Chevron Left
The Data Scientist’s Toolbox に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Data Scientist’s Toolbox の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
21,025件の評価
4,198件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
ハイライト
Foundational tools
(243件のレビュー)
Introductory course
(1056件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

AM

Jul 22, 2017

Great Primer for what Data Science is about. It also provides the infrastructure of tools needed. This was what I was after, a way to provide other data scientist hardware and infrastructure support.

フィルター:

The Data Scientist’s Toolbox: 3901 - 3925 / 4,067 レビュー

by 潇湘夜雨动清愁

May 07, 2016

the speech is too fast to be catch up with and doesn't have much useful contents

by Patrick B

Jun 30, 2016

Not sure this should be a course that is charged ....

on to the next one now.

by Sem O

May 11, 2016

The course is well structured and provides a good introduction, however, I expected a bit more from a course that costs 20 pounds than just a few clips on how to install and set-up software/create a github account etc. This information is available for free online on the websites of the respective software.

I understand that such an introduction is needed for the course, but then do not offer it as a separate 20 pound module. Instead include it for free with any other 'specialization' you can buy.

by Neil J

Jun 17, 2016

Extraordinarily basic. Entire thing can be done in about two hours.

by Doug E

Jul 28, 2016

Very basic

by Chloe B

Aug 29, 2016

The course is fine, however its more an introduction than a course. The course in itself doesn't teach much, should have been the first week of subsequent courses. I went through all 4 weeks in 1 week, the whole course is mostly about downloading different tools and signing up for accounts.

What I didn't like is that the teachers seem to be really concerned about their reputation and workload. Its repeated several times that you shouldn't email the teachers with questions and that online questions should be of a certain standard, its understandable but its a bit patronizing. I think teachers should be available for questions, even if its only through the forum (which they are) Its understandable that there are a lot of students so direct emails might overwhelm but that's just part of the job, we pay for the course, we should also get support when its not working for us.

Overall I wouldn't advise taking this course if you aren't taking it as part of the specialization.

by Andrew W

Apr 20, 2017

Very, very, very basic intro. The entire 4 weeks could have (and should have) been condensed into 1 week.

by Karan B

Oct 09, 2017

Very average do not feel I learnt much. Still not sure if it's over or not since i've submitted a peer review assignment and cannot go any further.

by Grégoire M

Aug 31, 2017

A little bit too slow and too easy

by Dimitry W

Dec 05, 2017

Somewhat interesting to get an idea of what can be done with Git / Github, but I don't feel prepared to actually use it.

by Yuan L

Nov 12, 2017

Not that useful. There is no need for videos. The content can simply be presented in one single PDF in a time-saving way.

by George C

Jan 13, 2018

I personally think that this course should be better interwoven into the other modules of the data science specialization. It's a quick primer, but aside from that, not very valuable in terms of the information that it's providing. I wouldn't pay $49 to take this course.

by James C

Jan 07, 2018

Very high-level discussion of data science and useful tools.

by Andrew T

Jan 04, 2018

Basic setup of R and Git.

Prefer Treehouse's integrated workshop structure for tasks like these and/or youtube.

by Christopher W P

Feb 09, 2018

VERY basic course, some of the week's assignments were simply installing software for future use...

by Mike J

Jan 26, 2016

Good introduction of what is to come, but nothing too provocative or thought provoking.

by Nayef

Mar 30, 2017

i feel that the course need more explanation .. i got really lost in the begging of the HW

by xuwei l

Sep 22, 2016

a bit too simple to be a paid course

by Francisco G H

Feb 09, 2016

The course is very simple

by Claude R

Mar 05, 2017

A very big difficulty for me, French people who uses to speak english everyday for may work is that :

1) Teachers don't do any effort to speak slower and to articulate

2) As with all other courses I've attended in english, it's impossible to read a transcription, even in english, while reading slides.

Slides are not sufficient by themselves, i.e. without commentary beside. The workaround I've used is to print french translation or english transcription and read it, trying to guess which part suited with which slide ...

For a non-free course, it's not really professional ...

by Josh H

Mar 03, 2018

Not very useful

by Harshini S

Nov 22, 2016

A good intro to the tools required for a Data Scientist. However, could cover the usage of the terminal and Rstudio better.

by Ash

Jul 01, 2017

I do not think it is worth the money as the content is really basic and installation of software can be learnt online.

by Sergey I

Mar 10, 2016

Maybe, I am already somehow experienced, but I think that the time I spent on that was a waste :/

by Raviprakash R S

Feb 14, 2017

This module is just enough material for 1 or 2 lectures with "How to get started" notes..