Chevron Left
The Language of Design: Form and Meaning に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による The Language of Design: Form and Meaning の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
599件の評価

コースについて

In this course, critique is defined as a detailed, objective analysis of a work of graphic design and its effectiveness. Critique is an integral part of the making process for designers: it’s not just how we determine if a work of design is or is not successful, it’s how we move our work forward. Critique is also where other voices and opinions can be brought into the design process. This course will introduce a lexicon (or vocabulary) in order for you to demonstrate clearer and more considered ways of talking about graphic design in the context of critique. Through this lexicon and a provided Critique Framework, we will model and then practice objectively describing how well a work of design functions based on specific, clearly articulated criteria. By refining this skill, you will enhance your ability to communicate about design with peers, colleagues, and clients. This course is essential to anyone looking to develop and refine a critical vocabulary around talking about art and design, such as: - practicing graphic designers at all levels - future and current students of art or design programs - teachers teaching visual art, design, or related subjects - any stakeholder in a design project that needs to communicate effectively with designers on their team. This course is recommended to learners enrolled in either the Graphic Design Specialization or UI/UX Design Specialization on Coursera to further develop their skills in graphic design. You may take this course before, during, or after completing either Specialization. Note this is not an art appreciation course for a general audience. While no prior experience is required to begin, the knowledge and skills taught in this course is useful only if you have some relationship to design in a professional context, i.e., practicing, studying, or teaching design, or working directly with designers. No specific software or tools are required to complete this course....

人気のレビュー

DO

2022年5月19日

It was well structured and every video, quiz and peer review helped the concepts and teachings really sink in. With that being said, I'm definitely going to take the course again and again and again

JW

2020年7月5日

Short course that gives a good introduction to analyzing design elements. This will give you the framework and vocabulary to clearly convey points in your analysis,

フィルター:

The Language of Design: Form and Meaning: 151 - 175 / 176 レビュー

by Mahika M

2020年7月1日

It is a good course to build your critiquing skills and be properly able to understand the intention behind certain design decisions, if a bit simplistic.

by Piyathida C

2020年5月13日

I have zero knowledge about design but I want to learn it by myself through this course. Thank you for sharing such an amazing course like this! :)

by Ana B

2020年6月7日

This course is great to learn the fundamentals of design's language. It's general enough to learn how to evaluate design and easy to follow.

by Patrick O

2020年5月4日

Bit more theoretical than I thought. I expected more insight on design patterns but still, it was enjoyable and illuminating nonetheless.

by yegrett

2020年7月5日

I had a wonderful experience while doing this course. got to learn visual designing ideas.

by VJ

2020年6月23日

excellent course,thanks,it help me a lot to improve my communication design work!!

by Abrar P

2020年4月27日

It's not a starter course. But helped me a lot in understanding Design language.

by Simran

2020年7月11日

It's good to have this course it will help you learn design in a better way

by Mahmoud A

2020年5月3日

I gained a lot of experience in this training

so, Thank you very much

by Mariam I

2020年8月6日

Interesting course. definitely not for the beginners.

by Vaidehi

2020年7月1日

i enjoyed doing the course. it very interesting.

by Loveleen G

2020年5月7日

good. it will really help me in future

by Vaibhavi_ A

2020年11月17日

its awasum

by SONDOS A S

2021年6月8日

the course was very useful and informative, also the teachers were very clear, however the examples given to us were all posters so it would be lovely if the final exam was the same because it was all about rebranding and visual identity, or at least if we had some example about the same subject so that we avoid the confusing.

by Amirhossinhaghy

2021年11月2日

So theoritical and unskillfull. I think its a bad idea to show something like design like somthing like language because I think design is higher than language; its like learning language like math. I hope you get it.

by Seoyun L

2020年9月7日

The information was useful but the presentation was quite 'read' - you could literally see the instructors reading off a prompter of sorts. This made it difficult to concentrate and not that engaging.

by Janice F B

2022年3月25日

The videos, reading lexicon, and practice lessons were easy to follow and was clear, especially with the examples provided.

by Ella G

2020年5月9日

Tries so hard to be objective in the very subjective topic of design. Videos are often unbearable to watch.

by Kaylyn V

2020年6月5日

It simply was not what I was looking for, and it might be what someone else is looking for.

by Livilla L

2021年8月11日

a​ bit boring

by Jack W

2019年10月9日

Even though the course discusses form and meaning in general, it discusses it primarily through the lens of post-modernist art. Form and meaning have existed since primitive art (perhaps in an even more pure form than today. For example, hieroglyphs existed as the union of symbol and meaning/language) but they do not include this at all. Furthermore, they believe that social hierarchies are outdated phenomena, which is completely false. Although the lines of upper and lower class are blurred and the classes are a more abstract concept than "king vs peasant", there is still a clear distinction between upper class and lower class individuals, though it may be harder to grasp exactly what that distinction is.

by Henry Z

2020年8月25日

I can tell the teachers are experts in their field.

But the material, the way the content is given, is void. This is two persons reading a text, there is no material here for future quick references or something. It is boring, and slow.

You are better off reading yourself than listening to them.

by REG-128 G H A K

2020年6月21日

simple and clean easy and quick shoud be there

by Dikshita J

2020年7月28日

I didn't find the course interesting and i was soon bored by the videos. It didn't seem to keep me attentive and even the syllabus is quite great.

by Tori J

2020年4月29日

The changes to the user interface have made this course very difficult to navigate.