Chevron Left
Dairy Production and Management に戻る

ペンシルベニア州立大学(The Pennsylvania State University) による Dairy Production and Management の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,152件の評価

コースについて

With the world's first MOOOOO-C, you will gain a broad and comprehensive understanding of all aspects of dairy management such as genetics, nutrition, reproduction, animal health, farm economics, and sustainability of dairy production systems. There's something here for everyone whether you are just looking for the basics or have years of experience in the dairy industry. This is an eight-week course. Each week consists of four to nine video lectures, additional reading materials, and a multiple-choice questions quiz. Estimated study time is between three and five hours per week. Learners have the option to purchase a Course Certificate for 49.00 USD. The certificate can be purchased at any time, but you must verify your identify before taking the course quizzes in order to be eligible. For those who cannot afford the certificate fee, financial aid is available through Coursera. Why is producing milk efficiently and sustainably so important? Milk provides humans with over 16 essential nutrients, such as: Energy, Protein and Essential Amino acids, Vitamin A, Vitamin D, several B vitamins, including B12, Pantothenic and Folic acids, and essential minerals such as Calcium, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Potassium, Zinc, as well as other minerals. Did you know that one glass of milk provides a 5-year old child with 21% of his/her daily protein requirements and 8% of their energy needs? Most milk in the world, about 85%, is produced from cattle. However, water buffaloes, goats, sheep, and camel are also dairy animals. The United States, India, the European Union, Brazil, and New Zealand are among the largest dairy producers in the world. Yet among these dairy-producing countries there are varied methods to generate milk with highly variable productivity and efficiency. Dairy production is vital for the survival of billions of people. Globally, around 150 million small-scale dairy households, equivalent to 750 million people, are engaged in milk production. The number and size of dairy farms varies among countries, but in India alone, there are estimated 78 million dairy farms! In the United States, one of the leading milk-producing countries in the world, total milk production has been steadily increasing in the last decades, reaching over 205 billion pounds (93 billion kilograms) in 2014. This was accompanied by a steady increase in average milk yield per cow, reaching 22,260 lb (over 10,100 kg) per lactation in 2014. How has this efficiency been achieved? What methods are necessary to ensure production of high quality milk? How do we balance milk production efficiency with animal health and environmental protection? This course will provide the student with information to better understand dairy production systems and their role in feeding the world population. In this MOOOOO-C, you will learn about the dairy enterprise from internationally recognized dairy science professors who have delivered highly regarded dairy education programs within the United States and internationally. Course lectures are translated into Portuguese and Chinese; PDF files of these translations can be found under each course week. The Dairy MOOC team thanks Dr. Antonio Branco (Universidade Estadual de Maringá, Brazil) and Ms. Yuanyuan Zhang (Pennsylvania State University) for translating the lecture materials. Course Sponsors This course was supported by the generous contributions of Innovation Center for US Dairy at Silver Level and Pancosma North America, RP Nutrients, Inc. and Arm and Hammer, which provided funding support at a Bronze Level. The Pennsylvania State University has final responsibility for the academic content of this course....

人気のレビュー

MF

2021年7月30日

Overall good but in health sections more diseases should be discussed with their treatment. Feed management should be simplified like how much forage, grain, feed needed for per 100 kg of weight etc.

AC

2020年11月14日

The course gave a clear and detailed view of all the compartments of the dairy industry with specific number and studies that give a clear message of the development and the cycle of the industry,

フィルター:

Dairy Production and Management: 51 - 75 / 360 レビュー

by Ernestine I

2020年11月1日

Thank you for this opportunity to know more about dairy management. It made me realize that indeed we need to learn continuously. Thank you, Coursera for this opportunity! Continue to help everyone who seeks more knowledge and learning. More power!

by Elizabeth A R

2016年5月31日

Great course, loaded with information! Definitely worth going through for any cattle farmer or vet. My only complaint is that on some of the quizzes, you will never get the right answer because the answer keeps changing. But that can be fixed. :)

by Dakshayani S

2020年11月22日

I am grateful to Coursera and pennstate for providing this awesome course.It provided me with a lot of knowledge about the dairy field and covered vast range of topics that are very essential for a person working in this field.Thanks a lot!!!

by MUSA A

2018年1月30日

An excellent course from PSU. The instructors are superb and interesting to listen to. The aditional readings are unbeatable and they serve as good resources to perfect student understanding. Excellent score to coursera and PSU. Keep it up.

by Dr M I

2020年11月2日

I am thankful to Coursera and Penststate University that provides me with a great experience and knowledge. But still I have not got my certificate, i am student and unemployed please give my hard work response with certificate. Thank you

by INAM-U-LLAH

2018年3月22日

This is a very good course for the people interested in dairy farming or for those who want to start a career in dairy farming. I would definitely recommend this course as a short term and efficient approach to learn about dairy farming.

by Merga B

2020年9月25日

Excellent and highly organized course for dairy extension workers, teaching staffs and research workers in the same discipline. I thank you all instructors, organizers and The Pennsylvania state University for this wonderful course.

by Ghada G E A

2018年5月2日

Thanks to every lecturer of penn state univeristy for opening this opportunity of sharing such a great informations for the world's benefit, It is a pleasure to join this helpful course.

Thanks Coursera for hosting and presenting.

by Margot V

2016年5月11日

Excellent online tutorial. Course had a lot of application to my field of study in South Africa. I will definitely be applying for more courses and using Coursera more. Thank you to the lecturers at Penn State University.

by Amin M H D

2020年6月27日

Nice Course and valuable information with very qualified and experienced persons.

Thank you so much for this valuable knowledge, and all these efforts for preparing this course full with information and knowledge.

by Mahdi E f

2018年6月11日

Thank you for all instructors for making all this profound technical information simple and understandable. This dairy course provided me with very useful information on how to manage a successful dairy farm.

by Hitech f c

2020年12月5日

The most valuable course releted with dairy management , complete and very informative, everybody must learn this before planning to work in dairy farm related industry I feel proud to be part of this course

by Muhammad Y

2020年9月26日

It was a great learning for me because the course contents was so nice, up to date & comprehensive. I wish everyone who is the part of dairy production in any way either owner or employee should do it.....

by Navjodh k

2020年7月16日

I have enjoyed this course and it was very helpful for gaining knowledge in the field of Dairy Production and Management.

Thanks for providing great opportunity to be part of this knowledgeable platform.

by Juan J M E

2020年7月27日

Un curso muy completo que me ayudo a entender muchas situaciones y problemáticas de la producción lechera, ademas de aportar muchos mas conocimientos que puedo comenzar a aplicar en mi vida profesional.

by Marlon b

2020年10月28日

Excelente curso , seria muy bueno lo puedan en un futuro dar en idioma Español. Y puedan incluir razas genuinas que acá en Latinoamérica se hacen cruces entre brahaman y pardo suizo o Gyr y Holstlein

by AJIT S

2022年3月20日

T​he course is very helpful for dairy professional and animal husbandry workers to improve skill and knowledge. The content and presentation is quite reasonable and optimistic.Really interesting.

by Kazim R

2021年11月13日

As a new starter in the dairy industry at 57,this course has been extremely helpful to me and very helpful to organize my farm and maintain a healthy herd. Thanks to all the team members.

by Thisura d S

2021年9月25日

H​ighly practical oriented and you can always download the pdf carrying the relevant teaching material which is so helpful. Very nice course, not easy, not har but just right. Valuable.

by M F K

2020年11月14日

It was an amazing experience as i learned alot about dairy production and management under the supervision of great teachers and i will apply my knowledge in my practical life. Thanks

by Dr A A M

2020年8月6日

I would like to thank all the professors and mentors for guiding me about different aspects of dairy production and management with applicable examples (wherever required ) in depth.

by Carlos G

2020年6月16日

Gracias por tan valiosa informacón proporcionada, nos sera de gran ayuda para complementar con nuestra experiencia, y así compartir con el desarrollo productivo de nuestro país...

by Erwin P R

2020年10月7日

Thank you PENNSTATE for the special course it will help me to understand what dairy is.

and to the instructure to the different module the topic you delivered is so informative.

by Mohamed F X

2020年8月2日

its a very comprehensive module to educate the new comers in all the aspects for Dairy Framing. I found it very easy to learn, understand and relate to the topics very easily.

by Ibrahim S K

2019年10月7日

A very good resource of knowledge, I have learnt many things not about what I do but also about enviromental management which we barely have time or grazing which we do not do