Chevron Left
Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos に戻る

IBM Skills Network による Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,762件の評価

コースについて

This course covers some of the first steps in the development of data visualizations using spreadsheets and dashboards. Begin the process of telling a story with your data by creating the many types of charts that are available in spreadsheets like Excel. Explore the different tools of a spreadsheet, such as the important pivot function and the ability to create dashboards and learn how each one has its own unique property to transform your data. Continue to gain valuable experience by becoming familiar with the popular analytics tool - IBM Cognos Analytics - to create interactive dashboards. By completing this course, you will have a basic understanding of using spreadsheets as a data visualization tool. You will gain the ability to effectively create data visualizations, such as charts or graphs, and will begin to see how they play a key role in communicating your data analysis findings. All of this can be accomplished by learning the basics of data analysis with Excel and IBM Cognos Analytics, without having to write any code. By the end of this course you will be able to describe common dashboarding tools used by a data analyst, design and create a dashboard in a cloud platform, and begin to elevate your confidence level in creating intermediate level data visualizations. Throughout this course you will encounter numerous hands-on labs and a final project. With each lab, gain hands-on experience with creating basic and advanced charts, then continue through the course and begin creating dashboards with spreadsheets and IBM Cognos Analytics. You will then end this course by creating a set of data visualizations with IBM Cognos Analytics and creating an interactive dashboard that can be shared with peers, professional communities or prospective employers. This course does not require any prior data analysis, or computer science experience. All you need to get started is basic computer literacy, high school level math, access to a modern web browser such as Chrome or Firefox, the ability to create a Microsoft account to access Excel for the Web, and a basic understanding of Excel spreadsheets....

人気のレビュー

HT

2022年6月5日

It is very constructive and very important course for the future of data analyst career. providing practical handin experience makes it the perfect self starter and motivational course.

Thank you

AO

2021年4月9日

As an aspiring data analyst, this course gave me more information about what I am currently doing and after finishing this course I have learned a lot and gave me more interest to learn more.

フィルター:

Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos: 26 - 50 / 298 レビュー

by NEGUSSIE G

2021年1月26日

Very short instruction for a big software like Cognos. I had to help from other teaching platforms to begin to understand even the basics. Could be much better.

by Bijan A

2021年7月7日

Although the course has a lot to offer, but the outdated videos are hard to follow, because the IBM Cognos has changed some of the interfaces since the videos were created and it makes it very hard to follow as a hands on course to learn. The videos can also dramatically improve, by offering more examples, and also they were recorded like TV commercials, very fast moving on screens which they needed to be more gradual for the students to follow. Unfortunately the support for this course wasn't good at all, either the support personnel didn't have the inadept knowledge of the products specially IBM Cognos, or they refused to provide educational support to help us resolve problems. The support was more like the Uber support rather than the one expected from an organization like IBM.

Before taking this course I was so excited to learn all I could about the IBM Cognos. but I had to learn everything on my own at a very slower pace than I usually do. It is a shame that a course offered as part of a certification program which introduces a powerful tool which is also made by the same company, is butchered so badly .

Please review all the course materials and update them appropriately and hire some professional people with knowledge and patience to properly address the course shortcoming's which are a lot.

by Derek N

2021年5月3日

Nothing more than a hidden advertisement for IBM Cognos, and from what I saw, probably the only way to attract new users to it. Poorly finished product, inability to control critical elements of visualization. No PDF export, just to name one of many many aspects missing or poorly finished. The course work that relates to Cognos is little more than a run though of the 'features'. In the end you will not know how best to prepare your data for Cognos, but you will know how to generate a 1930' dashboard ... Fallout anyone?

by Anthony A

2022年1月31日

Thanks, i will recommend this course for any person who wishes to dive into data analytics. this course is very good, i have a lot on data visualization with both excel and cognos.

by Kyle M

2021年2月2日

It was great to learn how to use an actual program like Cognos! And I really advanced my Excel skills as well.

by ARPINO E

2021年3月15日

Very interesting and useful for the practice parts

by Evgeniya K

2021年2月15日

Great hands on labs. I enjoyed and learned a lot.

by Boo J

2021年2月28日

Extremely useful for beginner in data analytics

by Gonzalo R F

2021年1月20日

Great course and kickstart to amazing tools

by J S S

2021年3月9日

useful course with good content

by Yogi H C

2021年3月15日

Great course for basics

by Rufat S

2021年1月20日

Great Learning Path !

by Nisakorn C

2020年11月14日

very practical

by Mindru D

2021年1月4日

Super course!

by Niroshan G

2021年3月5日

Very Good!

by Paul A

2021年2月5日

Excellent

by Kasi V

2020年10月31日

Thanks

by Yo'Av D

2021年6月24日

Good overall, but of much lesser quality than the first two courses in the Data Analyst certification program.

The Cognos bit was sort of rushed, and even though the labs provided guidance for the How-Tos, the Whys and Whats weren't always clear.

As for the Excel portion, the material was important and useful. However, while I understand why the labs are designed for the Web version, I think there should be greater emphasis on teaching how to accomplish the same tasks using the Desktop version too, because it's hard to say in advance what kind of version learners would proceed to work with. On several tasks, I noticed significant differences between Desktop and Web (I use Office 365), and even on the final assignment, I had to divide the work between the the two versions, because not all features were available to me in one (I first created the charts I need the Desktop version for, and then uploaded the workbook to Web to finish the assignment there with the features I could only use there).

Both Cognos and Excel bits should be updated to reflect current terminology and layouts. On multiple occasions, I found myself looking at something that didn't match the instructions, only to realize that feature had been moved or renamed. As for the peer-assessment, please consider it mandatory for reviewers to leave a comment to explain if they dock points - I'm always happy to give full marks where applicable, but I also leave a comment to explain what was missing if I rate it anything less than the maximum (I had a strange experience with someone docking random points off my assignment with no explanation, forcing me to resubmit and wait for a second opinion, only to then receive an almost-perfect score).

by Hans F B

2020年12月20日

The course provides a good foundation for Excel and Cognos skills. The only problem I encountered was with their support. For half a month, I couldn't access IBM Cognos and other lab instructions and thus couldn't complete the course. The support staff never replied to my concerns. Finally, I figured on my own that, for some reason, my ISP/country was being blocked by the IBM course and that a VPN solved my problem.

by Tanya H

2021年2月16日

I enjoyed the course but really struggled to create a pdf of my final assignment on Cognos Analytics at the end, which left me feeling hugely frustrated.

by Bhavya M

2021年2月22日

A very good course to learn and practice basics of data visualization. Only glitch is I was not able to download data files for some exercises.

by Steve C

2020年11月21日

I think the course should have had more hands-on learning projects, but otherwise good

by Shri H

2020年11月26日

Good course which covers all basics

by Njabulo L M

2021年1月25日

very good course

by Suraj G

2021年1月20日

good course