Chevron Left
Creative Writing: The Craft of Style に戻る

ウェズリアン大学(Wesleyan University) による Creative Writing: The Craft of Style の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
652件の評価
177件のレビュー

コースについて

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

人気のレビュー

MS

Apr 19, 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LR

Dec 18, 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

フィルター:

Creative Writing: The Craft of Style: 1 - 25 / 171 レビュー

by John L

Mar 25, 2019

I recently completed the 5-course specialization in creative writing. For the most part the course material presented was good, especially the courses on plot, on setting, and on style. The course on characterization was a little vague. From the syllabus, it looked like it would be a good course, but the instructor did not follow the syllabus and was often very unfocussed in her presentation.

The weakness with this specialization is that all the feedback to the writer is provided by peers in the course. This I found very disappointing. Many of the other students were honestly very poor writers, and as a result, the feedback I received on my assignments was very superficial. In addition, rather than being able to learn from reading the writing of others, I found for the most part that the pieces submitted by others were very lacking.

If you take this course, know that it will provide you some good information about writing fiction, but the feedback you receive on your assignments will not help you learn. You will need to find another peer group of writers to help you with that.

by Cornelia B

Jan 23, 2019

Don't start writing without doing all four certificates. It sets you on a right path and this last one wraps it al up! As you go along the four certificates you understand how to set your writing on a whole new level, isn't that where we all want to be. Scibona's team has a 'show don't tell' approach that even reflects in their teaching.

by David J M

Apr 19, 2019

Excellent teacher, excellent course. Exercises and reviews are very helpful.

by Michele S

Apr 19, 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

by Nada D

Aug 08, 2016

Very limited teaching and contradictory assignments. For those with English as a second language be aware this course uses grammatical terminology but in a stylistic way and can cause a lot of confusion. Assignments are weak but as a whole for the four courses making up the Capstone just grit your teeth and get through it, the least enjoyable and instructive of all four.

by Thomas B

May 08, 2019

The mandatory reviewing the work of your peers becomes a problem when there is no work submitted for review. I have completed all the assignments of week 1,2,3, and 4 and am waiting on other students to submit their work. It's been five days where I have received the "no work to review" notice. This is really taking the enjoyment out of this program. I'd like to complete the course sooner than later to begin my capstone short story.

by Milagros V

Nov 26, 2018

I was fascinated with this course. I think it raises the bar on how to become a better writer fro the reader's sake. Writing is more like painting and less than retelling. It's important to respect the reader's intelligence, she/ he can figure out the obvious, and as writers we want to entertain, engage the reader's curiosity, provide pleasure in the human senses. I also found it one of the most challenging of the courses because of the emphasis and care we should take in word choice. Words are the substance of all good writing, they should not be squandered!

by Victoria F S

Dec 14, 2018

This is the course I had been looking for, but didn't know it! I enjoyed the professor and the exercises, which were about putting pen to paper, so to speak. Just what I needed and wanted. I feel very much myself as a writer after doing these assignments, reviewing the work of other writers, and receiving insightful peer reviews. Thank you for offering this course and specialization!

by Alfred K

Nov 27, 2018

I did not know what this meant when I started. I thought you just right once you get the flow. now I can write and review my work checking my style of writing and learnt a lot form the interviews from visiting professors.

teacher is cool and sometime I loved your way of teaching.

by Leo J R

Dec 18, 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

by Inés K

Dec 20, 2018

I've only done week 1 so far, but I just love the way Salvatore Scibona talks about writing, his enthusiasm. I'm looking forward to the next weeks!

by Patricia G

Dec 05, 2018

Excellent course I appreciate the conversations with visiting writers. Prof. Scibona is an engaging teacher and clearly presents useful information. The list of words to avoid was worth the entire course.

by Raul N C G

Jan 14, 2019

Content and instructor praiseworthy! Good structure and very interesting exercise. The course was a joy to take. Cheers, Raul

by MAGZ M

Feb 28, 2019

I loved this course. I even read the books that were referenced. I'm learning slowly but surely.Wish I'd discovered Coursera years ago.

by Judy W W J

Mar 26, 2019

Great course.

by Renan A S L C

Jan 31, 2019

Fantastic course!! I loved the challenging assignments :)

by Mabita R

Feb 12, 2019

very good and participatory

by Nevil

Jan 18, 2019

Fantastic! I like the streamline part and usage of punching word ( nouns and verbs). Prof. Scibona Thank you for pointing out the do's / don'ts and other valuable tips

by Joe M

Mar 14, 2019

Course 4 of 5 for me in this specialization.

All of these have been fantastic and this one was another example of how great and informative these courses are. Once again I was made to think very critically of my own writing and start thinking about how I want to write.

by Carol S

Jan 07, 2019

This course demonstrated more clearly than I had ever seen before the difference between "show" and "tell" when evoking a character's thoughts and feelings. It was highly valuable for me both as a writer and a professional editor.

by Laura-Alexandra C

Dec 09, 2018

Loved every bit of it! Gets the creative juices flowing!

by Hector M C L

Feb 14, 2019

I really enjoyed the course, I thought the assignments were challenging and the lectures were really inspiring and clear.

by Shalini N

Jul 15, 2018

I have truly learn a lot from this course. Each week had something new to learn and apply.

by Alejandro M G M

Jul 17, 2018

Beautiful course, I've been writing for years, and this experience has been of great help and polishing. You are creating great writers. Thank you for the opportunity and all the knowledge.

by Pooja S

Sep 08, 2018

Salvatore Scibona is excellent and his teaching style is very engaging. I have enjoyed the craft of style and gained a lot of useable information out of it.