Chevron Left
Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines に戻る

プリンストン大学(Princeton University) による Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
323件の評価
75件のレビュー

コースについて

This course introduces the broader discipline of computer science to people having basic familiarity with Java programming. It covers the second half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the first half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose, to be released in the fall of 2018). Our intent is to demystify computation and to build awareness about the substantial intellectual underpinnings and rich history of the field of computer science. First, we introduce classic algorithms along with scientific techniques for evaluating performance, in the context of modern applications. Next, we introduce classic theoretical models that allow us to address fundamental questions about computation, such as computability, universality, and intractability. We conclude with machine architecture (including machine-language programming and its relationship to coding in Java) and logic design (including a full CPU design built from the ground up). The course emphasizes the relationships between applications programming, the theory of computation, real computers, and the field's history and evolution, including the nature of the contributions of Boole, Shannon, Turing, von Neumann, and others. All the features of this course are available for free. No certificate will be offered upon completion....

人気のレビュー

MA
2019年11月8日

I loved this course. If you want to know in depth how your computer works and what you can compute in general, this course is for you. Thank you very much for this amazing course.

DC
2020年6月10日

I feel the course does a great job in laying out an introduction to "Computer Science", familiarising and motivating the topics, to be covered deeply in the sophomore-junior year.

フィルター:

Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines: 1 - 25 / 74 レビュー

by DENIS K

2018年10月28日

I've taken this course as one of few useful classes available on Coursera via AT&T continued education program. This course certainly allowed me to refresh memory on many philosophical CS topics and even learn something new.

The idea of teaching programming from the lowest-level possible and the introduction of TOY-8 assembly with !!!cpu schematics!!! is a very good idea. Gradual transition from mathematical concepts to physical hardware is what makes this course unique.

This class is not about programming. This class is not about algorithms. It it a good CS 101 introductory course. It is for somebody who already knows math, logic, basic electronics and basic programming to give a taste on what CS is about. Or for somebody like me to refresh memory on rarely used topics.

For introductory course it is too heavy-weight in my opinion. The goal of covering everything from Turing Machine to actual hardware is too ambitious and requires much more than 10 weeks to cover.

by Paolo S

2018年6月19日

Professors Sedgewick and Wayne succeed in explaining a lot of useful concepts in a very limited amount of time. The course requires you to dig deeper in the subject but it lays a very solid base for further knowledge development.

by Clyde R

2018年4月25日

I've enjoyed the Sedgewick/Wayne books and courses for years. I am enjoying the fresh presentation and the modifications done in this course. Other than the Obama clip. We could have done without that.

by Zephyr L

2019年3月23日

The course material is great! On computing theory, it gives a comprehensive list of famous problems.On circuit design, the TOY-8 computer is so elegant that i can print the design out on a page of paper!

by Meysam A

2019年11月8日

I loved this course. If you want to know in depth how your computer works and what you can compute in general, this course is for you. Thank you very much for this amazing course.

by Diego L

2018年12月24日

Loved this course! Such a great introduction to Computer Science. The course is really well broken down and the videos are very well done!

by Muhammad T

2018年10月15日

thats graet acchivement for me

by Diego P

2020年5月21日

Great course!

by Jack

2020年3月17日

GOOD!

by zhangdi

2018年9月16日

算法0

by Mithilesh V

2018年5月25日

This course is the perfect introduction to anybody who is interested in learning how a computer works from scratch. The first few weeks cover some important algorithms and data structures which are at the heart of our computational infrastructure. The latter half covers theoretical concepts like the Turing Machine, Intractability and the design of the CPU. Programming assignments would have made the course more challenging and fun. But in a nutshell, I highly recommend this course to any person looking for an introductory computer science course which covers some important topics in the vast domain of computer science

by Jerrold

2018年12月15日

Good overview of algorithms and data structures. However they use an inhouse API in the provided java code with some unknown methods and the code they provide sometimes doesn't compile.

by Trinh D M

2019年10月15日

This is an amazing course. Best of all it's available for free. The instructor goes from the most basic element and theory to building a whole theoretical computer circuit, an essential part that many computing courses nowadays fail to teach.

The content is quite heavy but very enjoyable and probably best for someone already has with basic understanding of computers, programming and physics. I wouldn't teach this to someone totally new to computing, but maybe that's the way at Princeton.

I just wish the book site were more up-to-date on some part.

by Rajesh Y

2020年5月26日

Very elementary course in computer science. I suggest every one who wants to pursue their career in computer science should take this course. The contents are well defined and explanation is awesome. My sincere thanks to Robert and Kevin for providing such a wonderful course. After taking such a nice course if certificate is not provided then how to showcase ourself which helps in upliftment of our career. So, it's my humble request to provide certificate for this course.

by Xiaoyu Z

2019年11月25日

This is the 3rd course I've taken from Professor Robert.

As always, I learned a lot from it.

The course really ignited my passion for computer and programming.

The depth and width of Professor's knowledge impressed me.

I want to say a big thank-you before Thanksgiving Day.

Happy Thanksgiving Day!

by suguna d c

2020年6月3日

Very Good Course..Much useful to Computer Science learners..More Knowledge to acquire from one course..Many thanks for introducing this Course..Waiting for Operating Systems and Computer Networks and Database Management Systems in 1 Combo..

by LuxiLiu

2020年4月28日

I struggled somewhat with the circuit part, but after some online reading and listening to the lecture several times, it becomes more clear. Appreciate the coverage of history and theory in this course. NP problem is really interesting.

by Ahmed N

2018年12月5日

Excellent clarity and pace with real-life problems and challenges to really understand the concepts and their motivation.

by Ernst G

2018年5月12日

Very pedagogical and enjoyable introduction to CS. Another great Princeton University Coursera course.

by @SiccoOtten

2019年3月21日

Great content, well structured, well presented! Kudo's to Mr. Sedgewick and Mr. Wayne.

by Daniel C

2018年5月7日

This course is a brilliant introduction to the most important Computer Science topics.

by Anjali P

2020年5月5日

Well structured courses. Including all the basics of algorithm and theory of machine.

by Heather L

2018年12月24日

Great beginners course on algorithms, theory and the inner workings of your computer!

by Oscar J M Z

2018年5月4日

Great course about the foundations of computing

by Amit G

2018年4月15日

Best Teaching style.