Chevron Left
Data Science Methodology に戻る

IBM による Data Science Methodology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
13,219件の評価
1,479件のレビュー

コースについて

Despite the recent increase in computing power and access to data over the last couple of decades, our ability to use the data within the decision making process is either lost or not maximized at all too often, we don't have a solid understanding of the questions being asked and how to apply the data correctly to the problem at hand. This course has one purpose, and that is to share a methodology that can be used within data science, to ensure that the data used in problem solving is relevant and properly manipulated to address the question at hand. Accordingly, in this course, you will learn: - The major steps involved in tackling a data science problem. - The major steps involved in practicing data science, from forming a concrete business or research problem, to collecting and analyzing data, to building a model, and understanding the feedback after model deployment. - How data scientists think! LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

人気のレビュー

AG

May 14, 2019

This is a proper course which will make you to understand each and every stage of Data science methodology. Lectures are well enough to make you think as a data scientist. Thank you fr this course :)

JM

Feb 27, 2020

Very informative step-by-step guide of how to create a data science project. Course presents concepts in an engaging way and the quizzes and assignments helped in understanding the overall material.

フィルター:

Data Science Methodology: 26 - 50 / 1,468 レビュー

by Cherif H W A

Oct 27, 2019

Except for the lab parts, it is a very poor course which covered a very important topic that should build the initial stone in working as data scientist but the instructors ruined my experience. They were monotonous, did not to explain in simpler ways. they explained from they high end expert and the slides were poor and not interactive and verry boring and it was extremely difficult to keep focus with them.

terrible course

by Musaini R

Apr 08, 2020

The case study given was very confusing. Even, the tutor did not do a great job explaining and facilitating the case study. I only understand it better through the cooking metaphor. They should have choose a better and simpler case study.

by Shamir P

Apr 24, 2020

Prior to undertaking this course, my experience with data science methodology was non-existent. I was not aware of the robust framework developed by John Rollins at IBM, and how it could be used to solve a problem for a business - even if data science was not the end goal. A key lesson from the course as my takeaway would be that it taught me to ask more questions, but more importantly to keep asking questions from different angles.

The course provided me with an invaluable shift in the way that I think about classifying a problem, analysing a problem and then the numerous methods that are available to me when developing a solution.

I would strongly recommend this course even to non-data scientists who require problem-solving tools for their work.

Well laid out, although I do wish that the videos provided a bit more detail on other reading references or articles to gain deeper insights on some of the concepts. (Google definitely helped though).

by Raissa B T

Apr 14, 2020

I appreciate the classes and this whole course. The content is groundbreaking to me! It's such a gift to have learning materials from IBM. Thank you very much.

I like the content but the way it has been ministered/taught could be more dynamic. I like the short and directly-to-the-point videos, but I guess to make comprehension more direct. I mean that if the written information appeared as soon as the speaker mentioned that, it could be more didatic for the student. Sometimes, I didn't know if I payed attention to the written content or to the spoken content. As I am not a native English speaker, for me was sometimes chalenging, thus made me read e watch many times the videos.

by Vaddi J C P B

Sep 12, 2019

Gives the basic understanding of the methodologies involved in data science domain. Outlines the step-by-step stages of the methodologies. Allows you to think like a data scientist for the final project (although not extensively). Didn't cover all the possible models that a data scientist uses on a daily basis. This course tries to explain the things with the help of case studies which consists the basic models and analytical techniques. All the way, this course walks you through the basic fundamentals of the stages in data science methodology.

by Prabhakaran E

Jan 03, 2020

The course paints an overall picture on the complete set of steps that are followed while working on a Data science project. The best part are the exercises, where we are required to solve a problem to identify the cuisine of any recipe by using a decision tree algorithm. One thing which I found tough was that the python coding part was not explained even a bit. A brief information on the various functions and methods that are used as a part of exercise would be even more helpful. Other than that, its a great course for beginners.

by Ashok K

Jan 06, 2019

Good course. Thanks to the instructors, IBM and Coursera for making this course available online.

One small thing I would like to request for the answer-input area for the final Peer-Graded assignment. is to provide mechanism to add images and or link as well. That can be very useful for anyone who want to add images of Decision-Tree or Data Model etc. in addition to text explanation to make it more clear. The workaround to load images on Google-Drive and then copy-paste text-link in the answer-box was

okay as well, I guess !!

by Jeanne L M

Apr 28, 2020

Best course for starters, really understood key concepts and how to apply them into labs and practice questions. Moreover, this platform really tested my core understanding through the intensity and volume of practice questions (which Cognitive Class only had 3 questions each per practice). Can't wait to get my Badge for this course! One thing is that we learners have to pay access for subscriptions in order to get our certifications and badges which the fees were not mentioned beforehand until before the check-out page.

by Jianxu S

Aug 24, 2019

I would probably give 4.5 stars if there is such choice. Overall, it is good and fun to work through the material but there are places where the message was not crystal clear. For examples, the analogy between data scientist and cook is not always helpful. One of the quiz question described model 2 but was associated with the wrong cost ratio (4:1 instead of 9:1). If Receiver Operation Characteristic (ROC) curve is an important concept then perhaps a little bit more explanation is warranted.

by Oritseweyinmi H A

Apr 02, 2020

I have previously dabbled in various parts of the full data science process. Including data collection, data understanding and data preparation. I have also separately worked on data modelling and data evaluation on Kaggle. However I am very grateful for this course, as it has enabled me to be able to appreciate the big picture view of data science and has provided me with a framework to use for future data science projects. Insightful and very comprehensive!

by Diego R

May 25, 2020

I really enjor it. Make me thing as different way in systematic but creative way. There are different ways to solve a problem based on the question we are getting. I know that we only cover some of them for trying not making the course that large. Would be wonderful to have optional resources beyond the course on how to attack different kind of questions as well as evaluating which kind approach use.

by Damilola O

Apr 21, 2020

The Data Science Methodology really opened my mind to the meticulous process of 'solutioning' as a Data Scientist. Understanding Business Case and what the business owners want, dimensioning to know the approach analytics, knowing the data set to work with and how to analyse same, and ultimately modelling and also learning from the model via feedback so as to make things better.

by Guilherme P d C

May 06, 2019

For the case study presented, specially during modeling and evaluation phases, more elaboration would make the course better. Specially during modeling evaluations and ROC.

Also the course being conducted in a recorded slides is not appealing for student engagement. Would be great to have some videos with people explaining, like in the in course 1 of this program.

by Jason K

May 21, 2019

This course made me realize that people tend to jump to execution mode without even understanding what the business really want from them, and by not having a proper understanding they either produce a system that adds no value to the business, or they waste unnecessary time. The tools from this course is very helpful in any field that you are working in.

by Mark L

Jan 27, 2019

While the course is brief, exploring only one methodology in depth (predictive), it is well done. I could understand the exercises well. One fix would be a quiz asked what percentage was on a previous table. I did not take the time to memorize the values in the table as I don't see how that is relevant. A better quiz question could be been formulated.

by Varun V

Nov 12, 2018

This is a very nice course since understanding this course has helped us in thinking deep about various stages of a Data Science project. Moreover, the author has taken a case study and used that for explanation of all the concepts which made it look more like a story rather than just boring lectures. Very helpful and nicely organized.

by Tatyana F

Apr 22, 2020

It turned out that this theoretical block is quite complicated, since there are many details that must be taken into account when answering test questions. However, I am glad that I completed that course. Now I have a deep understanding of how to work with data at all stages. I thank the authors of the course for such quality content!

by Leonardo R

Jul 10, 2019

This course provides the perfect explanation of what goes into the data science methodology. The course guides students through an in depth analysis of each stage with examples and labs so they can follow along. The course also uses the data science method to solve a real world problem that one may encounter in their career.

by Ankit R

Apr 26, 2020

For a newbie,It is very important to understand how to solve a real world problem and for that its very important you should have knowledge of "How to approach?" and what all methods are required to achieve a statistical solution. This course helps me a lot in gaining those skills and looking ahead for other courses of IBM.

by Gideon R

Nov 03, 2018

Having a structured methodology is an essential part of one's work. Nothing is more tempting than shortcuts but we always end up regretting them. The Rollins approach to data science, when properly understood, really clarifies the sequence of steps involved in achieving a result that will satisfy the organizational needs.

by Ahmed H M

May 21, 2020

Great theoretical course for the whole process that Data Scientists go through. Explained well with case studies, however comes with a bit of intermediate python code to understand at this early stage, it forecasts what to expect next in the specialization from programming point of view, so get ready and enjoy the ride!

by Jason J D

Jul 30, 2019

Good course. Very important when it comes to implementing Data Science in real life. The instructor explains the life cycle and flow of the Data Science methodology along with an example scenario. Understanding and differentiating between the different phases of the methodology is much easier because of this.

by Baris E P

Dec 13, 2019

Due to its approach to methodology, the course as a whole looks intimidating, but actually what it does is great way to teach a methodology, which is useful in both data science working space and academic environment. The course is quite easier than what it requires to fully understand the methodology.

by Jose J D

Sep 24, 2019

Absolutely Amazing Course. Clear, providing useful plug and play methodology. One of the best courses I have taken. One suggestion is to improve the quality of Slides on the presentation, I should have to evaluate with four stars due to this, but the quality is so high that I would go with five stars.

by Sofia L

Dec 29, 2019

This course has completely blew my mind. I now see how data science can be applied to everything and can help find solutions to anything! from social issues to business. I thrilled that i have gained new insights from this course that I will put in practice from now on in every day in my life!