Chevron Left
Data-driven Astronomy に戻る

シドニー大学(The University of Sydney) による Data-driven Astronomy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
664件の評価
205件のレビュー

コースについて

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

人気のレビュー

MC

Feb 29, 2020

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

TS

Dec 15, 2019

This is a great course for anyone wanting to do data science with astronomical datasets. The lectures are clear and interesting and the activities are well structured. I really enjoyed this course!

フィルター:

Data-driven Astronomy: 101 - 125 / 202 レビュー

by Gonzalo B

Aug 08, 2018

A great introduction to Data-driven Astronomy and a good way for starting to learn Python by solving problems

by Ahammed A

May 09, 2018

A great course for a good understanding of the tools and the theoretical requisites of data driven astronomy

by Eshita S

Mar 26, 2020

if you want to put some hands on the modern of doing observational astronomy, go for it. an amazing course .

by SHUBHAM K

Jul 20, 2019

Great lectures, interactive coursework, and easy to understand yet overwhelmingly powerful concepts! Lovely!

by notsoseamless

Jul 11, 2019

Really interesting course.

I now need to make further study of the techniques introduced on this course.

by Daanish P

May 01, 2020

wow, this course made my quarantine time :) thanks dr. tara and simon murphy for this beautiful course.

by Terence

May 15, 2020

Very good module. I have learned a lot about how to analyze huge data by using computational skills.

by Cecilia G

Jul 06, 2019

Great course, does help to have a background in python so more time can be spent on the activities.

by p v k

May 12, 2019

Outstanding presentation in making even a novice like me understand the fundamentals of the course.

by SOURABH S

Dec 23, 2018

Ultimate Course,A proper mixture of Data Science,Statistics,Machine learning and Astronomy.Loved it

by Craig T

Aug 28, 2018

Really good basic intro to data analysis, particularly applying this to the astronomical domain.

by Ivet M

Jun 15, 2018

I've enjoyed a lot this course. I've learnt a lot of things and I would recommend it to everyone

by Adel B

May 27, 2020

Pretty good introductory course for applied data science on astronomy. Overall captivating!

by Thomas M

Aug 14, 2019

Excellent course. One of the best things I learned is that I need to learn statistics now.

by Gaston M S R

Dec 16, 2017

Excellent overall Course, fantastic content, teachers and organization. We need more!!!!

by Dr. D S

Oct 05, 2019

Excellent introduction into the astronomical exploration using the methods of big data

by Soham S

Jul 17, 2018

A very good introductory course on the applications of machine learning in astronomy.

by Akshay A S

Jan 22, 2020

Thorough learning opportunity, interesting design, interactive program, smart tests.

by aswathi a

Apr 18, 2020

THE COURSE WAS REALLY VERY HELPFUL FOR ME. IN MY STUDIES IT REALLY HELPED ME A LOT.

by Himadri S

Apr 18, 2020

Excellent course. Had real fun doing the assignments. Learned up a lot. Thank you

by hetpin

Mar 15, 2018

Highly recommended course for both astronomical and computer science students.

by Matthew P L

Jun 26, 2017

Astronomy, Python, and SQL ... like all my favorite friends in the same place!

by antonio b

Nov 14, 2019

Very good Seminar! Is there a second part?

Congratulations to the professors!

by Bruno A

Apr 15, 2018

Very good course, with a very good platform for practice the lessons (Grok).

by Carlos E T H

May 05, 2020

Very interesting topic. Well paced explanations. Really enjoyed the course.