Chevron Left
Federalism & Decentralization: Evaluating Africa's Track Record に戻る

ライデン大学(Universiteit Leiden) による Federalism & Decentralization: Evaluating Africa's Track Record の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
126件の評価
28件のレビュー

コースについて

In this political science course you will learn about the twin concepts of federalism and decentralization. You will develop an understanding of the core ideas that federalism and decentralization rest on, and study the building blocks that make them both work. Following a general overview of both federalism and decentralization, we will examine a number of case-studies from Africa where federalism and decentralization have been changing the continent’s political landscape in the last twenty years, coinciding with unprecedented levels of economic growth. What is federalism and how is it different from decentralization? What are the core ideas behind these concepts? Do federalism and decentralization enhance democracy, governance and diversity? Is that why virtually all countries south of the Sahara are now either federal or decentralized? We will be looking at Africa's track-record in order to answer these questions. By the end of the course, you will have acquired a general knowledge of federalism/decentralization and additional empirical knowledge of a number of African cases. Upon completion you will also acquire the ability to unpack and understand a variety of potential consequences of federalism/decentralization reforms in the developing world....

人気のレビュー

DL

2020年7月24日

An exellent course which gave me a comprehensive, nuanced insight into devolution of power in African countries. Very well presented, interesting content and very good assignment.

DB

2017年9月1日

I truly enjoyed the course on Federalism and Decentralization: Evaluating Africa's Track Record and a big thank you to the entire team.

フィルター:

Federalism & Decentralization: Evaluating Africa's Track Record: 1 - 25 / 28 レビュー

by Melly H

2017年6月6日

Dr. Jan Erk makes this course so engaging and interesting! He's one of the clearest professors lecture-wise and a great speaker. The concepts are well organized and easy to follow. Thank you for teaching and I look forward to finishing this course as well as others you'll be teaching in the future!

by sixtus u o

2016年5月18日

Very exciting, informing and educative. A great platform to examine if the promises of federalism and decentralization has truely lived up to expectations given the huge challenges of diversity, democracy and good governance in Africa.

by Albertus S

2019年9月17日

Incredibly thorough for a free online course. I learned quite a lot and the use of case studies was very helpful

by Van B K

2016年10月26日

Content wise and pedagogically I found this course extremely valuable. It gives you a nuanced insight into 'federalism' and 'decentralisation'. Particularly valuable are 1. The conscious incorporation of a multi-disciplinary perspective that shows that the actual practice of these political architectures are by no means shaped primarily by their institutional design, but heavily influenced by historical, political, social, economic and cultural factors. 2. The extensive references to the three major cases in Africa, particularly through the reading. Very interesting articles also that draw attention to in-country variations and how recentralisation may occur within federal and decentralised systems. Pedagogically the course is also well set up. Jan Erks is an excellent presenter whose tone of voice, articulation and body language make for effective communication. What on the surface seems to be periodic 'repetition' of key points, in fact is intentionally designed so as to get key messages reinforced. There were only three weaknesses in the course when I did it: 1. The English transcripts should have been checked. They may have been done by volunteers whose input is admirable, but often there are grammatical errors or it was obvious that the transcriber didn't understand/capture what Jan Erks was saying. 2. Four out of the readings, which like the others should have been accessible, actually were not - only if you paid for them, which is not what it should have been. 3. This course now seems to be running on automatic pilot: there was no indication whatsoever that there was anyone making up a support person or support team who was monitoring the discussion forum, where the problem of the inaccessible readings was flagged up in week 2 already. So it wasn't rectified by the end of the course. That is not serious, certainly not for a university with a reputation as that of Leiden. Some attention please, and rapid corrective action!

by Luiza C

2015年11月6日

This has been the most interesting course for me so far on coursera (I have done about 9 so far). The lecturer and the topic were both interesting and presented in a lively and accurate manner especially concerning Africa. No assumptions or stereotypes on the continent or topic were made and I learned a lot.

There ain't many courses here on Africa and this was was so engaging I completed a 7 week course in 1 week, that's how much I actually enjoyed it. The course material is deep and confusing thus a lot of focus is need and this was a course I actually wasn't able to multi-task on because it requires much of a person's attention.

by Pablo A G M

2016年1月20日

Great course and very well explained.

I have decided not to click the maximum puntuation because the course focused on Africa less than I expected. It focuses much more on Federalism and Decentralization, which is good. However, I missed more info about Africa.

Congrats for the interesting course!

by Nancy K

2019年9月15日

This was a very informative course especially for me as Kenyan as we are just getting in to Decentralization as a political management system. I have also gained some valuable knowledge on the workings of Federalism, its origin and the comparative implementation of the system with particular interest with the African states of South Africa, Nigeria and Ethiopia that practice this system.

I can now confidently participate in discussions about these twin concepts. I am also eager to share the gained knowledge with my peers.

This is indeed invaluable!!

by Kelly C O M

2020年7月28日

Excelente curso! Muito interessante e com muito conteúdo, contudo falha ao adotar uma visão muito europeia e ocidental e por vezes, apresenta a África como sendo "inferior" em alguns casos enquanto defende uma visão neoliberal pro continente. Masss, vale a pena!

by Joseph C

2015年10月18日

Interesting subject matter. Very informative and complete. Dr. Erk did a fine job as an instructor. I did have some technical issues, but this is only to be expected in any large, dynamic organization.

by Daniel E Ó L

2020年7月25日

An exellent course which gave me a comprehensive, nuanced insight into devolution of power in African countries. Very well presented, interesting content and very good assignment.

by Dilipsing B

2017年9月2日

I truly enjoyed the course on Federalism and Decentralization: Evaluating Africa's Track Record and a big thank you to the entire team.

by Просянов Г А

2018年4月10日

The course that can help you get the knowledge about federalism and basic knowledge about some african countries.

by MOHAMMED D S

2017年7月18日

Proud to be part of this learning space, looking forward for more of your offerings.

by Conrado T D J

2016年9月25日

Excellent Material for the passionate students of better government in the future!

by JOHN Q

2017年8月11日

Fun course and exceptionally interesting as well. Thanks so much!

by jana b

2017年6月10日

Straightforward and very informative, just what I like in a course!

by Tan Y

2022年3月19日

Very ineresting introduction course for African politics

by Ibrahim K M

2016年2月28日

Very interesting and informative. THANK YOU.

by Ramesh J P G

2016年10月15日

Amazing and insightful course.

by Mahad B

2022年5月22日

very interesting course

by Toumana D

2019年3月25日

nice course

by Daniel H J

2020年1月22日

GREAT

by Vicky

2017年11月16日

Amazing professor! He really has a way to get you into it. The course in itself is also really interesting and the material provided really helps to dwell into all. Thank you! Really enjoyed it and I really recommend it.

by Ebiboderi N O

2017年1月21日

Great course. This course cleared up the confusion i previously experienced concerning the concepts. I will keep recommending the course to friends.

by Daniel D

2017年7月5日

This is wonderful course because this will help me a lot in addressing issues of federalism and decentralization in Nigeria most especially.