Chevron Left
Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description に戻る

ウェズリアン大学(Wesleyan University) による Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,244件の評価
398件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

人気のレビュー

EG

2020年7月1日

Great course, it taught me things that I would have never learned otherwise, in this course you must take your time, don't rush, because if you do you will miss the most important points of the curse.

AM

2021年1月19日

This was such a wonderful course. I got to learn a lot about strange lands, imaginative description etc. Generally how to set my world and describe it in a convincing manner. I totally recommend it.

フィルター:

Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description: 51 - 75 / 396 レビュー

by Sandra M

2020年12月29日

This course was really helpful for thinking (and writing) about the setting and description for a story. A big THANK YOU to Amity Gaige - you clearly put a great deal of thought into how to communicate the topics in this course in a way that new authors could understand and apply them. I particularly liked the concept of "Imaginative Research" and will use that in all of my future writing.

by Wynnie N

2017年2月14日

One can tell that Amity Gaige has carefully tailored this course to teach us the craft of setting and description. I have never paid much attention to it before, always connecting much more to the characters' feelings. Only now after taking this course, I can appreciate how important setting and description really is for the reader and also for the characters in your story. Thank you Amity!

by Amy A R

2016年8月1日

This was an excellent class. The assignments were specific, challenging, and enjoyable. I enjoyed the instructor's approach and insight to writing. Additionally, I found the supplemental materials very helpful. Finally, sharing past student work with current students helped clarify the subject matter and gave me perspective on the required assignments. I wish more instructors did that!

by Olabimpe S

2019年9月3日

I am not a writer, never thought this would be a path I would follow but Amity helped me dream a dream bigger than when I started! She provided me some more clarity by being insightful, clear, interesting, resourceful and direct . We knew writing entailed grunt hard work, details and focus but she made it seem very achievable. In fact I bought 2 of her books after this. Great job !

by David R

2021年5月19日

Amity Gage did a great job helping learners to see what good setting and description looked like. Her in-class examples and assignments were excellent. I was frustrated, though, by many peer reviewers who didn't take their role seriously and provided meaningless feedback - single words, like "yes" or even single letters. Is there some way to hold students accountable?

by Srishti R

2019年5月22日

This is an amazing course. I have done previous two courses as well and I find this one to be the best because the assignments are challenging and you can experiment with your writing. I have enjoyed it thoroughly and now I am going on to do the next course. Simply wonderful! And a must for anyone who wants to challenge and improve their descriptive writing.

by Dinuk S

2021年4月7日

I'm from Sri Lanka.This course is my first creative writing course in English. It helped me to think more creatively about my writing. I'm not fluent in English. But my peers helped me to build up my writing style and they gave good advises. Thank you very much Wesleyan University and the lecturer. Hope you will introduce more courses like this in future.

by Renee C W

2018年9月27日

For me, this might have been the most challenging course of the Creative Writing Specialization in that it targeted one of my weaknesses as a writer, but the assignments tested me and helped me to hone the craft of description (and setting). The lectures were a treat to listen to and learn from – Amity is a very engaging and knowledgeable teacher.

by Mikey T

2021年2月18日

I've taken numerous Creative Writing courses over the years- in Community College, in a university. I can honestly say that Wesleyan University's Creative Writing Specialization benefitted me more than any other. Amity Gaige is a rock-solid novelist and a great teacher of all the most important parts of Setting. This course is highly recommended.

by Aisha K

2017年7月13日

Each of the Creative Writing courses in this series has been meaningful and helpful to me as a novice writer. The material, instructors, guest speakers, practice assignments, and forums made learning enjoyable and effective. Most of all, the university and the seasoned professors/writers are inspiring individuals for whom I am eternally grateful!

by hector c

2019年1月8日

Amity is an excellent guide. The exercises are fun and match the lessons you are taking. I really enjoyed the course and feel it improved my attention to detail in my writing. I also liked the part about research which before I didn't do much of. Now I am very aware of learning about my settings and subjects before writing about them. Thanks!

by Jasmine K

2017年6月7日

Amity is able to convey the abstract concepts that piece together an engaging and fluid composition using examples and exercises that are incredibly helpful to an aspiring writer. The insight she offers is invaluable and I feel privileged to have been able to access her teachings. I am looking forward to reading the books she has written.

by James D R

2018年4月13日

This has been my favorite course of the three I've taken thus far.

I really enjoyed the reading material that acted as a demonstration of what we were being expected to write about.

The necessity to persuade the reader. I had never looked at it in this way, but from now on I will think of whether my settings are persuading the reader.

by Collins, J B

2020年8月7日

I deeply enjoyed this course and I believe that it offers some very helpful feedback into learning about setting and the proper elements/importance of setting. It is a feature that I've often overlooked in creative writing, but it definitely can be an element all on its own and this module shows you how to express it to the fullest.

by SHI

2019年3月26日

slow motion, significant detail, about genre or style, the perspective of the auto-biography for the contenu;

the discussion about the cours among the students;

the interview of the others writers was woundeful;

also the moment for us the student to think, to meditate, to read, and then to write, all this like the real class.

by Jane D

2019年8月18日

I really enjoyed this course! The lecturer gives a great amount of information and advice that feel monitored in the videos in a way, so far this is my favourite course of the specialozation. I really liked being given many reading sources, they served a good example and clarification for what the assignments required.

by Edwin D S d L

2020年11月19日

This course is very entertaining. All the concepts are explained clearly and beautifuly with relevant examples and a nice pace. The exercises are fun to write and really make you put your newly learned concepts to practice. It provides an aspiring writer with valuable tools to create compelling, persuasive stories.

by Freya D L

2017年8月30日

I learned so much! Amity is an excellent teacher, the exercises were spot on, just what they needed to be to evolve as a writer. I learned a lot from reviewing my peer's work as well, and some of their feedback was very helpful. Excellent, excellent course, all four of them are just so good. Thank you!

by Abhishek T

2018年7月31日

First, Amity is a great teacher.

Second, all courses of creative writing gave me much more than the lessons, they gave me wider horizons and confidence.

This one was so valuable, it made me learn various styles of telling stories, second person and lastly some secrets of how to create my story world.

by Victoria

2017年12月20日

Another excellent course in this program of study for the craft of creative writing, with practical exercises and useful constraints that really helped me to progress my understanding of creative writing and improve my storytelling skills. Suddenly, it's no longer agonising, but easy. Thank you!

by Lauren L

2017年4月15日

This, for me, has been, by far the best part of the Creative writing course. Amity is an amazing instructor and gives great incite and lessons on Setting and description. She takes it one step further with readings and visualizations. I have learned so much that I can put to use! Highly reccomen

by Colin F

2020年9月14日

Pretty good. Not my favorite Creative Writing subcourse, but certainly an important one. Is more directed to realistic fiction than sci-fi or fantasy writers but even if you are 100% certain you don't want to write realistic fiction, I would still highly recommend this and say go for it.

by Alexander F

2018年2月19日

This is in my opinion the best one of the specialization so far. It has great references and additional content, readings, videos, etc. related to what's being studied. Gaige's comments are always thoughtful and inspiring. The other courses are all good too, but this one was exceptional.

by Shehla A

2022年5月14日

This is an excellent platform for people who want to write but feel they lack the confdence that proper writing training imparts. It is an in depth teaching which opens up your mind about how to write in a way that the reader gets glued to your work and wants to know more and more.

by Victorya J

2016年8月21日

Thank you so much Amity for all the knowledge that you have given me. Your approach to teaching is wonderful and I was intrigued by your views on writing. I thoroughly enjoyed learning from you. You are amazing and I feel blessed to have been you as an instructor. Again, thank you!