Chevron Left
The Data Scientist’s Toolbox に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Data Scientist’s Toolbox の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
21,150件の評価
4,218件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
ハイライト
Foundational tools
(243件のレビュー)
Introductory course
(1056件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

AI

Apr 24, 2018

This course was a good intro especially in setting all the necessary software for future courses. I suggest to read the manuals, books and other readings the profs suggest. The resources are helpful.

フィルター:

The Data Scientist’s Toolbox: 3901 - 3925 / 4,092 レビュー

by Marie J

Feb 26, 2019

I found this informative but you do not get much in terms of service. One of the quiz has a technical issue and I made a complaint weeks ago, but I still haven't gotten a response. Nor has it been fixed.

by Abdallah M A

Mar 02, 2019

The instructor is an automated speaker, it was too bad, I couldn't focus at all.

by Luis C

Mar 24, 2019

it is a good course but need to show more examples of R. the course should show more empirice examples of the functions of R.

by ping c

Apr 09, 2019

The video wasn't very effective.

by Todd H

Jul 15, 2018

I am simultaneously doing a course here and one on Udacity. In comparison, this course is much less enjoyable and efficient. There are several reasons for this 1) you never see a person present the material in the videos, it is just pictures of slides. This makes it feel less personal and enjoyable. 2) The lessons are relatively long and there are not opportunities to practice in between. Udacity, for example, has short 1-2 minute videos for each concept and then ungraded practice quizzes, which make it very clear what you are supposed to learn without feeling like you failed if you make mistakes. This saves you time so you don't have to go back into a 15 minute video to hunt for an answer to something. 3) The quizzes here test a lot of minutae. They are not always focused on the main points from the lecture. This can be frustrating because you may feel like you need to spend an unreasonable amount of time looking for answers to small points or get frustrated and feel like you are failing. That does not really make sense for an overview course. 4) The instructor often rambles or has side remarks. He sometimes forgets to give the proper background information for beginners. Takeaways or action points are not always clear. 5) This course feels unnecessarily long for what it is supposed to accomplish. It could be a list of programs to download and a very short summary of things you will learn in upcoming courses. Instead, you spend hours on this and feel like you walk away with no new technical skills.

by Katherine F

Mar 17, 2016

Too short and easy.

by Karsten T

Feb 15, 2016

This could probably be compressed into a single week of setup for the R Programming course. There isn't much in terms of substantive learning here.

by Vlad D

Feb 27, 2017

Too basic!

by Anna D

Mar 04, 2018

It's great to learn how to use GitHub but this hardly qualifies as a course.

by Selina H

Apr 12, 2016

It's more a preview than an actual class.

by Ben V

Sep 13, 2016

Very very introductory. I didn't find the tooling aspects of this course particularly helpful, but I'm not in the target audience. It's length was misleading -- I completed the work in two days easily, but I am a technologist, and already had the tools installed. If you use GitHub and RStudio, the meat of the course is only about an hour of the lecture.

by David C J

Sep 26, 2016

This was really basic information. It's not really a 4 week course. It takes several hours. The info is necessary, but it's sufficient as a single week of content for a larger course.

by Tarunoday S

May 06, 2017

This module should not be kept as a separate piece...The steps mentioned in the lectures does not properly cover what is asked in the assignments.The lecture content needs to improve to cover the assignment

by Kristin N

Jun 07, 2016

Jumps around, doesn't put anything into "real world" examples.

by Dimitris K

Nov 24, 2016

Too easy, very basic

by Max C

Jun 03, 2016

Too basic, this should just be a read

by Binu E

Apr 05, 2016

This should not be a course of its own.

by Francisco B P

Apr 10, 2018

Very superficial knowledge. More pratical exercises are needed and daily problem examples. The use of github and his pratical purpose is not clear.

by Andrew I

Sep 18, 2016

There just wasn't much to this class. It's not bad information, but it could have been done in one week.

by Gustavo M

Dec 30, 2016

Only informative. Not worth it outside the specialization.

by Abhishek K

Mar 28, 2018

Very basic

by Matt G

Feb 06, 2016

Very little information for the cost. I was done with the whole course in a few hours. The review in the next course covered most of the same things. It certainly wasn't worth the price.

by Rami A

Mar 29, 2016

Really poor quality of the material.

by Nicholas B

Mar 17, 2016

Barely any depth

by 潇湘夜雨动清愁

May 07, 2016

the speech is too fast to be catch up with and doesn't have much useful contents