Chevron Left
The Data Scientist’s Toolbox に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Data Scientist’s Toolbox の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
21,170件の評価
4,225件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
ハイライト
Introductory course
(1056件のレビュー)
Foundational tools
(243件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

AM

Jul 22, 2017

Great Primer for what Data Science is about. It also provides the infrastructure of tools needed. This was what I was after, a way to provide other data scientist hardware and infrastructure support.

フィルター:

The Data Scientist’s Toolbox: 4001 - 4025 / 4,095 レビュー

by Lang Y

Oct 25, 2017

Too little content. Can finish the entire course in a few hours. Could be compressed into the first week of a course

by Brian F

Jun 15, 2017

This course is very basic and takes nowhere near 1 month. I spent about 3 hours in total on it.

by Amir N

Jun 21, 2017

A little bit vague, could use more practice using git and git hub.

by matthieu c

Jun 03, 2017

Absolutely interesting, but a loss of time if someone already knows the basics.

by Matthew C

Jun 30, 2017

Too easy and doesn't really prepare you for the next course.

by Ligeng X

Sep 25, 2018

Waaaaaaaaaaaaay too easy

by Amy-Louise S

Sep 24, 2018

The lectures were very uninspiring for the most part and I felt that my practical understanding was poor. The forums were also not particularly helpful as I saw Moderators mocking students for asking valid questions based on their inexperience with Data Science. I spent most of my time finding better tutorials on YouTube, so really.... I have a certificate but don't owe much of that to the course in question. It only becomes worse as the complexity increases with the rest of the Courses in this Specialization.

by Javier R L G

Aug 06, 2018

Too slow!! Why waiting for others to finalize and rate, enter enough dummy exercises so that the student can complete the course much sooner. Thanks.

by Florence C

Nov 08, 2018

I wonder if most of students who took this course would have expected to keep installing software, one after one, and seems never end. For the whole week course, there is nothing related to the course. The worst part is that once I got into trouble to get a software work, I got stuck. I spent hours and hours to search for a solution on the web. However, most of the answers are too technical for me to understand. Although I understand that data scientists have to use some computer programs to assist them to the work done, I don't think that, as a novice, at this stage I need anything like GitHub or git to help me learn the subject. Moreover, I'm not sure if I would be taking another data science course yet.

by Hassan A

Oct 04, 2018

I think it was too long for such content

by Shyam D

Jun 27, 2019

exercises given don't follow the course line

by Rose G

Jul 11, 2019

Not that interesting, but gives you the basis to install R and git

by Illan W

Jun 05, 2019

Lectures are ridiculously boring, especially without having any video cam component to bring stimulation to the class.

by Eric J S

Aug 06, 2019

Very basic course. Poorly motivated, material presented without an effort to demonstrate why. This is not entirely out of place in this intro course, but it permeates the entire program. Difficulty poorly controlled, projects and quizzes much more advanced than lectures.

by Daniel P

Sep 09, 2019

In my opinion, the content of this course is too basic and little bit of topic for the data scientist specialization. Of course it is useful to be able to use git, shell etc. but I believe that most of the people already know those and the rest of the students can be redirected to relevant study material. All in all, there was about 90 minutes of relevant study in this course.

by Thomas V

Dec 15, 2018

For beginners

by Самойленко К В

Jan 08, 2019

A lot of common information, no real examples. may be OK os introdaction, but for scilled student useless. Bunch of very short videos — I'd prefer to see it as a text tutorial

by Diego V B P

Mar 11, 2019

"You passed this course! Your grade is 100.00%."

I feel like I have not learned much.

Even though I have taken 100%, as you can see above, the course tackles very little programming. And the final project, it asks to do some activities, but when looking at the forum, I saw that what was talked about, had a level of knowledge that the course had not taught. But worst of all, was receiving financial help from 1/9 courses. Would not it be for the whole course? They are complementary. What will I do with 1 certified course, which as you can see my complaint above, I have not learned anything?

by Charlie Z

Apr 08, 2019

Do not take this course if you want to get a job in industry. Python now dominates industry and R is basically obsolete. I will be switching to a course in Python.

by Lia L

Feb 19, 2019

I really don't like the automated videos.

by Ivan Y

Oct 26, 2017

The course contains almost no valuable information. It is not required to spend 4 weeks for it.

by Deleted A

Jun 12, 2017

The first week has one assignment: a five question quiz that reviews the syllabus, course/program design and purpose. As someone with multiple degrees and a PhD significant other - both of us work, and are successful, in data analysis and research. My career is centered around Business Intelligence. I was hoping to engage a program that would help me develop R programming skills and build my skill set. After watching all the videos twice, taking notes, completing almost five hours of online research into the topics that I encountered during my first attempt at the quiz, having my significant other review the topics & questions with me, I still failed to pass the quiz after ten attempts. Hence, a syllabus quiz is my roadblock to moving forward in the program. This is not pride, I am not imagining myself to be a genius who is insulted by this failure. Frankly, no one is stupid enough to have not been able to comprehend a syllabus and course desi

by AUNG K

Dec 02, 2016

Not worth 29$ considering you could take away very little from this course.

by Alexandru B

Feb 01, 2016

Very short and just a basic overview on how to install a few tools that most of them I already had installed. All this course content could be packed into an introductory lesson instead of having to pay for it. I abandoned the specialisation because of this, I know it's a big business but at least you need to offer some value for the money

by Luke S

Jun 04, 2016

Way too basic for the price - almost no content - this is just setup - I resent paying for setup instructions.