Chevron Left
Critical Perspectives on Management に戻る

IEビジネススクール(IE Business School) による Critical Perspectives on Management の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
238件の評価
66件のレビュー

コースについて

This course is designed for students of all backgrounds who have an interest in how firms are governed, the forces that have helped define modern management practice, and the outcomes of that practice not only for the firm itself, but also for the societies in which they operate. For students who are thinking of a career in management, it may also prove useful as a basic introduction to some of the conceptual vocabulary and ideas behind modern theories of management. Using a wide disciplinary approach - from economics and history to social theory and even a smattering of biblical criticism - the course will invite students to consider several core management strategies and priorities from often unexpected perspectives in order to judge their success or failure. The key objective of the course is to bring into critical focus how we think about the function and culture of management, how managers understand their role within a firm, how they take decisions, set priorities and benchmark success and failure. Topics include: the function of the firm; the role of incentive; the ways in which narrative forces shape decision making, and how market relationships define the managerial culture in ways that can lead to sub-optimal outcomes....
フィルター:

Critical Perspectives on Management: 1 - 25 / 66 レビュー

by Joao P M S

Dec 02, 2018

5 star tutor. Short and to the point on critically question managerial decisions / your own decisions.

by Yasin E

Mar 11, 2019

This course is one best in the world teaching.

by ctvv3010

Mar 13, 2019

An incredible class. I learned so much from this, and the lessons are not just applicable in business but in life too. And of course, the instructor is an remarkable speaker and scholar as far as I know of.

by UDEJI S

Sep 10, 2018

Its simply the best course i have attended online. I really learnt alot.

by Vladimir T

Aug 12, 2018

Very unusual course. Well worth taking.

by Mike Y W

Nov 04, 2018

I really enjoyed this class! Despite the class being a few years old now (is this originally a class from 2013?), the topics discussed are still relevant today. The quizzes are challenging in that some change the questions when you take it a second time, some do not provide answers, and some you can only take once a day, forcing you to really know the topics students are being quizzed on. I really liked the in-class format of the video lectures as I could see the students and professor interact. I think if the lectures included more in-video quizzes and polls that would increase the students' understanding of the topics while allowing them to see what other people think as the lecture progresses. The required readings were quite detailed, and the videos actually went over them during the lecture. I'd definitely be interested in taking a Part II of this course!

by Vladimir

Feb 16, 2017

A brilliant course! I could not expect it would be so interesting. Not only the content, but the way it is presented by professor Rolf Strom-Olsen was thrilling, funny, sometimes unexpected. It is really impressive how he made huge complicated ideas comprehensible for students, so that we could freely examine and play it during the class. Highly recommend.

by Johannes B W

Jul 17, 2017

It was challenging but I succeed.

by Maria

Jan 23, 2017

Excellent professor. Great build-up and perspectives for very relevant topics. Interesting personal insights. Loved it!

by Antonio D

Aug 16, 2016

One of the best courses I have ever taken. Amazing.

by Harry S

May 20, 2017

This course is great. Well worth the time... it challenges a lot of the common assumptions that you will hear in other management courses.

by Javier R I

Feb 26, 2016

Una perspectiva de Management y negocios distinta por parte del Profesor Strom-Olsen, un hombre , a la vista está, muy competente y cuya formación principal en historia aporta matices muy diferenciadores y enriquecedores. El enfoque del curso te hace sentir en mitad de las clases, lo que favorece mucho al alumno a la hora de integrarse como si efectivamente, también estuviera allí mismo. Una gran experiencia, curso muy recomendado para todos.

by Kelly M

Apr 14, 2017

Excellent examination of management assumptions! Engaging lectures and materials.

by Antonino B

Dec 05, 2016

excellent

by ADEMINI

Jun 12, 2017

I have not had anything better than this, it sharpens and shaped my horizon far better now

Prof Roth is a master in his own Class. He is respected

by Jess H

Oct 13, 2016

A good counter to the usual management training - real food for thought.

by Colin F

Aug 24, 2016

Best course I have done so far. I find the course interesting, stimulating and most importantly enjoyable and informative. Thank you Professor and IE business school :)

by fabio

Jul 05, 2017

Follow this course so you'll never stop asking questions.

by Liliana D

Aug 10, 2016

A fresh and intelligent course that really fosters critical reasoning about management principles and practices.

by Sorin G

Oct 24, 2016

Professor was excellent and the subject, well chosen, extremely interesting.

by Pujashree A

Mar 02, 2016

Rolf Strom-Olsen is one of the best instructors available in Coursera. He is a very unique way of presenting Management Ideas and Concepts using history as his channel, something I haven't certainly come across yet. Anybody who wants to pursue a career in management should definitely take this course before going through any books or even courses.

by L M

Feb 13, 2016

Top class. Very useful indeed for my job as a mining manager, especially on FDRS which I've found never works well as people become yes-men to the boss. And having a bit of a passion for late antiquity history, I was fascinated by the Roman grain trade and its lesson for us today. But wasn't something a bit similar set up between Constantinople and Egypt which ran successfully until the Persian invasions in the 7th century?

by Jose G

Jan 19, 2018

This is such a great course, with lots of food for though and a completely necessary different point of view for what is hugely accepted without questioning that it should be mandatory on every management training.

by Yevgen G

Mar 09, 2016

Great course with a lot of interesting information and unexpected insights from different points of view and sources.

by Trevor W

Jun 21, 2016

Fantastic course with a great professor. I loved the way Prof Rolf weaved the different practical perspectives into the story line while relating to the relevant aspects of management theory. The choice of topics, the different stories used to illustrate the concepts and the story line all make a fascinating course well worth my time.

If you want to experience a different perspective of some of the traditional management theories, have a go at this and you really won't be dissapointed.