Chevron Left
The Data Scientist’s Toolbox に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Data Scientist’s Toolbox の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
33,073件の評価
7,064件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
ハイライト
Foundational tools

(243件のレビュー)

Introductory course

(1056件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

SF

2020年4月14日

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR

2017年9月7日

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

フィルター:

The Data Scientist’s Toolbox: 4776 - 4800 / 6,961 レビュー

by Jeff M

2017年10月6日

What needs to be made clearer is the need to go looking around the internet for help on the Git to Github work. I can see that one taking some time for students to work thru. On the other hand once students go throw the trouble of doing the research and working with the code/commands a strange thing happens - learning!!

by Steve

2021年2月1日

Nice, basic introduction to setting up RStudio and Github. I think the idea of using automated lectures is okay EXCEPT that there is no control of pacing. The automated speaker talks far too quickly when explaining steps that we need to follow on our computer. I found myself constantly pausing, rewinding, and replaying.

by Cesar A d S P G

2016年8月14日

Expectations for simply meeting the baseline learning objectives or to outpoint it aren't exactly clear and there are two monitor strings that are far from being clear (15 minute guide on xyz).

Content and evaluations match in requirements. I learned a lot about softwares and databases in with which I can learn and work.

by Chinmoy C P

2020年3月8日

A high level view but very helpful for someone starting their Data Science journey. Good overall coverage of basics that helps in building a gradual understanding of the subject.

The only reason i haven't rated 5 stars is because there were lot of errors that i came across in the automated diction that need correction.

by Muneeb S

2020年2月15日

Organization of course was good. Sometimes, I felt that speed of the lecture is fast and I had to reduce the speed to 0.75% to understand important concepts. Improvements can be made in the transalation of text by robot, 'e-g' was being translated to EG instead of for example. Overall the content of the course was good

by Xuan L

2016年1月13日

A brief introduction and overview of data science and the specialization from JHU. It provides necessary information and materials for the following courses, but itself does not cover much technique details. Won't take long to accomplish but still necessary if you don't know Git, Github or background of data science.

by Jan-Frieder H

2018年5月12日

very basic when you have at least some science background in terms of a Bachelor + almost Master Sc. degree, but good for repetition, Git Bash and Github was completely new to me, at the moment I am not 100% sure for what Github and Git Bash are useful, but I am sure I will figure it out in the upcoming courses :)

by Vignesh v

2020年6月26日

It was good and it helped me to explore github,git,R and Rstudio. The peer assignment was quite good as it was my first peer assignment..But,only thing is that instead of this format(using AI),U can use on-person teaching which will be good and interactive..

I felt sleepy with the crampy female robotic voice

by Kendra S

2021年2月15日

The peer review is very subjective. The last question on the grading rubric is about whether or not the work was done by the student who submitted the assignment. One person said yes and another said no, so I only got half a point. I would have had 100% if not for this. I can prove that the work is my own.

by Deleted A

2020年7月22日

Found that the automated lecture didn’t deliver the message as well as a traditional lecture. There was awkward delivery in terms of speech and phrasing from the automated lecture and I found it distracting. But the material was great and I feel prepared to start the rest of the data science specialization

by Harris W

2020年4月29日

The course overall has been helpful in getting started with R and data science as a method of analysis. But the robot voice is extremely difficult to listen to. To the point where I am drifting off because it is so monotone, and sometimes not interpreting the content correctly due to a weird pronunciation.

by Matheus d M d A

2018年8月28日

The course is pretty interesting, but there is not much substantive knowledge here. For that you must keep going to the other courses of the Specialization such as R Programming and the others. There you are going to learn data science in practice. Nevertheless, this is a good introduction to the topic.

by Ian M

2017年4月1日

Good course, that brings goos insights on the basics about data science.

The lectures about Git and GitHub are not so clear - maybe this classes would better fit when the class already have a more advanced knowldge on the course's theme.

Thank you for the quality of the lessons and to make it available.

by Antony S

2017年4月28日

A good place to start of your entry to Data Science. You get to know what data science is, what are the tools used and get an idea of what can be done and cannot be done. The course even walks you through installation of r, rstudio, and git. It introduces version control system using Github too.

by Dawn M K

2020年3月3日

I really wish there were a few videos with real people in them. That computer voice is annoying, but the material was covered thoroughly, and I used the text option which actually was great. I also think it would benefit students if there was a book or some form of notes they could download.

by sachin s

2019年12月26日

A Good introduction to data analysis theory and tutorials on getting started with Rstudio and git installation and initial usage techniques. Consecutive course to compliment this would be R programming and Data cleansing and exploratory analysis as in John Hopkins Data Science Specialization

by Syed M R A

2017年6月1日

Very good stuff relating to Data scientist's entrance in the Data Science field but it should be more descriptive in terms of basic tools and softwares like git and github. Although the stuff is available over the internet but when you listen & see, you get more and more efficiently. Thanks,

by Marco L

2017年2月5日

It was a little to easy and the quizzes were not really necessary. Questions like "What courses are in the Data-Science Specialization?" don't help to controll my learning progress. However for a first, introducing course it was okay. R Programming is way more interesting and challenging <3

by Ziaur R

2019年12月20日

Didnt enjoy the voice on the automated videos, but was faster at reading than watching videos. The document didnt work for the Big data Section and had to watch the video for this. Good introduction and wished I had more questions to practice! Looking forward to R Programming section next"

by Glauco G d A

2018年1月11日

It's a good start point for people who wants to start pursuing a data science career and haven't a statistical background. Explain the basic definitions of research analysis types and shows the very beginning of handful tools like how a git repository works and good editors for R scripts.

by Marek B

2018年3月11日

The course is very basic but still contains useful information both on data science and some of the tools.

Unfortunately, because of how basic it is, I found the quizes focusing on trivial and subjective questions that are both hard to answer and not really testing any interesting skills.

by Muhammed A A

2021年6月24日

i think is good course they explain to you Data science and all things about it and how to install and use the tools of data i think the problem is the robot that they used as speaker i think the voice of human better than robot for me and the translation for Arabic isnt really good .

by Bernard O

2022年1月10日

One would need to do some additional hard research in between though to complete the course due to the automated video which skips a couple of steps including the discussion on the Git! Hope this will not be the case on the rest of the courses. overall Good course but 5 stars for me.

by Candice A M J

2020年1月24日

The tools needed are all explained well, including installation. Still getting used to the new Amazon Polly format. A few questions in quizzes seem to not align with updated material, but that could just be an intentional push to be resourceful. Looking forward to the next course.