Chevron Left
The Data Scientist’s Toolbox に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Data Scientist’s Toolbox の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
stars
21,572件の評価
4,314件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
ハイライト
Foundational tools
(243件のレビュー)
Introductory course
(1056件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

AI

Apr 24, 2018

This course was a good intro especially in setting all the necessary software for future courses. I suggest to read the manuals, books and other readings the profs suggest. The resources are helpful.

フィルター:

The Data Scientist’s Toolbox: 126 - 150 / 4,188 レビュー

by Sandra N

Aug 22, 2016

This is a fantastic way for individuals to get a leg up if they want a competitive edge in an ever-changing scientific environment. It is important to be able to use certain programs and code to some degree in order to be competitive using today's technology.

by Drew W

Aug 24, 2019

The course was well put together and documented. My only critic is that I would like the lecturer to go over Git and Github more thoroughly as I had to do some extensive outsourcing to be able to figure out how everything worked. Overall, a very good course.

by Saurabh C

Jun 09, 2016

Best in it's Class. Short but so much descriptive with a constant effort to deliver high quality teaching with easy understanding language and concepts!

It's highly recommended to those who are new to Data Science, and want to make their Base strong( like me)

by Rabindra T

Nov 27, 2018

Really nice intro to the set of tools to be used. Step-by-step instructions. It might be useful to have it called out that versions may change, but the basic video instructions will not. There were slight updates that made things look a little different.

by Joe D

Feb 20, 2019

An excellent introduction to r, rstudio, and the basic concepts and functions of github (online version control for personal or collaborative programming projects). Great course, informative videos, lots to do and experiment with, I highly recommend it!

by Rahul G

Jun 24, 2016

Extremely helpful. It was detailed and at the same time brief, made sure I am able to connect with the content and learn in ways that will be useful in career.

Also, the exams and exercises made sure that my concepts are deep rooted into me.

Great Course.

by Ahmed M

Feb 11, 2016

Pretty easy and straight froward, for someone who is already familiar with Programming Editors, and Git shouldn't take 2 hours for him to finish this course including its project, so I guess it's an exciting start for someone who is new for Programming.

by John A R B

Aug 13, 2016

In this course was proposed the outline of the specialisation, showing in a practical and interesting way some of the principal points in the path to be a Data Scientist, I was wondering by the exposition and decide to finish the whole specialisation.

by Jessica M

Nov 05, 2018

This was a very informative course and a good start to the Specialization. The course project I found to be very challenging, only because I am not familiar at all with Git and it took me a long while to figure out the right commands to perform tasks.

by Dev P

Oct 25, 2019

Great introduction into the world of R! I have been completing this alongside the R Programming course and found the two go well together. Interesting to learn about version control and utilising Github, which I am sure will be valuable in the future

by Meihan L

May 16, 2018

4.5/5. For a total beginner of data science, sometimes the lecture is hard to follow so I have to resort to several youtubes videos to complete the project. But the lecture is informative and well-structures, and the forum is very helpful. Thank you!

by Juliana C

Oct 06, 2017

This first course of the specialization is extremely important for people like me who do not know nothing about programming, coding, computer data, etc.

When I completed the course, I was more confident to continue with my idea to start a new career.

by Yash S

Jun 03, 2018

Really intimidating, but very attractive introduction of what lies ahead by portraying a true picture of what you would be involved with as a data scientist in future. Looking forward to the courses ahead in the specialisation. Thanks you so much!!

by Sreenivasreddy R

May 28, 2018

The course is very structured, simple and to the point. We get a very good introduction to all the tools that are used by the data scientist. This module is like a MAP of all the tools that we are going to learn & master to become a data scientist.

by Lakshmi

Oct 17, 2016

It was an interactive session. The introduction to the tools and the examples related to various models were relatable. I am glad to have joined this course. The peer graded assignment is a good option to learn different methods in problem solving.

by ABHISHEK K S

Dec 02, 2018

The course is very good for the begineers I didn't have much knowledge about Data Science but this course gave me some of the basic ideas behind data science which is really helpful .Take this course before enrolling into any data science courses.

by Sumanta K P

Aug 22, 2017

I got an overall idea that what I need to do before jumping into the bigger topics or even starting the real data science course. This is truely very important because people who don't have any idea about this topic needs to get an overview first.

by Melody K S

Jan 20, 2018

I am not sure how to assess, I'm advanced in many cases and gaps in others. GIT is making me crazy b/c I can't see it but logic and flow of hub makes perfect sense due to extensive SAS/STATA coding experience and stats background overall pleased.

by Habiballah S

Jan 30, 2017

Great and very informative ! I strongly advice to anyone who wants to start learning how to manage a data and be involve in data science field. This is an absolute course to become familiar with the essential software and technique to get start!

by Nirav D

Apr 02, 2016

This is the first course in the Data Science Specialization series by Johns Hopkins University taught on Coursera. It introduces all the tools necessary for subsequent courses on data science and gives a driving motivation for the specialization.

by SURJEET K S

Oct 18, 2018

This is the first course in my last few online courses of R where I learnt how to initiate Git and Github and do things in a very formal sequential manner. Very good for people who are not too technical in nature. Simple and easy to understand.

by Ana D

Jun 30, 2017

Nice course, very complete, although being new to it I would have loved a longer lecture on thisas well as a practic examn or something similar with the objective of developing this skills sufficiently for future courses fron the specialization.

by Syed M A T

Jun 28, 2018

I have tried to learn a couple of times but due to busy work schedule i always left in the middle of a course or tutorial. However this course due to its interactive nature kept my attention. Finally i completed my first course in Data Science.

by Pradeep p

Nov 11, 2016

Course Structure is good. I could able to gain the basic knowledge & ideas about tools & questions Data Analysts work with, then could also get practical understanding about the sharing & version control tools.Looking Forward for other Courses.

by John

Apr 22, 2018

This course was a lot of initial set up for the rest of the program. Basically just setting up programs and getting accounts ready for future study. All in all a good start, I expect material and course work will significantly pick up now