Chevron Left
Explorations in Confucian Philosophy に戻る

南洋理工大学、シンガポール(Nanyang Technological University, Singapore) による Explorations in Confucian Philosophy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
28件の評価
10件のレビュー

コースについて

Is Confucianism synonymous with Chinese culture? While it may be an overstatement to equate the two, there is little doubt that Confucianism pervades every level of Chinese culture and society. To be sure, other traditions such as Daoism and Buddhism have also left an indelible mark; nevertheless, Confucianism remains central to the shaping of the Chinese imagination. The influence of Confucianism extends beyond China to East Asia and through migration and cultural diffusion, other parts of the world. Confucianism traces its origins to the teachings of Confucius. What makes Confucius so special and what did he teach? This course will explore some of the key concepts in Confucian philosophy. Much of the discussion will centre on the Analects of Confucius, the foundational text of Confucian wisdom, although attention will also be given to the subsequent unfolding of the Confucian tradition. We will attempt to situate Confucian philosophy in its own context and to bring out its contemporary significance. Confucianism is a living tradition. Its vitality hinges on not only its continuing relevance in Chinese society but also its contribution to meeting the global challenges confronting the world today. There are no prerequisites for this course, other than a keen interest in Chinese tradition and culture, and the willingness to engage the Analects of Confucius....

人気のレビュー

AB

Mar 20, 2019

This course is amazing! The teacher is great and the subject is super interesting. I've completed like 20 Coursera courses and I can say that this is one of the best courses of Coursera. Thanks a lot.

JS

Jun 02, 2018

I loved every minute of this. Really well structured, very interesting and engaging and I genuinely feel I gained a lot. Thank you!

フィルター:

Explorations in Confucian Philosophy: 1 - 10 / 10 レビュー

by Alfredo M

Jan 06, 2019

Very deep and interesting course, with in deep analisys of original texts, well explored chinese language roots and creative and didatic graphics. This is a beautiful course, above all things.

by Jemma S

Jun 02, 2018

I loved every minute of this. Really well structured, very interesting and engaging and I genuinely feel I gained a lot. Thank you!

by Anna L

Jul 10, 2019

Outstanding! Exceptionally well developed and well presented course. The teacher explains complex and oftentimes vague and evasive concepts of Confucianism very clearly and logically. There is a comprehensive coverage of historic, philosophical and cultural aspects of Confucianism and neo-Confucian teachings. It is equivalent to a full academic semester of studies at a university in terms of covered material and quality of graded assignments/project.

by Antonia T B

Mar 20, 2019

This course is amazing! The teacher is great and the subject is super interesting. I've completed like 20 Coursera courses and I can say that this is one of the best courses of Coursera. Thanks a lot.

by Gabriel A P

Jul 26, 2018

It is one of the best courses that I have learned in my life!

by Alice Z

Jul 04, 2018

Excellent teachings about Confucianism.

by gonen s

May 25, 2018

Pros:

I've read the Analects & the Tao Teh Ching a few years back. This course really enriched my understanding of Chinese philosophy. It is goes very much in depth considering the short time it takes.

Cons:

The lecturer speaks too slowly for me, I had to run the videos at 1.5x

Didn't feel like the interviews in week 4 really added anything new to further the course.

by Richard F

Aug 13, 2019

Excellent overview!

by Joy S

Jun 06, 2019

Thorough review of the subject. Some of the interviews are in Chinese with subtitles. Has peer review.

by Edward H M

Jun 13, 2019

A great course taught by an extraordinary scholar with an impeccable command of his subject and English that made it stimulating and inspirational. Having been out of school for decades it was demanding ,refreshing and enlightening. My only wish would be that more people would become aware of the potential that Confucianism in its' present incarnation has to offer our realm of existence , we can only hope!

Thank you, Professor Chan