Chevron Left
Data-driven Astronomy に戻る

シドニー大学(The University of Sydney) による Data-driven Astronomy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,178件の評価

コースについて

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

人気のレビュー

SK

2020年9月10日

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC

2020年2月28日

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

フィルター:

Data-driven Astronomy: 151 - 175 / 345 レビュー

by Luis C M R

2021年3月9日

This course is amazing. I enjoyed learning about astronomy, writing code and applying machine learning models!. Where can is the second part coming out?

by Matsvei Y

2021年3月1日

Very good and full of information course. Helped me in understanding a lot of astronomical theories and how to solve astronomical problems using python

by Andrés A M

2021年3月27日

Great course!! Very entertaining and useful to introduce concepts of big data, machine learning and database management to physicist and astronomers.

by Xiaoping L

2018年3月11日

It's awesome! the combination of lecture and coding-tast is a very brilliant mode. This is my first course I have ever finished in Coursera! Thanks!

by karthik s

2020年7月22日

I really loved the content from this course. The information that was given in the course was at least from decades of research and its conclusions.

by Erin D

2018年9月30日

Excellent. Teaching is thorough and concise, the quizzes and external coding problems are challenging enough but not overwhelming. A great course.

by Rian F J

2020年10月24日

This course is very fun to work on. I like the platform they are using to practice coding. The videos are also very informative and interesting.

by Pierre B

2018年4月20日

Great course to get an overview of the type of problems that astronomy faces and how to use data and machine learning techniques to solve them.

by Bojan D

2020年7月28日

This is an excellent course. I would strongly recommend it to everyone who is interested in astronomy, machine learning, or computer science.

by Michael W

2019年3月8日

This is a very well organized, interesting, and, quite frankly, fun class. I especially liked being able to do hands-on exercises in Python.

by Pedro d S Q

2020年5月30日

I liked the way the lectures were presented, and each assignment help me in getting a better grasp on the subject we were learning about.

by Andrew J

2021年7月23日

E​xcellent MOOC providing astronomical knowledge along with the application of that knowledge in data science using real-world problems.

by Abhinuv N P

2017年4月24日

Excellent course for astronomy enthusiasts with really useful and informative Python Assignments. One of the best MOOCs I have attended.

by Danilo S O

2020年6月9日

Such an amazing course, one really learns so much, good methodology. All the assignments were very useful and instructors explain well.

by Pamela S P

2020年6月7日

Curso con hartos contenidos interesantes y explicados de una manera simple y entendible. Me encantó el formato de programación que usa.

by Meghna D

2020年12月4日

I really like how well-paced it is. it definitely is a good introductory course for someone who is interested in pursuing this field.

by francisco

2019年5月11日

An exciting course towards data science is involved in other topics as Astronomy, and a glimpse on the techniques that are being use.

by Tony G

2019年8月22日

Excellent course. One of the best I've taken. Love that real data sets were used to illustrate the concepts. Highly recommended.

by Gaureesh C

2020年8月15日

Great course for Astronomy enthusiasts as well as for people looking to improve coding skills in python, sql and machine learning.

by Yogita P

2022年6月12日

This course is really amzing and helpful to learn about astronomy and astroomical data analysis using python and machine learning

by Давыд А

2021年12月26日

I​ just want to say thank you very much! It's a great course. I got acquainted with the basics of big data analysis in astronomy.

by Pier-Francesco R

2019年6月17日

It's a good start point if we want to understand actual astronomy and the analysis of new big surveys like SDSS or the next LSST

by John A

2020年12月10日

An excellent introduction to the uses and benefits of data science in Astronomy, using real world examples. I really enjoyed it

by Marco P

2021年9月14日

Great course and a great opportunity to learn about data analysis, classification of galaxies and astronomy. Very inspiring.

by Abhijeet B

2020年4月23日

Excellent course designed to provide a good introduction to data analysis in astronomy with plenty of hands on excercises.