Chevron Left
The Data Scientist’s Toolbox に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Data Scientist’s Toolbox の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
22,359件の評価
4,505件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
ハイライト
Foundational tools
(243件のレビュー)
Introductory course
(1056件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

AI

Apr 24, 2018

This course was a good intro especially in setting all the necessary software for future courses. I suggest to read the manuals, books and other readings the profs suggest. The resources are helpful.

フィルター:

The Data Scientist’s Toolbox: 3851 - 3875 / 4,378 レビュー

by Rosina P

Aug 12, 2017

This course stays on the surface and doesn't delve too deep, probably in order to not scare off people who are new to the subject. From what I've seen in the second course, the material becomes a lot more difficult, which I was glad to see.

by Francois B

May 29, 2016

Would have like to jump straight to the material. Although I understand some may need it, the command line course was pretty basic. This course on it's own doesn't give much. One can get started with Programming with R w/o missing too much.

by Richard B

May 26, 2017

Fairly basic course covering the fundamentals, I would suggest to most people to complete this course concurrently with the R programming course or to complete it all in one go, as I personally completed it within a couple of hours or so.

by Tejaswini C

Oct 31, 2017

While this is a good introduction to Data Science and the tools available, it might feel a little too elementary if you have had prior exposure to the subject. The final peer review project could have been a little bit more challenging.

by William L A E G

Mar 29, 2020

It did not meet my expectations. It is more an informative course than a specialization course. They thought they were going to go deeper into the use of statistical programs, they only cover details that you can discover for yourself.

by Robert A

Feb 18, 2016

I have mixed feelings. It was WAY too easy for me, but my wife did it too and it was about right in difficulty for her. But either way, I felt like it just taught you to install stuff rather than actually teaching meaningful material.

by Doug H

Feb 11, 2016

Too easy if you already know anything about github or Rstudio, although I do understand the need for an introductory course. The "Experimental Design" video was the only really useful part and contained quite entertaining examples.

by Joseph Z

Feb 22, 2016

This is a very basic course. If you are already a software engineer you could zoom through this entire course in an evening. If you are not a software engineer and don't know what things like github are, this class could be useful.

by Randy c

Jun 05, 2018

Beginning course in Data Science spent too much time on tools and not enough time on concepts, possible solutions and application. Seems like I spent a lot of time in the weeds of application installation and repositories. humm

by Luis E B P

Feb 07, 2018

I believe that in some of the assingments the student is asked to do a few things that werent taught in the course. And also during one of the quizzes the platform wasn't working propperly, and I had to answere it many times.

by Yufei W

Jun 27, 2018

I don't find the contents about R, git, and GitHub very helpful. They are way too brief and perhaps work better in those specific courses where we have a change to use them. Solely learning some commands is not very effective.

by Cameron J

Jan 19, 2016

Learned a bit but overall it is literally not worth the price of admission. I think that this course could be offered for free and maybe the others are worth paying for. Hope that the rest of the specialization is worthwhile

by Arnab K M

May 26, 2017

Although the course is a good one to get you all set up for the upcoming courses from the Data Science specialization, the content of the course is very less to be considered as a separate course and charged money for.

by chittireddy s r

Mar 08, 2017

Though the course itself is introductory in nature, i wish there was a lecture on what and how exactly are these going to be useful with the help of a real life example and also an increase in the depth of the content.

by Oscar B A

Feb 10, 2016

It is useful to get to know the software that staticians use and some review about them but it doesn't teach you how to use them. A good introductory course for the specialization track but useless as a unique course.

by Shaopeng L

Feb 28, 2016

The overall outline are great. However, the contents and requirements of this course are too simple to be integrated as a whole course. I think 1 lecture should be enough. I am looking forward to deeper introduction.

by Sawyer W

Jun 15, 2017

This course should probably not be it's own course as it can be completed in one afternoon. It might be better suited as the first week of the R-Programming course (to make room maybe move the graphics talk to eda?)

by Deleted A

Apr 05, 2016

The course was fine, but I think it should be offered for free even if someone is doing the data science specialisation track. It is really just teaching you what data science is, and how to install a few programs.

by Chris C

Nov 01, 2018

There has to be a more engaging way of introducing course material. For example, by showing someone actually using these commands in the videos vs. just putting the Git, R commands in a power point bullet format.

by Sergio M

Apr 25, 2017

It's a good introductory course, but it's very basic and I feel that I paid a lot for a very basic experience. I do understand it is the first step in a full specialization but I think it can be more challenging.

by Jeff G

Sep 27, 2016

It is a very basic course to give you high level of what the course is going to cover and the tools that will be used throughout the course. If you have much programming background this course will be a breeze.

by Sebastien M

Sep 04, 2016

Well presented, but this course should be optional in in the specialization. There isn't really enough material to justify it, but it does cover the basics for someone with little to no development experience.

by Ghodratollah A

Mar 13, 2016

With many thanks to the instructors, I expected to learn more. I did not learn as much as a 4-week course in Coursera. Please include more materials and avoid advertising for other topics in the future courses!

by RISHABH G

Jan 21, 2018

The Course is very well designed and anyone who pursues it gets very well acquainted with the applications and tools . But i would like to suggest that this course can be completed in 7 days instead of a month

by Truong X

Jul 20, 2017

The length of the course, in my opinion, is a little bit too long. Actually it took me only 3 days to complete this course and I am not really a brilliant one. So I think maybe may will have the same opinion.