Chevron Left
Critical Perspectives on Management に戻る

IEビジネススクール(IE Business School) による Critical Perspectives on Management の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
248件の評価
71件のレビュー

コースについて

This course is designed for students of all backgrounds who have an interest in how firms are governed, the forces that have helped define modern management practice, and the outcomes of that practice not only for the firm itself, but also for the societies in which they operate. For students who are thinking of a career in management, it may also prove useful as a basic introduction to some of the conceptual vocabulary and ideas behind modern theories of management. Using a wide disciplinary approach - from economics and history to social theory and even a smattering of biblical criticism - the course will invite students to consider several core management strategies and priorities from often unexpected perspectives in order to judge their success or failure. The key objective of the course is to bring into critical focus how we think about the function and culture of management, how managers understand their role within a firm, how they take decisions, set priorities and benchmark success and failure. Topics include: the function of the firm; the role of incentive; the ways in which narrative forces shape decision making, and how market relationships define the managerial culture in ways that can lead to sub-optimal outcomes....
フィルター:

Critical Perspectives on Management: 51 - 71 / 71 レビュー

by Bilal K

Jun 26, 2016

One of the taught courses in the MBA program of the IE Business School.

by Mario S

Dec 07, 2019

extremely insightful and enjoyable

by Dmitry K

Oct 24, 2019

The most thought-provoking course I took on Coursera

by Edward Y

Mar 30, 2016

The lecturer is both well spoken and knowledgeable, the material is both interesting and very much applicable sound logic!

by Vladimir

Feb 16, 2017

A brilliant course! I could not expect it would be so interesting. Not only the content, but the way it is presented by professor Rolf Strom-Olsen was thrilling, funny, sometimes unexpected. It is really impressive how he made huge complicated ideas comprehensible for students, so that we could freely examine and play it during the class. Highly recommend.

by Yasin E

Mar 11, 2019

This course is one best in the world teaching.

by 易迹

Mar 02, 2016

In modern people's wisdom, wisdom of the ancients, a critical perspective in the discard the dross and select the essential understanding of the history, divergent thinking, to seize the core,excellent!

by Sorin G

Oct 24, 2016

Professor was excellent and the subject, well chosen, extremely interesting.

by Ulisses T

Jun 05, 2016

Great course, extremely pragmatic and the teacher is engaging and brings interesting views on both past and present firms. I learned much from these short 6 weeks and greatly appreciated the extra reading assignments that were optional.

by Manuel R

Sep 07, 2017

Extraordinary course!

by Neil H

May 27, 2016

Great mix of history and management, with bits of economics thrown in. Emphasis on the 'critical' thinking side, as per the title.

by Harry S

May 20, 2017

This course is great. Well worth the time... it challenges a lot of the common assumptions that you will hear in other management courses.

by José M

Feb 20, 2019

I enjoyed just auditing it. Good facts and things to think about

by Isabella D A

Jun 04, 2017

Great course that gives you a fresh perspective of management principles

by Katherine M L

Nov 28, 2016

The class was wonderfully informative, but would have been better if it offered graded tests without the paid version. Since the answers are multiple choice I thought it was strange that it did not.

by Sotimehin S

Jun 23, 2017

The ideas exchanged in this course are very relatable and applicable to virtually any industry.

by Olajumoke G A

Feb 23, 2016

Lecturer is interesting, and manages to carry students along

by Mark K

Feb 21, 2016

Excellent subject matter, teacher very fun to listen to and very knowledgeable. Would like the class to be more in-depth.

by Ry G M

Feb 10, 2016

This course is okay, kind of a bit slow-paced.

by Ricardo J O

Jan 28, 2016

The videos were ok, reading materials added some value, although about three years have passed since the launch of the original course and the materials are all the same. I expected that something new would be introduced to give it a bit more value. But what is very questionable is the architecture of the quizzes. On one hand it goes way beyond the simplicity of the lenght of the course, assume a mindset that extends well beyond this course, and on the other hand after doing the quizzes some times and observing the considered right and wrong answers, some of them - to say the least, are highly ambiguous and express a personal point of view of the instructor in what is right or wrong (what by itself is not very reasonable), and lack ultimately in objectivity regarding the materials covered. I am not by any means saying that the quizzes are hard or simple, I am saying that they lack objectivity and go beyond the scope of the materials and try to put the student on a state of trying to guess what the instructor's opinion is regarding the question at hand. In some cases the 'best' answer chosen is absurd. Highly questionable this approach. Again, I believe that evaluations should be challeging, but these quizzes are a bit esoteric, they lack objectivity.

Nonetheless, it is important to say thank you for being present in this platform and having the will to put it together. I wish you luck for the future.

by Shane I E

Nov 17, 2019

Would highly recommend NOT wasting your time on this course. Would give it zero but Coursera forces 1 star.