P

May 28, 2019

Needs hands on set up. eg: setting up vpn

by Islam M A

Feb 21, 2018

I am not happy with this course for the following reasons:

1.Lack of visual aids in lessons.

2. Teaching pedagogy depends on lecture manner without students interaction.

3. There are not any presentation slides (PPTX) for the videos or lessons.

4. Quizzes are completion sentences and this is not a valid evaluation.

5. This course is full of definitions that could be clarified in a better way than that one exists.

I think Google should revise this course and re-structure it.

by Geoffrey S P

Jan 16, 2020

Learned more googling the subjects then from the course. At least one question on every test was a trick question and when you got something wrong, the only comment was 'this is incorrect please review this section of the course." Then the answer to the question was usually a single sentence lost in a lake of babbling. All in all it felt like I was either supposed to learn through failure or that asking the internet is going to be a regular thing in IT.

by Daniel R

Apr 04, 2020

I needed to look up youtube videos to understand what was being taught. A talking head is not a good teaching tool for this subject. There were so many abstract concepts and acronyms that were addressed, but not explained. I don't feel like this part of the course has equipped me properly, and now I will need to look elsewhere to learn the information I need.

by Austin L

Jul 18, 2018

Could greatly benefit from more a more developed visual component. Especially in Subnetting.

by Artur S

Apr 04, 2020

Really dry, Lack of interaction. There is just this guy talking to you reading of a screen

by michael m S

Apr 26, 2020

I needed help and non can be found. I would like to have some type of tutor available

by Mohammad O

Dec 03, 2019

Quiz in subset is very confusing, not clear how to perform quiz.

by Brandon M

Mar 02, 2018

Some of the interactive quizzes could have been better explained and administered in a more efficient way. For example, the final quiz converting IPv6 to IPv4 shortened address - you should not have to continually redo answers that you already had correct. The way the quiz is administered is 10 random IPv6 numbers. It should have been done in such a way that once you get one correct, it won't generate again. A lot of the interactive quizzes were given this way and it just made them more time consuming. Imagine getting 9/10 right and you make a small error on the 10th. You then have to redo all 10 again despite having gotten 9 right previously. It's just inefficient. Other than that everything else was great. I'd like to see a mix of multiple choice and fill-in-the-blank on the quizzes instead of just one way or the other but that's not that big of a deal because there are flaws with both types of questions. I'd also consider doing away with the peer graded essays. I get the purpose for them, but I also don't think people were grading them fairly or thoroughly. I know for a fact that I did not include one of the items that was asked and 2/3 people gave me a passing mark on that particular item which shows flat out that they did not take the time to read through my submission. Overall great job, I'm enjoying the courses so far.

by Edgar O G

Apr 24, 2020

the only reason why i give it two stars is because, i wish there could be more interactive material as he is explaining lesson(s) there is SO MUCH THEORY that it is very difficult to remeber and to do notes on, making it very difficult to understand as there is no visuals of how it works just tons and tons of theory.

explanations are understandable and easy to go with.

but i really struggle with this course because i had to do a second research of what i was l learning so i could have an idea of how everything works. how IP addresses travel and so on, that without a visual at first it was super hard to comprehend. specially being a first timer.

if you could add some visual tutorials as they are explaining itll be better, to much 255.255.255.........

127.0.0............

to much going back and fourth abaout everything and no visuals.

by Jaiden K L

Sep 27, 2019

The method of teaching in this course doesn't really lend itself to applied knowledge that can actually be utilized in the workforce. That's not to say that I didn't learn anything, but I agree with many commenters who feel like there should have been more visual aids instead of just someone speaking about terms off of a teleprompter. Also the tests and assignments could be better formatted instead of making you regurgitate acronyms and terms. The special plugins that were part of the assessments always seemed to have problems also.

by Sean B

May 24, 2019

I believe that there was an overload of information presented. I felt as though it was a continual run on sentence, just way to much and at some points it was just rambling it seemed like.

by Zachary F

Feb 27, 2020

learned a lot of definitions, they never actually tell you how to setup a network and their is little to no practicality

by Ken L

Apr 04, 2020

So many terms and so little explanation. The courses are like dropping a term after another.

by Amber S

Jun 05, 2019

Since the "upgrade" the diagrams and updating have me at my wits end. I also respect the knowledge of the courses guided instructor.... But his voice is ambien.

by Rajan S G

Jun 15, 2020

a

by JMF

Jul 07, 2018

I wish this course had a more professional name-- all the courses in this series have cutesy unprofessional names and I don't like putting them on my resume like this.I feel like the spent more time writing puns for the lectures than they did on the actual material or the assignments. It's hard to follow the path the material is taking, it's extremely wordy (so it's easy to zone out before you get to the actual facts and info you need), the puns don't help (especially if you're struggling with learning disabilities or if English is not your first language), the rattling off of IP address after IP address becomes impossible to tease out the actual facts, and heaven forbid you have a little dyslexia. There aren't enough useful slides/diagrams/visual aids in the lectures. The quizzes (especially the interactive exercises) aren't helpful, and are slow or don't load properly, and when they do load, they're hard to use with a high magnification setting, and often the color choices aren't great if you're colorblind. The phrasing of the questions in the quizzes tested you more on whether or not you followed every lecture rather than the actual material. I honestly expected a lot better from Google and this course is not the same quality as other Coursera courses I've taken, and this course needs a lot of work before I'd suggest it to anyone. Less puns, more quality, please.

by Anthony H

Apr 11, 2020

The quiz has excellent knowledge for beginners and covers a variety of topics that one would need to learn for either Comptia Net + or later down the road their CCNA. My issue with this course is with the graded quizzes. The wording of the questions act almost as if they are trying to trick the tester by playing semantics. For example there was a question I encountered covering DHCP, paraphrasing it asked what would the type of IP be classified if you attempt to assign it to the same machine every time. "This would be "Static" being the IP is not being selected out of a pool of IPs. but the answer was labeled incorrect. Also in Week 5 there was a "1" Question graded quiz that has you move the wifi frequency to prevent interference. 1" the instructions are out of date and do not clearly identify what the course sees as "Least frequency interference". Also while interpreting the instructions you are given only 3 tries which will prevent you from completing this course. Not only do I think this should have been a interactive activity no graded. This is not how you perform a site survey. If you have overlap you modify the channels broadcasting (1,6,11) or move the direction /type of antennas.

by William W

Jan 18, 2020

Terribly formatted and extremely glitchy, which is very ironic considering this is an IT course. Tech support simply does not respond to any inquiries, even if they are as desperate as "this quiz does not function". On one of them, I literally had to drag boxes (which were either blank or had the text practically in another box!) at complete random until the quiz accepted them. The lectures themselves are horrible. You will learn more by just looking up YouTube videos on the subject.

by Efrain V

Mar 14, 2018

I'm only on to the second week of this course and I have to second guess the the teaching methods used on this course. It seems that the designers decided to use the lazy approach of content dumping and useless memorization. Just by seeing the phrase "100% or more" to pass, you can understand the lazy approach to this course. Content its buggy having to close and reopen quizzes to complete them, and just uninspiring in general.

by Gregory S

May 19, 2020

The videos in this course are probably some of the worst out there, you are better off watching youtube videos on the subject and guessing on the quizzes. Week 2's graded assignment was more painful than when i broke my leg, It took me 12 attempts over 5 days to finally get the answers correct. Check the forum posts for the answers.

by Luis D

Mar 04, 2018

Not having fun repeatedly trying to finish their Layers test which keeps marking me as wrong. There's no way anybody can fail that test since they give you the answers. Yet changing computers and browsers has no effect on the results. I keep getting failed at that one exam.

Wasted a hour already today with this.