Chevron Left
Getting started in cryo-EM に戻る

カリフォルニア工科大学(Caltech) による Getting started in cryo-EM の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
259件の評価
48件のレビュー

コースについて

This class covers the fundamental principles underlying cryo-electron microscopy (cryo-EM) starting with the basic anatomy of electron microscopes, an introduction to Fourier transforms, and the principles of image formation. Building upon that foundation, the class then covers the sample preparation issues, data collection strategies, and basic image processing workflows for all 3 basic modalities of modern cryo-EM: tomography, single particle analysis, and 2-D crystallography. Philosophy: The course emphasizes concepts rather than mathematical details, taught through numerous drawings and example images. It is meant for anyone interested in the burgeoning fields of cryo-EM and 3-D EM, including cell biologists or molecular biologists without extensive training in mathematics or imaging physics and practicing electron microscopists who want to broaden their understanding of the field. The class is perfect as a primer for anyone who is about to be trained as a cryo-electron microscopist, or for anyone who needs an introduction to the field to be able to understand the literature or the talks and conversations they will hear at cryo-EM meetings. Pre-requisites: The recommended prerequisites are college-freshman-level math, physics, and biochemistry. Pace: There are 14.5 hours of lecture videos total separated into 40 individual “modules” lasting on average 20 minutes each. Each module has at the end a list of “concept check” questions you can use to test your knowledge of what was presented. As the modules are grouped into seven major subjects, one reasonable plan would be to go through one major subject each day. That would mean watching a couple hours of lecture and spending another hour or so thinking through the concept check questions each day for a week. Another reasonable plan would be to go through one module each day for a little over a month, or even three modules a week (Monday, Wednesday, and Friday) for a 3-month term. It is likely that as you then move on to actually begin using a cryo-EM or otherwise engage in the field, you will want to repeat certain modules....

人気のレビュー

LR
2018年2月18日

Great course. I thought it was presented in a very informative way and i learned a lot about cryo-EM. In fact, it made me want to learn more about it. Thank you.

AM
2016年7月19日

An excellent introduction to the topic, explaining from the basics to the detail of things. Useful and recommended to anyone in structural biology.

フィルター:

Getting started in cryo-EM: 1 - 25 / 49 レビュー

by Andrew L P

2015年8月19日

Just needs a certificate and some practice concept questsions added and would be perfect. Right now just really interesting videos for the intermediate mind...not much math...mostly concepts so good for the beginner who wants to know more. :)

by pavan k

2015年8月14日

I highly recommend this course to my Post Graduating Friends and Research Scholars. This course helped me so much in understanding EM operation which is not available any where else. It is helping me in current Thesis work. Professor of this Course is explaining in a lucid manner. Thank you very much Professor Grant Jensen. Thank you Coursera.

by Aleix L M

2016年7月20日

An excellent introduction to the topic, explaining from the basics to the detail of things. Useful and recommended to anyone in structural biology.

by Diego F P

2019年12月15日

Amazing course. The explanations are detailed, but very accessible. The course is very good at giving an intuition for the subject

by Nitisha M

2020年6月15日

It is great a course for all the information one need to have on Electron Microscopy from the basic knowledge to Cryo-Electron.

by Nikos N

2017年10月30日

CryoEM made crystal clear! ;P

by Gary U

2016年6月19日

An excellent course to get to understand the field of cryogenic Electron Microscopy. The mathematics are presented at a high level, often geometrically, without getting into details. The physics of the electron microscope is presented again at a high level but with enough detail to understand the operation. The teaching style is well paced and inviting.

by Chen S

2015年8月16日

It is amazing. I found it extremely helpful since I have just have an internship in a Cryo-EM lab. I found it difficult to understand these procedures without the knowledge of theory.So your course is just like a gift that exactly meets my need. I have told every friend of mine to see it. Thank you a lot for offering this magic course.

by William N

2018年8月31日

Loved it. Although it's not heavy on math it helps to have a basic understanding of waves, how they propagate, how they are mathematically represented by sin/cos functions and how interference between two waves works.

by Philip B P J

2015年8月27日

This course was outstanding. Every aspect of cyro-EM was covered in detail. The professor's delivery was excellent.

I would recommend this course to anyone who has a desire to expand their knowledge of the nano world

by Robert F

2017年4月4日

Great course with clear explanations and very entertaining topics! Didn't expect to cover so many aspects of cryo-EM, would recommend it to everyone interested/working in structural biology or science in general.

by Shijian Z

2015年11月1日

its really very helpful for me as a beginner. After learning the video, I kind of know what's going on when I got the training of TEM. Thanks a lot for the free video.

by Lance R

2018年2月19日

Great course. I thought it was presented in a very informative way and i learned a lot about cryo-EM. In fact, it made me want to learn more about it. Thank you.

by Gerardo M H

2018年3月27日

There is a few free courses, this one of the best that I've taken. It would be better if one finishes the course, one could receive any certification

by Serhiy S

2017年1月26日

I have worked a bit in cryo-em before and I find this course absolutely amazing! Very detailed and easy to understand.

by Bryant A

2016年5月16日

Very well detailed on a easy to learn pase. Will help you learn all to EM that is necessary before using them.

by Naďa L

2019年3月22日

Great course. Pity is that you don't give the certificate. Anyway, I'd like to thank to prof. Jensen for it.

by Saswat K M

2021年7月17日

Very informative. Got to learn a lot. Would be better, if provided as a certification course!

by Yulia R

2015年8月28日

Very clear, very easy to understand, a lot of useful information. Excellent course.

by Jean N

2016年12月14日

Thank you for this valuable course, specially for the Fourrier image explanation.

by Pablo C

2016年3月7日

Great explanations and examples, even for complex things like the fourier space.

by Evgeny B

2021年9月7日

I have enjoyed this course, helped me better undrerstand Cryo-EM field.

Thanks

by Jonathan F

2017年5月18日

Great course, very informal - really improved my knowledge in the field of EM

by Syed M O A

2015年11月26日

best course for lab workers ,physics is deal in a great detail

by meera k m

2016年2月22日

very informative, simple and easily understandable. Love it