Chevron Left
Data-driven Astronomy に戻る

シドニー大学(The University of Sydney) による Data-driven Astronomy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,175件の評価

コースについて

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

人気のレビュー

SK

2020年9月10日

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC

2020年2月28日

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

フィルター:

Data-driven Astronomy: 76 - 100 / 345 レビュー

by Daniel H

2020年9月25日

Data Driven Astronomy course is well paced and the instructors present the material in a way that is interesting and fun. The exercises were useful and at the right level for the course. After each section is an interview with an Astronomer which was very helpful.

by Utkarsh T

2019年11月21日

The exposure that I needed just to understand how day-to-day things work in professional astronomy has given to me through this course. I am utterly thankful to all the instructors and their respective team for placing such a great quality education in the market.

by vas m

2020年8月26日

I found this module a good, for me it was good recap of SQL and python. And introduction to ML, big data and astronomy. Exercises are good to do - they do take some time, to do properly and learn from - some of the ML is more cut and past, using python libraries.

by Intentional_Error

2021年2月13日

Both of the lecturers present the information in a clear and concise way. If you are used to using an IDE grok has some drawbacks such as not auto completing brackets and quotes; these are easily overcome though. Thanks to Both the Murphys for this opportunity.

by Michele C

2022年7月20日

I really enjoyed this course which gives basic but solid knowledge of astronomy (providing also hints for further resources) and allows anyone having a basic understanding of python what is needed to kick off with machine learning methods! I'm really thankful!

by Barun S

2020年6月11日

it is obviously a wonderful course to learn so much about my favourite subjects got good computational skills, Thank you for making this course so easy and understandable, hope I will get more contents like this, Thank you Coursera, thanks to all the faculty.

by Athul

2020年6月6日

The course is well defined with clear presentation. From an astronomy prespective, the course provides necessary knowledge for inspiring us to step into data analysis and machine learning. Thank you University of Sydney to host such a course on astronomy

by NABANITA R

2020年1月24日

Application consists a lot of basics including using SQL database and programming. This course should be labelled as fundamental. There should another course that emphasises only on the usage and practical applications of ML in astronomical institutions.

by Boris D

2021年2月17日

I am an astronomy lover and a programmer, for me this course is the first acquaintance with the work of a professional astronomer. It was very interesting thanks a lot! Could you please make an advanced course with laboratory work from real research? :)

by Erik v P

2017年9月5日

Good introduction course to big data. Some prior knowledge of Python is good to have to make it easier to get through the course, The astronomy part of the course is very interesting. It has changed much since I took university level courses in it.

by Johanna B

2020年2月26日

The videos are extremely well-done and contain just the right amount of content for astronomy newbies like me. I really enjoyed the use of Grok. Personally, I don't think previous python knowledge is necessary to successfully complete this course.

by Allan J

2022年3月26日

Well constructed course, that is manageable by a variety of skill levels. Some background in machine learning is helpfull but the course consentrates on other data management skills as well. I enjoyed it and will be using it for future reference.

by Jesse S

2017年8月30日

Fun, engaging programming-focused assessments with just the right balance of structure and freedom. Diligent mentors such as Magda on the Forums. All embedded in the wonderful content of Astronomy. Good for practising Python and an intro to SQL.

by Manoj J

2019年5月30日

This course is excellent for anyone who loves astronomy and is looking to working in the field .The concepts are conveyed effectively and the assignments are the most important aspects as they teach a lot more than the videos . Its was fun !!

by Avinash C

2020年2月10日

This course was very useful and insightful for me. I really liked the programming sets. I did feel that there could have been bit more detailed discussion in Machine learning part. I would really love to do an advance course in this subject.

by Scott M

2022年5月24日

Interesting content, great videos that are never too longer or verbose. Nice balance of learning asssessments/quizes and coding expercises. Unique course that does a great job marrying physical science with data science. Highly recommended.

by Akhil P

2017年5月25日

This course has provide me with great insights in the field on Astrophysics. It has really helped in matching my interests in Astrophysics and Machine Learning. Now, I feel confident to play with data from SDSS and Kepler Exoplanet Archive.

by Toivo S

2017年9月16日

Amazing course! I learned a lot about astronomy, quasars, galaxies, machine learning, python and the scientific libraries numpy, scikit-learn, scipy, creating programs that are optimised in memory use and that complete in reasonable time

by Md K

2021年5月25日

I'm very happy that i came across this course on Coursera. Even more am I happy that they let me complete this course for free. It showed me how we analyze those tremendous amount of data we receive from telescopes and draw conclusions.

by Fakhrtdinov R

2020年11月9日

A very interesting course containing information useful for practical application. I wish there was a continuation of this course, because there are still many questions regarding the processing of astronomical data. It would be great!

by Chirag M

2020年3月27日

The course gives a very deep knowledge on the astronomy and also it encourages us to explore ourselves rather than spoon-feeding us. It also gives a good amount of knowledge on application of machine learning in astronomical fields.

by Paulina V

2019年7月12日

It is a really well done course, 100% recommended. Simple but with a lot of information to shared. exercises are really well build in order to anyone can understand the main objective (Astronomy and Machine Learning techniques).

by Ashish J

2019年8月28日

Overall Great course regarding content delivered and the good thing is they kept it short and straight forward; more interesting exercises and programming would have been really great! Looking forward for more advanced courses!

by Kris S

2017年6月5日

Course follows a very intuitive approach to impart modern astronomy knowledge with big data as a backdrop. Good coverage of materials, well-paced programming instructions, eloquently and excellent presentation of written notes.

by Paul L

2017年6月1日

An optimal course for the type of learning that I am interested in. The programming assignments had the right level of challenge to keep me engaged with the lecture material. The use of Grok Learning tools was a definite bonus.