Chevron Left
The Data Scientist’s Toolbox に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Data Scientist’s Toolbox の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
22,342件の評価
4,502件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
ハイライト
Introductory course
(1056件のレビュー)
Foundational tools
(243件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

AI

Apr 24, 2018

This course was a good intro especially in setting all the necessary software for future courses. I suggest to read the manuals, books and other readings the profs suggest. The resources are helpful.

フィルター:

The Data Scientist’s Toolbox: 3801 - 3825 / 4,373 レビュー

by Louie M

Mar 11, 2018

I noticed that w/in the course video's there were numerous cases of misspelled words and even some incorrect information. Regardless, it didn't prevent me from learning the material, however I would expect more precision from Johns Hopkins. Additionally, the narrator (at times) seemed as if he was getting exhausted/running out of fuel towards the end of each lesson. Some of the instruction isn't exactly clear, i.e. the instructions for installing R, RStudio & Git. Perhaps you all are attempting to make the student engage in some heuristic thinking? When it comes to a class like this, precise and clear instructions are a necessity, especially to novices. Regardless, I look forward to continuing to learn. :-)

by Junjie B

Jan 06, 2016

From the basic layout of the course you would assume it's for beginners since it covers step-by-step instructions to install software and run command on command line window.

But on the other hand, many advanced concepts are slipped in this course without even basic introduction. I remember in one class, "data dredging" is discussed for about 2-3 minutes. But the instructor did not give a brief description about what it is, instead it just goes on about when you do not have clear question in your mind, you would run the risk of data dredging.

I think the course could be organized in a better way. But I do appreciate the instructors' hard work of putting up such a 10-course specialization.

by Greg K

Mar 14, 2020

The content is good, but there are numerous technical problems in the course. Frequently there are references to "copy the code" which is only present in a video frame, so you can't copy it. There are also references to "follow the link" and there is no link to click on. Sometimes you can type it in from the slide, but other times there are no links given. Some of the questions in the self-assessment do not have correct answers. I can verify this by taking the self-assessment multiple times and choosing a different answer each time and never getting it right. Some of the questions are also miscategorized in the wrong lessons self-assessment.

by Ove R

Aug 29, 2018

Candid but respectful comments......

Some of the lecture material seems outdated. What we are seeing is often different than what is being presented. Is your content up to date? Lectures are quite good. When we have a serious technical issue, who can we reach out to for quick assistance? In my case, for some reason when I attempted to download and open R Studio, download was fine, the file executed as expected, but the application was nowhere to be found on my computer. This is not good because I can't begin R pranking without it. I have reached out vendor and am waiting for response. Concerned. Other than that am liking what I see

by Jacqui L

Feb 07, 2017

This course didn't teach me much about Data Science or the different areas to pursue after this introductory course. I probably could have got as much out of it as following the tutorials on GitHub and the new desktop tool. Following the tutorial which was made for windows was also a bit annoying at times. Finally I had to wait weeks to have my assignment marked and there is still conflicting information on the course page - in 'grades' it shows I didn't pass the week 4 task. On other pages it shows I did and earned 41 out of 41 points. However I can't see a confirmation of course completion.

by Anton K

Jun 16, 2019

I don't agree with the order at which this course is introduced to learners. Why do we need to learn CLI and Git at the very beginning? Besides, everything in this course was sort of detached and sketchy. For instance, the intro to the types of analysis (e.g. descriptive, exploratory, inferential, and so on) is not covered well. In my opinion it would be much better to have an intro about the underlying theories and concepts in much more detail rather than learn Git command or learn how to melt and cast data (from Hadley's presentation).

by Jake P

Apr 20, 2019

The lectures are sometimes needlessly long with a lot of superfluous talking. The course would be better with more concrete examples and THE OUTPUT OF EACH INCLUDED. The course explains very simple queries and then asks you to do complex ones in the quizzes when the examples were poorly explained. Khan academy is a much superior course to this one, yet it does not offer a course certification. If this course actually wants to teach people efficiently it should emulate the real-time learning and coding in browser that Khan Academy has.

by Dilyan D

Oct 09, 2016

This course sets the stage for the rest of the Data Science specialisation.

You get a lot of textbooks for free and they cover a lot of material.

The quizzes are a little bit underwhelming, especially the first week. Too few questions, testing some questionable knowledge (eg, what other courses there are in the specialisation -- hardly a required tool in the data scientist's box).

Overall, it's a good preparation for what is to come. It managed to whet my appetite for more , however I'm not sure the course is very useful on its own.

by Chengming X

Aug 14, 2019

I have to say the text to voice translation of the text to video lacks good rythm, sometimes it is not easy to follow all the detial espatially there never is natural pause after some touch ideas or steps to me. As a class of introdution level to layman like me I think it could be better introducing more practical examples to practice, or I would like to see some links to external study materilal, that would make the class experience even better to avoiding frequently searching for troubleshooting.

by Sanket B

Jun 15, 2019

The initial lectures were good . The Git & Github part got me little confusing , a little detailed explanation with live examples would have really helped. The last conceptual part was interesting. Some reading material just to drill down on certain Data science jar-guns would really help though it is understood that best place to find answer to question is google / forums / stack overflow...Still some reading material would really be very helpful to maintain the interest in the course.

by Vicki K

Mar 21, 2016

Basically if you take this course you are paying money to create an account on a website and download some software (both of which you can do for free). The rest of it is a preview of the other courses in the series. The quiz questions don't correspond to the information on the slides. I successfully passed the course, but I didn't really learn anything. Now I am debating on whether or not to continue to the R programming course after reading through the reviews of that course.

by Andrew H

Mar 12, 2017

This is a good, general introduction. A motivated student can run through it very, very quickly. As the first of ten courses, I understand that it is a very general introduction. Still, I think it could be ramped up a bit. Week 2 of the next course - R programming - is kind of a kick in the head if you're not a programmer. I feel like some of the content from R programming could have be included in the toolbox course in order to take advantage of the relatively light load.

by John A

Mar 28, 2016

This should be at most a 1 week course, that is free. Half the course is installing Rstudio and signing up for github. The other half of the course is simply learning what each course down the pipeline is about. Those lectures could just be tacked onto the description of each course and you would get the same thing out of it.

I think this course would be improved by more instruction on what git is and how to use it and maybe going over some fundamental statistical topics.

by Gavi D

Jan 02, 2020

The course was exceptionally planned and executed. One big problem that I had with the course were the automated videos; I can't say for others, but I wasn't at all comfortable with an AI voice teaching me the course content. I don't think I can ever get used to that. I would rather take a course that's 10 years old, 80-90% valid but has a human teaching me the course content. Other than that, I enjoyed the course. Thank you!

by Molly H

May 17, 2017

This course accomplishes what it says it will, but boy is it boring. If you are not already experienced in data science, it also requires a fair amount of imagination to picture what all these tools are actually used for. I would have preferred to have these tutorials integrated with the more substantial courses in the specialization. That way I could see how these tools fit in to an actual project.

by Ilkka N

Jun 02, 2019

The course dealt with basic software issues on getting you ready for Data Science, and discussed briefly more conceptual topics. The contents of this course by no means would take 4 weeks to complete from anyone, so I think the time span to take this course is exaggarated. Still, it is very important course to get you started, if you are complete stranger to R, RStudio, GitHub and R Markdown.

by Allen D

Apr 27, 2017

There is a pretty big jump from the content to actually completing the assignment. The assignments are not well aligned with the swirl learning or the videos. There is no logical process taught about how to move forward if you get stuck. It often means a student is forced to search the internet and hope the answer they find is appropriate so they can write their own code.

by Anushree V P

Oct 25, 2018

The course structure is really good. The content is good too. I found the speed a little too fast. Plus there should have been some small exercises in between before the quiz to make the lesson more interesting and intriguing. Another point that I would like to state is that, the slides could be even better and visually appealing than they are now.

by Jairaj A P

Aug 26, 2019

i felt this course was very disorganized. It introduces terms and concepts not explained before. There was an assignment on creating forks. This process was not in any lecture. Of course, with R and GitHub you can find anything on internet.

The lectures narrated by Amazon Polly is very boring. It also messes up some of the terms.

by Lou O

Jun 21, 2016

It's ok. After the first lesson, I should be able to provide a clear elevator pitch with a high level understanding of what I can expect to accomplish (4 or 5 steps) as a Data Scientist. Instead, there was one slide that touched on this quickly, somewhere in the middle. What are the problems, how do I solve them, give samples.

by Sandro G

Sep 21, 2016

The first course is composed in articulate way that allows a simple and schematic way of comprehension, but some single parts of the first course seem to be lacking of some information, above all to me without previous experience in informatics tools like github. Maybe I suppose to master this tools too long in advance.

by Ashok N

Mar 13, 2019

literally i lossed the feeling of real time learning and it seems like just reading. i really do not like this kind of teaching style. infact direct teaching by the instructors is being a good experience rather than using this kind of technology

i reas all the course content, without listening by recorded speech

by STEVEN V D

Nov 15, 2017

Good introductory course for the specialization.

Video' probably need an update as they're all cut in the end.

Also some more background and a little more extensive lectures would have been nice.

Anyhow, it did the deal: an introduction to R, RStudio, Github and Git.

Curious what the following courses have to offer.

by Nguyen N T

Jan 21, 2020

The course size is pretty small compared to other courses I joined in Coursera. It took me only 3 days to complete the 3 day course. I think all setup guides should be left as assignments for students with some links where we can refer to on our own. Anyway, the course finally convinced me to start using R.

by Mohamed H

Dec 15, 2016

Instructor speaks very fast so that i read subtitles instead of hearing what he say, in addition to i stop video more times to understand what he say, but totally the scientific and technical contents are great also his advises for us in which how we can find the answers for our questions about data science