Chevron Left
Data-driven Astronomy に戻る

シドニー大学(The University of Sydney) による Data-driven Astronomy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
677件の評価
207件のレビュー

コースについて

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

人気のレビュー

MC

Feb 29, 2020

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

TS

Dec 15, 2019

This is a great course for anyone wanting to do data science with astronomical datasets. The lectures are clear and interesting and the activities are well structured. I really enjoyed this course!

フィルター:

Data-driven Astronomy: 76 - 100 / 204 レビュー

by Ananth S

Apr 24, 2019

Wonderful course and loved every bit of it. My only concern is that I would love to have some form of a certificate even though I can not afford to pay for the course.

by AMITS

May 23, 2020

Assignments are core of this course and are brilliantly designed . Pace of course is ideal and it encourages you to study more in each of skill area it touches upon

by Erik H

Sep 28, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. You'll learn some python, some SQL. But for me most important was learning more about astronomy and the universe. Very interesting.

by Ryan H

May 06, 2017

Great class! I didn't know that these techniques were used in astronomy. I am looking forward to more science and scientific computing courses from Coursera.

by Nohely C

Jun 01, 2020

Es un increíble curso! Bien organizado y con excelentes profesores. La herramienta externa es genial, con ella pude aprender a usar Python! Gracias por tanto.

by Josh C

Jan 03, 2019

This class is incredible and inspirational. I learned so many highly applicable skills and I am very glad to have taken this class in its entirety. Thank you!

by Syed K H

Feb 26, 2018

One of the interesting course and topic of coursera. Very informative, even you are not from this field, you will get lots of knowledge of this Astronomy.

by miguel a

Apr 21, 2020

Fue un excelente curso , me ayuda mucho para poder intentar el procesado de unos catalogos de galaxias en especial la parte del machine learning aplicado

by Xiaoping L

Mar 12, 2018

It's awesome! the combination of lecture and coding-tast is a very brilliant mode. This is my first course I have ever finished in Coursera! Thanks!

by Erin D

Sep 30, 2018

Excellent. Teaching is thorough and concise, the quizzes and external coding problems are challenging enough but not overwhelming. A great course.

by Pierre B

Apr 20, 2018

Great course to get an overview of the type of problems that astronomy faces and how to use data and machine learning techniques to solve them.

by Michael W

Mar 08, 2019

This is a very well organized, interesting, and, quite frankly, fun class. I especially liked being able to do hands-on exercises in Python.

by Pedro d S Q

May 30, 2020

I liked the way the lectures were presented, and each assignment help me in getting a better grasp on the subject we were learning about.

by Abhinuv N P

Apr 24, 2017

Excellent course for astronomy enthusiasts with really useful and informative Python Assignments. One of the best MOOCs I have attended.

by francisco

May 11, 2019

An exciting course towards data science is involved in other topics as Astronomy, and a glimpse on the techniques that are being use.

by Tony G

Aug 23, 2019

Excellent course. One of the best I've taken. Love that real data sets were used to illustrate the concepts. Highly recommended.

by Pier-Francesco R

Jun 17, 2019

It's a good start point if we want to understand actual astronomy and the analysis of new big surveys like SDSS or the next LSST

by Marco P

Dec 18, 2019

Great course and a great opportunity to learn about data analysis, classification of galaxies and astronomy. Very inspiring.

by Abhijeet B

Apr 23, 2020

Excellent course designed to provide a good introduction to data analysis in astronomy with plenty of hands on excercises.

by Timothy J N

Apr 16, 2020

This course really gave me an understanding of the methods of modern astronomy as well as the basics of working with data.

by Dhruv P

Dec 02, 2019

For the first time, I've learnt the application of programming languages in the field of Astronomy. A course worth taking.

by fouchereau r

Jan 15, 2020

Was a pleasure to take this course, It is well balanced between astronomical information and Machine Leargning concepts.

by Aayush

Jul 01, 2017

A great course that helps one understand the basics of data analysis and how they are used in observational astronomy.

by Carlos N

Apr 19, 2018

It's been a very interesting and enriching point of view of astronomy. I loved the way computing can help astronomy.

by Ted S

May 25, 2017

I've been looking for a class like this for a while. Nice intro to python and accessing and manipulating astro data