Chevron Left
Essential Design Principles for Tableau に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による Essential Design Principles for Tableau の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
1,210件の評価
181件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course, you will analyze and apply essential design principles to your Tableau visualizations. This course assumes you understand the tools within Tableau and have some knowledge of the fundamental concepts of data visualization. You will define and examine the similarities and differences of exploratory and explanatory analysis as well as begin to ask the right questions about what’s needed in a visualization. You will assess how data and design work together, including how to choose the appropriate visual representation for your data, and the difference between effective and ineffective visuals. You will apply effective best practice design principles to your data visualizations and be able to illustrate examples of strategic use of contrast to highlight important elements. You will evaluate pre-attentive attributes and why they are important in visualizations. You will exam the importance of using the "right" amount of color and in the right place and be able to apply design principles to de-clutter your data visualization....

人気のレビュー

VL

Mar 11, 2018

The course uncovers the science of the design for data. It is certainly very helpful for my job where have to present a lot of data in different perspectives for senior management.

NN

May 20, 2019

The course is not only focusing on the Tableau project, but also discussing key notes that need applying to make visualization become more effective. That is great course! Thanks!

フィルター:

Essential Design Principles for Tableau: 151 - 175 / 181 レビュー

by Deaglan D

Sep 02, 2017

This course starts out really strong, but around Design Best Practices, the Govind begins to sound drunk. He slurs, exaggerates, repeats himself, and takes longer than necessary to execute tasks. This is distracting and very disappointing from UC Davis and Coursera.

by Dennis M

Jul 03, 2017

Nice overview of design best practices and some more basic usage of Tableau. However, my problem with the courses in this specialization is that the material is quickly becoming repetitive. Instead of the courses building on each other, they repeat prior material.

by Erin R

Jan 03, 2018

A good course if you're looking at design principles as they apply to any visualization, data specific or otherwise. There is, however, minimal practical applications within Tableau itself. This could easily fit into a graphic design or Excel specialization.

by Shubham A

Apr 27, 2018

Course is great but peer review is horrible. Clearly a professional is needed to review the work in the end. My marks were reduced because peer reviewers couldn't understand how to make visualization effective and show data without any bias.

by Amy D

Jul 01, 2019

The course is very theoretical and provides great articles and for great discussion. I was hoping for more interaction, and I'd also like more video content with fewer introductions. The music gets very annoying.

by Jose D L C

May 03, 2018

While the theories and concepts were good and made sense there was not enough practical content to be able to cement these ideas, meaning there is extra effort on having to retain these concepts.

by Devin

Sep 12, 2019

Instructions for the final assignment should be more specific since I had to resubmit it multiple times before someone left feedback about using the profit ratio to gain full points

by Corey G

Feb 06, 2017

The assignment for week 2 should have been the last assignment in this sequence and was not clearly explained or taught in the videos.

by Lin Y

Aug 18, 2019

This course is alright, straightforward but un-surprising. Need more course material on HOW to use Tableau's functions.

by sebastian s v

Aug 06, 2017

I would like to have more additional material to read..i think the videos are not enougth

by Méliani

May 02, 2017

A littler redundant when you compare it to the previoud courses.

The map part is good.

by Drew O

Feb 06, 2017

This course is only useful if you have no experience visualizing data.

by Laurent B

Feb 20, 2020

I think the course must be more practical and less theoretical.

by Ponciano R

Mar 12, 2019

Good for an introductory course, needs more practice exercises.

by Carlos S

Mar 29, 2018

its still quite basic, not many Tableau training. But i

by Radosław K

Jan 30, 2018

Theory, theory and once again theory ...

by Gail N

Mar 24, 2017

Content is excellent, support is not.

by Nino M

Jun 30, 2019

More practice would be helpful

by LUIS G

Jan 03, 2018

very subjective section.

by Kelly D

Sep 29, 2017

I was initially disappointed by the focus on design principles with a limited emphasis on implementing these principles in Tableau. However, I realized that the structure of this course and its focus on Gestalt Principles and leveraging pre-attentive attributes were valuable. The problem was that each weekly module concludes with a quiz, but there's only one peer graded assignment for the whole class. That assignment includes instructions like "use one of the 9 design principles in a visualization that…". If the course was restructured so that there were a peer graded assignment to build a tableau visualization at the end of each weekly module it would have been much better.

by David S

Jan 07, 2017

No Feedback from quizes, it doesn't even show you what you have answered, makes it very tedious to study the material. I like the questions during the video, that is an addition that ought to be used more often, because it forces you to remember and learn faster.

by Thomas L

Aug 29, 2019

Some concepts were explained poorly (e.g. Gestalt principles, pre-attentive attributes). Peer review was frustrating - easy to fail the week 4 assignment due to the 5-point rating scale for some parts, which invites reviewers to deduct points arbitrarily.

by Jennifer C

Feb 16, 2018

A lot of the material covered in this session was common sense. I also didn't learn any valuable skills that will help me design Tableau dashboards

by Mike M

Aug 02, 2017

The peer graded assignment is far to volatile in this context. It should either be graded binary (done / not done) or done by staff....

by Bryant R

Nov 02, 2017

It feels like the video tutorials were rushed and hard to follow this time.