Chevron Left
Data Science Math Skills に戻る

デューク大学(Duke University) による Data Science Math Skills の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
2,001件の評価
447件のレビュー

コースについて

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

人気のレビュー

AS

Jan 12, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

PS

Jul 23, 2017

This is neat little course to revise math fundamentals. I generally find learning probability a little tricky. This course helped me a lot in better understanding Bayes Theorem. Thank you professors.

フィルター:

Data Science Math Skills: 76 - 100 / 439 レビュー

by David A S J

Jun 18, 2017

Very good course to remember thing about math

by Subramanian N

Aug 20, 2017

This was an excellent review of the basic mathematical concepts useful in data science and machine learning. Thank you very much for the very concise and clear explanations of the various topics! Much appreciated!

by Maya S

Jun 04, 2017

it was a great course for me having left maths for a while and needing it again now

by Nilanjan D

Jul 09, 2017

A great introduction to the basic Mathematics skill needed to start Data Science Career. A must course for does not have the mathematics background required for Data Science.

by Joel R

Mar 11, 2017

great course! it was a nice refresher for me, though I still learned new things as well! thank you!

by Karl W P

Feb 05, 2017

I graduated with a BS in computer science and mathematics 15 years ago. Since then I've been working as a Business Intelligence consultant and I've recently decided to look into the field of Data Science. I was looking for a math class to refresh my math skills rather than start from scratch and this was the perfect course for that. Kudos to Daniel Egger for creating the class. It saved my a lot of time.

by Frank G

May 29, 2017

very nice course, and a good starting point to catch up data science and computer science math-skills. Helps to bring some of those rusty concepts back into memory, and from there you can expand further ...

by Yudong

May 07, 2017

An enlightening course!

by Sidhardh M

Jun 23, 2017

good one

by Venkat N

Oct 04, 2017

Excellent Course. Must-do course for beginners in data science. Great instructors

by Daryna S

Aug 14, 2017

This is a real good and inspirational start in data science education, especially for people, who have some fear of math (like me:)). This course is enough complicate to learn something new, but simultaneously not too hard, so you dont loose motivation for studying.

by Benjamin L

Apr 26, 2017

A tremendously useful primer on the fundamentals of data science math. This course is a particularly good option for individuals who have seen some amount of calculus and algebra but haven't used those methods in a long while and need to review. Thorough, easy-to-understand material.

I would suggest to the course facilitators that they develop the provided lecture notes -- already a useful tool -- into a full-fledged text. I'm not suggesting something much longer than what they already have, but simply taking that document and adding a bit more rich content. While the notes are useful for more carefully studying the math being done in the lectures, even a bit of effort putting some pedagogy into the notes and combining them into a single document (which I did for the sake of printing) would create a hugely valuable resource.

by Blazej

Apr 02, 2017

Very condensed yet accessible material. Great invitation for further, more deep dive studies!

by Alireza G

Aug 27, 2017

I was looking for such a course that particularity covers the Math required for Data Science.

by Hosameldeen S

Jun 12, 2017

To the Point!

by Ahsan B

Jul 26, 2017

Impressive way to explain basic concept. Really a good refresher.

by Shashank K

Oct 05, 2017

The Basics were covered pretty nicely. The instructors had given it their all to explain the concepts. The tests did test you pretty well on the concepts you learnt from the videos

by Georgia P

Jun 03, 2018

Thank you!

by Val

Dec 05, 2017

Clear and straightforward introduction to the key mathematical concepts that underpin statistics and data science. Video companions and practice quizzes complement the lectures in an effective way and prepare the student well for the graded quizzes.

by James T

Apr 02, 2018

Everything I've tried diving into in regards to data science after having been out of school for a while (I'm 34) has been stuff I haven't learned or forgot. This course was perfect. Nothing was too difficult for someone who still remembers basic math and I learned a lot.

by Mahyar

Aug 22, 2017

Good course because it focuses on basic statistical science needed in Data Science. Only issue I had with this course was it was pretty short. Shorter than I thought by looking at the syllabus. Also the agenda is very simple in the first couple of weeks until it gets to the last week.

by Armine

Apr 04, 2018

Everything was great except probability theory. The videos were hard to follow and understand because everything was a kind of mess. Reading materials would be much better for probability section. Overall it was very helpful for me and I am very grateful for this wonderful course!!!

by Vidyasagar V

Jan 26, 2018

right course to brush up on mathematical skills for Data science.

by Mariana E

Apr 08, 2018

Este curso lo recomiendo mucho a quienes estén interesados en refrescar sus conocimientos de matemáticas para pasar a cursos de estadística o data science. Es muy compacto por lo que los temas se tratan de manera concisa, pero realmente se avanza si se invierte el tiempo necesario. Yo estoy interesada en la estadística y mi campo es la lingüística, así que me tocó trabajar muchas horas haciendo cuentas en el papel y en la calculadora, buscando cómo hacer para sacar las distribuciones binomiales y las funciones básicas, pero me pareció al final que he dado grandes avances, me encantan las matemáticas.

by Zhenqing H

Dec 17, 2017

This course gives me the basic conceptions about the mathematics, especially parts about calculus and possibilities, however, if would be great if there are samples or basic practices related with the data science.