Chevron Left
The Data Scientist’s Toolbox に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Data Scientist’s Toolbox の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
29,454件の評価
6,272件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
ハイライト
Foundational tools
(243件のレビュー)
Introductory course
(1056件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

SF

Apr 15, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

フィルター:

The Data Scientist’s Toolbox: 4151 - 4175 / 6,141 レビュー

by Dale O J

Mar 09, 2018

This is a good introduction to the tools necessary for Data Science. The lectures are comprehensive. Nevertheless, I view online tutorials for Git and GitHub as well as Dr. Leeks book The Elements of Data Analytic Style as being important supplements to the lectures to clarify and amplify the points that Dr. Leek is developing and attempting to impart to the student.

by Mateus S F

May 19, 2020

Video-classes are presented by software voices (with an alternative of using only the text/slides provided by developers), which is a little bit annoying and distances the student from a motivating experience of having an actual professor, an example/model figure to be pursued. The content of the course is complete and well explained by the provided material though.

by KETIREDDY K R

Apr 21, 2020

Course content was too great but that robotic voice i know its still in development but that voice always irritated me and made me distracted .Sometimes i got errors even though i followed the course content exactly the same way you did but it is good to correct the errors on myself.Thank you for this awesome course but i hope you come up with a good robotic voice

by Alessandro V

Apr 18, 2020

I appreciated a lot the program regarding the toolbox, many good references and links are included.

I found a little vague the definition of P-value. I can understand that this was included inside an introductory section, however the criticality of this definition shouldn't be neglected. (I posted a specific comment in the forum of week 4)

Thank you

Alessandro Vasta

by Jonathan K

Jun 08, 2016

A good but brief introduction to a number of useful skills. I learned a lot in a short amount of time but I still have a long way to go. I was somewhat disappointed in the lack of communication with a TA or instructor. The message boards were desolate and could not support any kind of a robust discussion of the conceptual issues involved with data science.

by Débora d C S

Mar 06, 2016

The instructors are great, but I think the content of this course should be embbeded in other module. Despiting being important, the topics covered here are very introductory. I recognizes, though, they are important to align expectation and to put everyone in a minimum ground of knowledge. However, I am not sure if Coursera should charge US$ 29,00 for it.

by Margaret

Oct 04, 2016

It's a good course, but it might be a little too introductory for someone who already has some familiarity with programming (although I hadn't used R, I had other experience with a similar language). So for me, I completed this course much more quickly than I anticipated and was really just very eager to move on to the other courses in the specialization.

by Sam E

Mar 27, 2018

This should give you a feel of data analytics and help you decide if you should proceed with the entire suite of classes. The course itself is not enough. It needs supporting materials and more practice sessions depending on your experience level with computer science. I enjoyed it and recommend it for people with no background in computer science.

by SRINJOY R

May 07, 2020

The lectures are meticulously built for learning perspective. But it would be have been more great if it can be delivered by some faculty in this field. Then i could have understood better. Moreover some real time problem should be given to us so that we can analyze the data and get an experience of how this this course is helping us practically.

by Stuart B

Jun 02, 2020

A limited introduction to R Studio, Github and R Markdown. The "do it all on your own" model of this class worked better than I expected it to. I only had a few points where I thought "There's a defect in this quiz" or "those instructions aren't quite right". How to maintain the quality as it is steadily updated is probably quite a challenge.

by J A

Aug 19, 2016

This course was a great intro to these concepts and helpful guide to getting things set up and getting used to the MOOC format, as well! A few times it seemed like the slides jumped right in while skipping over a bit of context, but was able to orient myself with some googling and asking friends some basic questions to figure things out.

by Jackson B

Apr 10, 2020

Overall, wonderful course - but I would request that you change the signature name on the certificate from "John Doe" to a real professor's name. Having John Doe on the certificate makes it feel inane - I would never show this to somebody with whom I was applying for a job, for example. Other than that, loved the course. No issues.

by MOHAMAD A

Sep 29, 2020

Great course. The only gripe I have with it, is that sometimes the same question is asked during the tests after each module. Also, I got a lower grade because only 2 people graded my work and 1 made an error. I did get half of the points as they averaged, but still. This however is with Coursera I imagine. Definitely recommended!

by Robert S

Jun 10, 2019

If i could redo this course, I would have taken it simultaneously with the introduction to R course. On it's own it feels like a grab bag of information and it felt like I was delaying getting into the meat of things. That said, the information itself is very important and I found myself referring back to the lecture notes often.

by Paulo C M

Oct 31, 2016

Good introduction to basics. A few improvements are warranted:

Lessons could be reordered in a more logical progression, particularly when it comes to Git.

Gitbash is not easy or intuitive. A more structured approach (e.g. with cheat sheets, command glossaries, structure diagrams, debugging algorithms etc) would help assimilate it.

by Luiz F

May 22, 2016

The course is excelent for people who don't know anything about R, Rstudio, RmarkDown, Git, GiHub and other tools. However, for people who already know a little bit of those technologies, they will find it a little repetitive. Anyhow, the classes are awesome for you to get to learn to use those tools. Congratulations to the team.

by UJWAL S S

May 29, 2020

Automated lecture are made using difficult english to understand, it feels like that robot keeps speaking continously without a stop and also the presentations in the videos makes me feel sleepy, if you use facecam that would be better for the learners but not for you i understand that. This course is little far from perfection.

by Sandra V

Sep 21, 2020

The content was clear and easy the first three weeks. But it was confused to me at 4h week and for the final presentation it was a lack of clear instructions, I was so sad because I had many troubles at the moment of commit, push and fork a file, I had to find external help and I thought I couldn't finish succesful the course

by JAVIER D L R A

May 21, 2020

Excellent Course, very simple to understand and concisius. If you wish to learn data science and you dont have any idea about it this this is your course. Only the part of Git I wouldl like to be more explicit, because in one part there is not very clear how we have to create a text file with extension .md using Github. Thanks

by Ross B

Feb 10, 2020

Course was pretty good but the later lecture videos go really fast and are hard to keep up with. The main problem I had was when it covered R markdown it made no mention of having a LaTex program to create the pdf, I had to spend some time figuring out how to install and get one working in order to knit the markdown file.

by Jeff M

Oct 06, 2017

What needs to be made clearer is the need to go looking around the internet for help on the Git to Github work. I can see that one taking some time for students to work thru. On the other hand once students go throw the trouble of doing the research and working with the code/commands a strange thing happens - learning!!

by Cesar A d S P G

Aug 14, 2016

Expectations for simply meeting the baseline learning objectives or to outpoint it aren't exactly clear and there are two monitor strings that are far from being clear (15 minute guide on xyz).

Content and evaluations match in requirements. I learned a lot about softwares and databases in with which I can learn and work.

by Chinmoy C P

Mar 08, 2020

A high level view but very helpful for someone starting their Data Science journey. Good overall coverage of basics that helps in building a gradual understanding of the subject.

The only reason i haven't rated 5 stars is because there were lot of errors that i came across in the automated diction that need correction.

by Muneeb S

Feb 16, 2020

Organization of course was good. Sometimes, I felt that speed of the lecture is fast and I had to reduce the speed to 0.75% to understand important concepts. Improvements can be made in the transalation of text by robot, 'e-g' was being translated to EG instead of for example. Overall the content of the course was good

by Xuan L

Jan 13, 2016

A brief introduction and overview of data science and the specialization from JHU. It provides necessary information and materials for the following courses, but itself does not cover much technique details. Won't take long to accomplish but still necessary if you don't know Git, Github or background of data science.