Chevron Left
The Language of Design: Form and Meaning に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による The Language of Design: Form and Meaning の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
556件の評価
162件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course, critique is defined as a detailed, objective analysis of a work of graphic design and its effectiveness. Critique is an integral part of the making process for designers: it’s not just how we determine if a work of design is or is not successful, it’s how we move our work forward. Critique is also where other voices and opinions can be brought into the design process. This course will introduce a lexicon (or vocabulary) in order for you to demonstrate clearer and more considered ways of talking about graphic design in the context of critique. Through this lexicon and a provided Critique Framework, we will model and then practice objectively describing how well a work of design functions based on specific, clearly articulated criteria. By refining this skill, you will enhance your ability to communicate about design with peers, colleagues, and clients. This course is essential to anyone looking to develop and refine a critical vocabulary around talking about art and design, such as: - practicing graphic designers at all levels - future and current students of art or design programs - teachers teaching visual art, design, or related subjects - any stakeholder in a design project that needs to communicate effectively with designers on their team. This course is recommended to learners enrolled in either the Graphic Design Specialization or UI/UX Design Specialization on Coursera to further develop their skills in graphic design. You may take this course before, during, or after completing either Specialization. Note this is not an art appreciation course for a general audience. While no prior experience is required to begin, the knowledge and skills taught in this course is useful only if you have some relationship to design in a professional context, i.e., practicing, studying, or teaching design, or working directly with designers. No specific software or tools are required to complete this course....

人気のレビュー

SV
2020年8月25日

Besides trying to find some form and meaning in a design of art, the course also teaches to make meaningful connections when you form and express your own thoughts.

JW
2020年7月5日

Short course that gives a good introduction to analyzing design elements. This will give you the framework and vocabulary to clearly convey points in your analysis,

フィルター:

The Language of Design: Form and Meaning: 126 - 150 / 162 レビュー

by Karin K

2020年10月20日

Overall an excellent course. If I may suggest one improvement... when asking questions about a graphic design work presented inside a module, please ensure that the image is/remains accessible in the reply frame for reference even as a background image. Having to hit the backspace to return to it in order to inspect it and then try to find my place in the video again to answer the question is awkward.

by Jason T F

2020年5月2日

The course provides great insights into developing a focused and informed analysis for reviewing design. As a designer, it generates clarity on how to create good design. As a stakeholder in the design process or consumer of the final output, the course has outlined a critique structure to better understand design work and provide feedback accordingly.

by Vasita J

2020年6月1日

This course introduces an insightful aspect into the world of design and critique. It is very clearly structured and broken down into small stages of learning. The in-video quizzes and weekly quizzes are thought provoking and encourage your critical thinking skills, not just merely recalling information from memory.

by Chi N

2022年1月13日

For me the course is really good and profound. It would be great if the lecture can use more simple words and structure so that I can fully understand what they say, since I am a foreigner, but overall it was a good experience for me.

by Pankhuri B

2019年11月19日

The course has been great in terms of content covered and assignment case studies. I liked the faculty Jasmine's tone however the guy was an annoying distraction. I would recommend this course for anyone in touch with graphic design!

by Mary C

2020年8月6日

Really enjoyed this course, completed all but one optional exercise and am still awaiting notification that I completed this course. Learning the terminology is especially helpful for my job, which entails critiquing visuals.

by Clémence L

2020年5月21日

The course was really thorough and I learned a lot.

The examples given are of interesting pieces of art (although maybe a bit too complicated sometimes) and the assignments given were of appropriate difficulty.

Thank you !

by In-Ho K

2020年9月22日

Overall the course is well designed in terms of broad and depth. However. although the course does not have any prerequisite, it is a little bit challenging for the beginner in graphic design.

by Winfred d R

2021年3月5日

Great course. One thing is annoying... the speed of the male speaker is way too high for me as a non-native English student. I played all video's at 75% speed to understand it correctly.

by vishwanth v

2021年5月20日

This course is perfect for freshers and if u want to recall the basics of design. The examples and explanations provided by the instructors were very lucid and insightful.

by Rohan H

2020年3月28日

During this course i learned the language of design and my perspective to see design changed a bit.

mentors also done a good job.the course is interesting and clear.

by Mahika M

2020年7月1日

It is a good course to build your critiquing skills and be properly able to understand the intention behind certain design decisions, if a bit simplistic.

by Piyathida C

2020年5月13日

I have zero knowledge about design but I want to learn it by myself through this course. Thank you for sharing such an amazing course like this! :)

by Ana B

2020年6月7日

This course is great to learn the fundamentals of design's language. It's general enough to learn how to evaluate design and easy to follow.

by Patrick O

2020年5月4日

Bit more theoretical than I thought. I expected more insight on design patterns but still, it was enjoyable and illuminating nonetheless.

by yegrett

2020年7月5日

I had a wonderful experience while doing this course. got to learn visual designing ideas.

by VJ

2020年6月23日

excellent course,thanks,it help me a lot to improve my communication design work!!

by Abrar P

2020年4月27日

It's not a starter course. But helped me a lot in understanding Design language.

by Simran

2020年7月11日

It's good to have this course it will help you learn design in a better way

by Mahmoud A

2020年5月3日

I gained a lot of experience in this training

so, Thank you very much

by Mariam I

2020年8月6日

Interesting course. definitely not for the beginners.

by Vaidehi

2020年7月1日

i enjoyed doing the course. it very interesting.

by Loveleen G

2020年5月7日

good. it will really help me in future

by Vaibhavi_ A

2020年11月17日

its awasum

by Lyndsaye R R

2021年2月16日

For an entry level course that welcomes beginning designers and non-designers, I feel the examples shown and pieces for critique were difficult for even experienced designers. While I'm glad I took the course to make sure I didn't miss any valuable design information, I was a little disappointed. It says in the course description how this course will help during the design process, but I honestly don't feel that was covered. Because the one instructor at times seemed to be mumbling, the text sometimes did not make sense and it was difficult to take notes.