Chevron Left
The Data Scientist’s Toolbox に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Data Scientist’s Toolbox の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
21,218件の評価
4,235件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
ハイライト
Introductory course
(1056件のレビュー)
Foundational tools
(243件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

AI

Apr 24, 2018

This course was a good intro especially in setting all the necessary software for future courses. I suggest to read the manuals, books and other readings the profs suggest. The resources are helpful.

フィルター:

The Data Scientist’s Toolbox: 3976 - 4000 / 4,103 レビュー

by Julia S

Mar 01, 2017

This is really bad structured. As analogy - imagine a cookbook that says: in chapter 8 you'll learn how to cook pies, but here in introduction let me tell you how to add baking powder in them. It is not useless information it is just very out of place.

Learning some git commands was the most usefull in the course for me. (Though again, why would you first show the commands and just after that explain what's the tool for and where to download it?)

And by the way it takes half a day to cover all 4 weeks material (listened through all videos, installed the tools). Which is not bad, just of other users information)

by Sydney R

Feb 05, 2016

You will learn some command line commands, git, Github, and what you will need for eventually using R.

I was a bit annoyed that this course is a requirement for the Data Science certification (which is what I am after). I already knew everything taught in this course and was a bit annoyed I had to pay for this in order to complete the track. I think 'courses' that are fully setup like this should be opt-in not required.

by Owen I

Nov 16, 2016

Is this entire course going to be watching videos of powerpoint slideshows, wrapped in a rather buggy website?

by Roy H

Jan 17, 2016

Dry videos. Most classes are someone showing how they do something their way, rather than guiding or teaching with the intent to have the student absorb and re-apply principles.

Very difficult for a student to absorb material from this video series

by Raj K P

Nov 14, 2017

showing - doing things live in the video would have been great .. it seemed like explaining a PPT by an instructor. You could have taken one data set and have done all shorts of things and then in the midst thrown some quizzes to student instead of going though all the discussion in one go

by SAI V K

Jun 02, 2016

they made this many courses as they can earn more money.I dont think this course should me taught seperately

by Fan Q

Feb 28, 2016

Useless

by Shawn L

Feb 18, 2016

I think this course could have been done in two 30 minute videos. It jumps in with overviews but contain some high level items you won't understand until later in the course and it really doesn't give enough context to be meaningful at the time. It almost seems like it was thrown together without a clear mission of what should be in the introduction. Being a developer who has used some of the tools in this toolbox (Git, GitHub, Command Line) this intro really glosses over tools that most non developers won't understand. If I had a say in what should be in this intro it would be one video end to end of setting up the tools. The second video would be all about the history and logic and some of the applications we will be exploring without all the r formulas in the slides.

by Markus K

Mar 10, 2016

Way too basic.

by Dennis W

Feb 21, 2016

Very introductory. This material could have been compressed into 1 week.

by Nestor S

Mar 30, 2016

I didn't get much out of it

by Freddie K

Aug 12, 2016

Very shallow overview, not really a full course I'd say.

by Matthew W

Apr 02, 2016

Extremely remedial. Not worth the time or cost on it's own, unfortunately it's required for the specialization.

by Agustin G

Jun 20, 2016

It's an extremely basic introduction... which doesn't help in much for the next session (R Programming)

by Brian B

Apr 11, 2016

Extremely Git centric

by Cándido O M

Oct 02, 2017

Too basic material. I had to watch everything x2 faster to keep my attention. This course is just an overview of the topics that will be explained in the next courses, which could be much shorter in just one lesson or just avoid it. It is only useful to have R and RStudio installed and to introduce you to GitHub if you do not already know it.

I think it would be an improvement if you made the videos longer in order not to repeat yourself. Because sometimes you are constantly reintroducing a topic and never getting to explain much of it.

I hope that the rest of the courses be more direct and easier to keep my attention on, because I really what to learn about this subject!

Thank you

by Lyn S

Aug 10, 2017

Not bad, but certainly not good. I cannot believe there is a style of teaching where you never get to see the best way to do something. I can slog thru the programming, but I doubt it's the best way to do something, but I never get to see how something should have been done.

by Brendan L

Mar 28, 2017

Very basic course, I was able to complete the 4 weeks on content in a weekend. I would recommend skipping this module and moving directly to the R Programming course.

by Lang Y

Oct 25, 2017

Too little content. Can finish the entire course in a few hours. Could be compressed into the first week of a course

by matthieu c

Jun 03, 2017

Absolutely interesting, but a loss of time if someone already knows the basics.

by Matthew C

Jun 30, 2017

Too easy and doesn't really prepare you for the next course.

by Ligeng X

Sep 25, 2018

Waaaaaaaaaaaaay too easy

by Javier R L G

Aug 06, 2018

Too slow!! Why waiting for others to finalize and rate, enter enough dummy exercises so that the student can complete the course much sooner. Thanks.

by Florence C

Nov 08, 2018

I wonder if most of students who took this course would have expected to keep installing software, one after one, and seems never end. For the whole week course, there is nothing related to the course. The worst part is that once I got into trouble to get a software work, I got stuck. I spent hours and hours to search for a solution on the web. However, most of the answers are too technical for me to understand. Although I understand that data scientists have to use some computer programs to assist them to the work done, I don't think that, as a novice, at this stage I need anything like GitHub or git to help me learn the subject. Moreover, I'm not sure if I would be taking another data science course yet.

by Hassan A

Oct 04, 2018

I think it was too long for such content