Chevron Left
Data-driven Astronomy に戻る

シドニー大学(The University of Sydney) による Data-driven Astronomy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,177件の評価

コースについて

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

人気のレビュー

SK

2020年9月10日

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC

2020年2月28日

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

フィルター:

Data-driven Astronomy: 326 - 345 / 345 レビュー

by GAVIN W

2019年9月29日

If you want to learn Python and a bit of Machine Learning in the context of Astronomy then this is a great course to give your skills a boost and learn more about modern Astronomy.

by Chairrex C

2021年1月23日

I am interested in stars, galaxies and black holes. Learning to write simple programs about data processing in astronomy has enhanced my understanding of these fields.

by José L I M

2020年7月29日

I've been researching on both machine learning and astronomy, this is a nice course to get introduced on how things are being made in data-driven Astronomy.

by John I

2019年8月31日

I enjoyed the course.

The only issue was with a couple of the python labs not having the data to try within my own environment.

by Ayush R

2020年5月15日

One of the best courses on astronomy and coding. So thoughtfully created and explained. I would love if y'all do this course!

by Ignacio d L A G

2019年12月27日

He aprendido cosas, hasta ahora, desconocidas para mi. Me ha abierto la curiosidad por investigar

by Anand K

2020年1月31日

So the course is of introductory type. Not much in depth. Great for beginners in Data Science.

by Yash M

2021年11月27日

It is nice and useful course. Hope it will give me some momentum in my project work!

by Alastair K

2018年1月7日

great course with practical python programming. very informative and easy to follow

by Rita A

2020年7月10日

This course involved a brilliant interplay between theory and application !

by Harsh T

2020年4月8日

It has been a fantastic journey of Astronomy with actual data and coding.

by Jordi G P

2018年12月10日

Pretty good introduction to both Big Data treatment and modern astronomy!

by Enrique J E B

2019年9月8日

Nice introduction to machine learning using an interesting topic.

by Antariksha M

2019年9月10日

Great Learning

by Andrew L

2020年10月19日

The course was interesting, but suffered from being a little to lightweight in both the Astronomy and Data Driven aspects - it probably tries to do too much in a short period of time. If you already have some programming knowledge, esp in SQL or Python, the practical assignments you'll likely find quite easy and can be completed in under half the estimated time. I'd be interested in seeing an advanced version of this course though!

by José A T D

2022年8月1日

T​he couse is interesting to practice python but not for learling astronomy or data science.

by Robert N

2017年11月25日

Sorry, but this course was one of the weakest I have followed.

by Stephen C

2022年4月18日

insufficient guidance for me in python exercises - unable to progress

by Shalini s

2020年6月17日

actually i wrongly pressed this course and its not unenrolling