Chevron Left
The Data Scientist’s Toolbox に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Data Scientist’s Toolbox の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
21,144件の評価
4,217件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
ハイライト
Foundational tools
(243件のレビュー)
Introductory course
(1056件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

AI

Apr 24, 2018

This course was a good intro especially in setting all the necessary software for future courses. I suggest to read the manuals, books and other readings the profs suggest. The resources are helpful.

フィルター:

The Data Scientist’s Toolbox: 3926 - 3950 / 4,087 レビュー

by Francisco G H

Feb 09, 2016

The course is very simple

by Lewis H

May 02, 2016

Sound is too quiet

by Thong K C

Oct 13, 2016

Too simple.

by Nicolas S

May 18, 2017

Not really useful.

by Sergey I

Mar 10, 2016

Maybe, I am already somehow experienced, but I think that the time I spent on that was a waste :/

by Ash

Jul 01, 2017

I do not think it is worth the money as the content is really basic and installation of software can be learnt online.

by Raviprakash R S

Feb 14, 2017

This module is just enough material for 1 or 2 lectures with "How to get started" notes..

by Allan P

Jul 26, 2016

Very basic even for people with no DS background.

Issues with quiz having passed and results showing as failed. Inability to speed up and move on to next module

by Alessandro V

Oct 22, 2016

It is too easy as a "university" course. It is much more like a pratictioner course. The final exam is ridiculous, really too easy.

It can be thought as a week course instead of a four week course.

by Andrew I

Sep 18, 2016

There just wasn't much to this class. It's not bad information, but it could have been done in one week.

by Raj K P

Nov 14, 2017

showing - doing things live in the video would have been great .. it seemed like explaining a PPT by an instructor. You could have taken one data set and have done all shorts of things and then in the midst thrown some quizzes to student instead of going though all the discussion in one go

by Owen I

Nov 16, 2016

Is this entire course going to be watching videos of powerpoint slideshows, wrapped in a rather buggy website?

by SAI V K

Jun 02, 2016

they made this many courses as they can earn more money.I dont think this course should me taught seperately

by Rebecca P

Jun 27, 2016

This course is not very "beginner friendly"

by Roy H

Jan 17, 2016

Dry videos. Most classes are someone showing how they do something their way, rather than guiding or teaching with the intent to have the student absorb and re-apply principles.

Very difficult for a student to absorb material from this video series

by Gustavo M

Dec 30, 2016

Only informative. Not worth it outside the specialization.

by Patrick B

Jun 30, 2016

Not sure this should be a course that is charged ....

on to the next one now.

by Doug E

Jul 28, 2016

Very basic

by Neil J

Jun 17, 2016

Extraordinarily basic. Entire thing can be done in about two hours.

by Adam D

Jun 12, 2017

If you can install R & RStudio and sign up for Github, then you're 80% finished with this course before you start.

by Tarik G

Apr 28, 2018

I can see that the lecturer's intention was giving an overview by mentioning all different topics, however, it just got me confused. I wish it was more into a solo topic. It would be great if it was given only git/github lectures, so we, the students, can be more comfortable when it comes to uploading files in the following courses. I see in the discussion forums that github is a problem for most of the students in the forums.

by Daniel J R

Jun 20, 2018

Not very engaging videos. Superficial introduction to the mechanics of some tools without providing much context. Final submission did not work per video explanation. Need a more engaging presenter. Not quite at the level of Prof. Ng's Machine Learning course which I realy enjoyed and learned a lot from.

by Andrew T

Jan 04, 2018

Basic setup of R and Git.

Prefer Treehouse's integrated workshop structure for tasks like these and/or youtube.

by Tribs S

Sep 08, 2016

I thought this was very very basic

by Chloe B

Aug 29, 2016

The course is fine, however its more an introduction than a course. The course in itself doesn't teach much, should have been the first week of subsequent courses. I went through all 4 weeks in 1 week, the whole course is mostly about downloading different tools and signing up for accounts.

What I didn't like is that the teachers seem to be really concerned about their reputation and workload. Its repeated several times that you shouldn't email the teachers with questions and that online questions should be of a certain standard, its understandable but its a bit patronizing. I think teachers should be available for questions, even if its only through the forum (which they are) Its understandable that there are a lot of students so direct emails might overwhelm but that's just part of the job, we pay for the course, we should also get support when its not working for us.

Overall I wouldn't advise taking this course if you aren't taking it as part of the specialization.