Chevron Left
Computer Simulations に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による Computer Simulations の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
55件の評価
13件のレビュー

コースについて

Big data and artificial intelligence get most of the press about computational social science, but maybe the most complex aspect of it refers to using computational tools to explore and develop social science theory. This course shows how computer simulations are being used to explore the realm of what is theoretically possible. Computer simulations allow us to study why societies are the way they are, and to dream about the world we would like to live in. This can be as intuitive as playing a video game. Much like the well-known video game SimCity is used to build and manage an artificial city, we use agent-based models to grow and study artificial societies. Without hurting anyone in the real world, computer simulations allow us explore how to make the world a better place. We play hands-on with several practical computer simulation models and explore how we can combine hypothetical models with real world data. Finally, you will program a simple artificial society yourself, bottom-up. This will allow you to feel the complexity that arises when designing social systems, while at the same time experiencing the ease with which our new computational tools allow us to pursue such daunting endeavors....

人気のレビュー

QB
2020年10月18日

Very useful course for learning basics of ABM and NetLogo programming. We went over many variations of Sugarscape model and got some good insights on what ABM is.

TL
2020年4月23日

Very good course with great explanations. The wordings on questions of the quizzes could have been clearer.

フィルター:

Computer Simulations: 1 - 13 / 13 レビュー

by Ernesto E

2020年10月20日

I learned a lot from this course. This is the very foundation of AI and NLP and the most important course to really understand its relationship to the empirical, analytical, and theoretical areas of research.

by Miguel C

2020年9月17日

What a magnificent way to (almost) wrap up this specialization! While the first courses were a tad bit more theoretical, this is the one I've enjoyed the most. It was not only highly theoretical, but also highly functional in showing ways of modeling (in pretty accurate ways) social events and even societies. This will indeed prove to be a useful tool for my current and future jobs.

by Alexander P V

2020年9月28日

Ha sido un excelente curso. Se complementa muy bien con los demás y permite la adquisición de conocimientos fundamentales y el comienzo de un entrenamiento necesario para los científicos sociales con una herramienta muy interesantes como lo es NetLogo.

by Quji B

2020年10月19日

Very useful course for learning basics of ABM and NetLogo programming. We went over many variations of Sugarscape model and got some good insights on what ABM is.

by Teshan S J

2020年4月24日

Very good course with great explanations. The wordings on questions of the quizzes could have been clearer.

by Patricio V

2021年5月7日

Just To learn to program in Netlogo, worth all the invest of time and effort.

by Mina S

2020年11月4日

I really enjoyed this course. It was very interesting!

by Diego A P P

2020年8月15日

Excellent course. A complex topic explained simply.

by Swarn

2020年2月26日

Great class! I learned so much in this course!

by Paul J M V

2021年6月18日

very informative and beginner friendly

by Efraim J R B O

2020年10月9日

Great Course!

by Zack K

2020年9月21日

The content and the insight from this course is amazing. I would strongly recommend this course for anyone working as a Data Scientist or working in theory in the social sciences. However, there are a couple videos and content that need to be edited and re-published, which makes some of the content hard to follow.

by Ashley

2021年11月9日

The course is good if you're trying to learn about computational social science research methods. It doesn't really cover computer simulations in depth.