Chevron Left
Critical Perspectives on Management に戻る

IEビジネススクール(IE Business School) による Critical Perspectives on Management の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
238件の評価
66件のレビュー

コースについて

This course is designed for students of all backgrounds who have an interest in how firms are governed, the forces that have helped define modern management practice, and the outcomes of that practice not only for the firm itself, but also for the societies in which they operate. For students who are thinking of a career in management, it may also prove useful as a basic introduction to some of the conceptual vocabulary and ideas behind modern theories of management. Using a wide disciplinary approach - from economics and history to social theory and even a smattering of biblical criticism - the course will invite students to consider several core management strategies and priorities from often unexpected perspectives in order to judge their success or failure. The key objective of the course is to bring into critical focus how we think about the function and culture of management, how managers understand their role within a firm, how they take decisions, set priorities and benchmark success and failure. Topics include: the function of the firm; the role of incentive; the ways in which narrative forces shape decision making, and how market relationships define the managerial culture in ways that can lead to sub-optimal outcomes....
フィルター:

Critical Perspectives on Management: 51 - 66 / 66 レビュー

by Jess H

Oct 13, 2016

A good counter to the usual management training - real food for thought.

by Colin F

Aug 24, 2016

Best course I have done so far. I find the course interesting, stimulating and most importantly enjoyable and informative. Thank you Professor and IE business school :)

by Liliana D

Aug 10, 2016

A fresh and intelligent course that really fosters critical reasoning about management principles and practices.

by Pujashree A

Mar 02, 2016

Rolf Strom-Olsen is one of the best instructors available in Coursera. He is a very unique way of presenting Management Ideas and Concepts using history as his channel, something I haven't certainly come across yet. Anybody who wants to pursue a career in management should definitely take this course before going through any books or even courses.

by Hugo M d F

Jan 28, 2018

Truly critical, this course gave me an in depth/insight anyone related to a firm or its management should enjoy. The examples given, the teaching method and the quality of the quizzes bring it to another level.

by Mike Y W

Nov 04, 2018

I really enjoyed this class! Despite the class being a few years old now (is this originally a class from 2013?), the topics discussed are still relevant today. The quizzes are challenging in that some change the questions when you take it a second time, some do not provide answers, and some you can only take once a day, forcing you to really know the topics students are being quizzed on. I really liked the in-class format of the video lectures as I could see the students and professor interact. I think if the lectures included more in-video quizzes and polls that would increase the students' understanding of the topics while allowing them to see what other people think as the lecture progresses. The required readings were quite detailed, and the videos actually went over them during the lecture. I'd definitely be interested in taking a Part II of this course!

by Hasan R C

Jun 27, 2019

Wonderful course

by laila k k

Jul 07, 2019

Course brilliant but the professor not quite upto mark as one sees at Coursera...

by José M

Feb 20, 2019

I enjoyed just auditing it. Good facts and things to think about

by Isabella D A

Jun 04, 2017

Great course that gives you a fresh perspective of management principles

by Katherine M L

Nov 28, 2016

The class was wonderfully informative, but would have been better if it offered graded tests without the paid version. Since the answers are multiple choice I thought it was strange that it did not.

by Sotimehin S

Jun 23, 2017

The ideas exchanged in this course are very relatable and applicable to virtually any industry.

by Olajumoke G A

Feb 23, 2016

Lecturer is interesting, and manages to carry students along

by Mark K

Feb 21, 2016

Excellent subject matter, teacher very fun to listen to and very knowledgeable. Would like the class to be more in-depth.

by Ry G M

Feb 10, 2016

This course is okay, kind of a bit slow-paced.

by Ricardo J O

Jan 28, 2016

The videos were ok, reading materials added some value, although about three years have passed since the launch of the original course and the materials are all the same. I expected that something new would be introduced to give it a bit more value. But what is very questionable is the architecture of the quizzes. On one hand it goes way beyond the simplicity of the lenght of the course, assume a mindset that extends well beyond this course, and on the other hand after doing the quizzes some times and observing the considered right and wrong answers, some of them - to say the least, are highly ambiguous and express a personal point of view of the instructor in what is right or wrong (what by itself is not very reasonable), and lack ultimately in objectivity regarding the materials covered. I am not by any means saying that the quizzes are hard or simple, I am saying that they lack objectivity and go beyond the scope of the materials and try to put the student on a state of trying to guess what the instructor's opinion is regarding the question at hand. In some cases the 'best' answer chosen is absurd. Highly questionable this approach. Again, I believe that evaluations should be challeging, but these quizzes are a bit esoteric, they lack objectivity.

Nonetheless, it is important to say thank you for being present in this platform and having the will to put it together. I wish you luck for the future.