Chevron Left
A Crash Course in Causality: Inferring Causal Effects from Observational Data に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による A Crash Course in Causality: Inferring Causal Effects from Observational Data の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
449件の評価
146件のレビュー

コースについて

We have all heard the phrase “correlation does not equal causation.” What, then, does equal causation? This course aims to answer that question and more! Over a period of 5 weeks, you will learn how causal effects are defined, what assumptions about your data and models are necessary, and how to implement and interpret some popular statistical methods. Learners will have the opportunity to apply these methods to example data in R (free statistical software environment). At the end of the course, learners should be able to: 1. Define causal effects using potential outcomes 2. Describe the difference between association and causation 3. Express assumptions with causal graphs 4. Implement several types of causal inference methods (e.g. matching, instrumental variables, inverse probability of treatment weighting) 5. Identify which causal assumptions are necessary for each type of statistical method So join us.... and discover for yourself why modern statistical methods for estimating causal effects are indispensable in so many fields of study!...

人気のレビュー

WJ

2021年9月11日

Great introduction on the causal analysis.The instructor did a great job on explaining the topic in a logical and rigorous way. R codes are very relevant and helpful to digest the material as well.

MF

2017年12月27日

I really enjoyed this course, the pace could be more even in parts. Sometimes the pace could be more even and some more books/reference material for further study would be nice.

フィルター:

A Crash Course in Causality: Inferring Causal Effects from Observational Data: 26 - 50 / 148 レビュー

by Carla F G

2021年10月10日

I expected more from this course. It gets too deep into the more advanced topics without using specific examples to showcase the main ideas. The instructor could also be more engaging, I had to watch the videos at x1.25 to be able to keep my attention on them

by Haim T

2021年4月1日

I am sure the instructor is very knowledgeable and excellent in front of a class. His style does not work online.

by Florian C

2021年9月30日

C​oming from an economics background, I really enjoyed seeing how causal inference is being approached in a different field. While the methods used are generally the same, the motivation of these methods or the focus on certain tools and aspects sometimes appears to differ. That really gave me a new perspective on some of the methods in my causal inference toolkit. Good course!

by seyed r m

2022年5月21日

This course helped me secure a beachhead in the realm of Causal Inference. My background is in computer science and machine learning. I was struggling with all the terms used in Causal Inference. It is a fascinating topic and this course provides well connected, solid explanations of terms, theory and its application using R. Thank you.

by Amine M

2021年7月27日

This course is excellent. The quiz helps to make sure you get the key assumptions and method ideas right, while the programming exercises ensure that you know how each method works and how they can be implemented either manually or by using some of the available statistical R packages for causal effect estimation.

by Anthony M

2021年8月26日

This course does a fantastic job of balancing the theoretical and practical aspects of causal inference. Additionally, it takes the student through three very different techniques of causal inference that apply to common real-world situations in a relatively short course.

by Adeyemo o m

2022年4月16日

This is an excellent course. I audited the because I wanted to learn more about marching and prospensity score and it was awesome. The explanation is quite easy to understand. I would recommend the course to anyone who wants to learn casual inference.

Enjoy

by Piyush J

2020年4月14日

This course is a short one, but power-packed. It gives a different dimension of understanding the data, it's linkages and further extrapolations. Each word of Jason has to be heard properly as he continues to explain facts in a very lucid manner.

by Frank O

2021年11月21日

This is a very good course to take if you want to get important causal inference methods concepts. Even though it has some math concepts, the Professor does a good job of introducing them really well for a beginner. I would strongly recommend!

by Vikram M

2019年5月30日

Good introductory course. I wish there were more quizzes (at least another 2 more), testing our knowledge of various formulae for computing IPTW (inverse probability of treatment weights), ITT (intent to treat) and at least one more lab in R

by Vlad V

2018年4月20日

One of the best courses in Coursera, Professor with lots of experience in a backpack show how to tackle very complex problem of causal inference. This is a topic every data analyst should know doesn't matter which industry you work or learn.

by Hugo E R R

2021年1月20日

It is a very useful course that combines conceptual and technical aspects of Applied Causal Inference.

The presentations are very clear, the Examples and Exercises (R-coded) have been very useful for me to practice specific R-packages.

by Pritish K

2020年5月16日

Great course, especially if you are reasonably familiar with R and basic stats and interested in approaching causal analysis. Word of caution: If you have never used R, you will have trouble getting through some of the assignment.s

by Arnab S

2017年11月24日

I was a novice in causal analysis. But I needed some education in counterfactual estimation. This course provided me with the necessary knowledge and tools. I especially enjoyed the matching, IPTW and IV chapters. Thank you!

by Alice G

2021年2月21日

Really wonderful course--I learned so much in the way of theory and practical application in R. Some links need to be updated and it would be best to provide students with answers to worked examples for the quiz questions.

by Weifeng J

2021年9月12日

Great introduction on the causal analysis.The instructor did a great job on explaining the topic in a logical and rigorous way. R codes are very relevant and helpful to digest the material as well.

by lorenzo c

2021年4月9日

The course is very simply explained, definitely a great introduction to the subject. There are some missing links, but minor compared to overall usefulness of the course.

by Anastasia G

2021年2月21日

A great start for those starting to explore causal inference. The somewhat dry delivery of the lectures is fully compensated by how clear and informative they are.

by Keshab S

2021年4月4日

My work involves working with observational data. This course taught me to think in more formal and organized way on topics and questions of causal inference.

by ALEXANDER G

2022年2月18日

Great introduction to the field covering model synthesis of causality ideals. Glitches in assignments - make sure to check the discussion for workarounds.

by Giulio B

2021年3月12日

Excellent video lectures. Challenging end of module quizzes. I found more challenging doing the practical exercises because I had no experience with R.

by Георгий А

2021年12月15日

A very thorough and pleasant intro into the topic. Thanks from Russia! To the lecturer - be more confident in yourself! You are great at your stuff :)

by Oksana B

2021年11月28日

G​reat course! I am glad i came accross it. Helped me a great deal with my project at work. I wish there were more courses by this professor.

by Andrew

2018年5月15日

This course is really fantastic for all levels. Very thorough explanations and helpful illustrations. Many thanks for putting this together!

by Сергей М

2021年5月24日

Очень лаконичный и полезный курс. Очень помог разобраться в теме Causal Inference. Отлично подходит для начала вхождения в данную тему.