Chevron Left
Disaster Preparedness に戻る

ピッツバーグ大学(University of Pittsburgh) による Disaster Preparedness の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,058件の評価
333件のレビュー

コースについて

Have you ever viewed a news report depicting the aftermath of a devastating natural disaster? The damage to human life and property are both staggering and heartbreaking. All parts of the world face the possibility of floods, hurricanes, tornados, fires, landslides, earthquakes, tsunamis, and other natural phenomena. Are you prepared if disaster would strike you? This course will help you prepare! The course is appropriate for any learner who is proactive about developing the core competencies of disaster readiness and survival planning. It is especially useful if you are seeking techniques that can ensure your personal protection, as well as the safety of your family, property, and belongings, during a natural disaster. In addition, it offers essential preparation for a variety of emergency situations and inconveniences, even if you do not live in major tornado, flood, hurricane, tsunami, or earthquake zone. For instance, could you and your loved ones manage without access to potable water, electricity, fuel, and banking facilities? If you are unsure of your ability to respond in any of these possible scenarios, this course is for you! Throughout the course, you will be introduced to the Disaster Cycle, specifically the Mitigation and Recovery phases, and will create an extensive personal preparedness plan for survival in the absence of common amenities, such as food and water, shelter, and communication. You will also acquire practical, easy-to-apply strategies for maintaining a healthy attitude during disaster which can allow you to remain calm, avoid panic, and draw upon inner and outer resources in dire circumstances. Although death may be an inevitable outcome of extreme circumstances, a balanced outlook can provide comfort for all parties involved. Finally, issues of how institutions and governments can aid in disaster are also discussed. If you are interested in this topic you may be interested in other online programs at the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing. Learn more about those programs by visiting our website: http://www.online.pitt.edu/programs/school-of-nursing/...

人気のレビュー

CH
2017年1月30日

Really great course that's paced well. I believe this is a course everyone should and CAN take! These things are important to know especially if you live in an area where disasters are prone.

JL
2020年10月7日

grateful to have this kind of Course in here while having sponsor. Most important course because it teaches the basic surviving skills and safety during disaster. likewise, Safety First!

フィルター:

Disaster Preparedness: 1 - 25 / 332 レビュー

by Michael C

2019年12月30日

This is a pretty good course, and one which I do recommend. I certainly learn a lot of information from it. The only thing that kept me from giving this course 5 Stars is that it contains a peer reviewed assignment in week four, but the peer reviews never seem to get done. The discussion board for week four is nothing more than students begging for someone to peer review their assignment so they can complete the course. This is not the type of course where a peer reviewed assignment works well.

This one criticism aside, the course is very well presented. The instructor is extremely knowledgeable, and you will be better prepared for a disaster after completing "Disaster Preparedness".

by Neal B T

2020年1月15日

Course content was well organized, intentional and practical. I decided on this course because I wanted to additional knowledge on the factors and dynamics of disaster management and preparation, as I look to volunteer with one of the local disaster relief networks in m6 local area. On the other hand, if you’d like to increase your awareness about disaster management on a personal level to keep you and your loved ones safe, this is a great course for that as well, strongly encourage it!

by Emma B

2015年10月5日

Excellent course, logically put together and well presented. It raises multiple issues, some of which we were aware of but had not addressed and others which we had not even considered.

by Christie C P

2020年5月29日

This is an excellent course and a must-to-do for all personnel. The content is well organized and very well presented. This course moves the learner from the fundamentals of preparedness, to designing personal preparedness plans and also introduces to the real mindset that we only face in case of an emergency.

Through this course we are even mentally prepared or at least ready to ask questions on how we will be behaving in an disaster event.

Extremely worthwhile.

by Ngien S K

2020年6月5日

Very useful course. With the frequency of disasters ever increasing around the world, this course can help to increase the preparedness of the course participants in facing disasters, IF the participants really put in their full effort especially in the assignment. The course coordinators were quite helpful in assisting with problems faced during the grading of the assignment.

by Emilson F

2020年5月12日

I enjoyed the challenge and was proud finishing this course, unfortunately for me I couldn't get to certificate without paying the course,it's unfortunate I don't have the finances to pay given I only work a Govt employee in Philippines and due to our local lockdown I'm not earning regularly,I intend to use the certificate for my application for promotion, sadly I can't afford the certificate.im thankful nonetheless for the opportunity to learn and participate.

by Jeffrey P S

2019年9月4日

The online course Disaster Preparedness is a very excellent course . The learning content is very interesting and it was presented by a learning facilitator who is an expert in his field . We are currently experiencing the impact of climate change and the Disaster plan taken at the end of the course is no less than very useful and applicable as a an adaptive measure to protect lives and minimize damage in the event of a disaster. Thank you so much !

by Vivian G

2020年4月28日

Excellent course! Learn, at your own pace, life-saving techniques to protect your self, loved ones, and your home; while also adding skills to apply to every day disaster scenarios for work as a first-responder or disaster relief worker.

I particularly enjoyed the following Coursera features: save notes; read lecture as video plays; and save the quiz to go back to read pertinent material.

by Natasha B

2020年4月10日

Excellent! It was easy to understand. I am a volunteer at the Philadelphia MRC and have been in disaster simulation exercises and have deployed during a few public health disasters. I learn a lot from these experiences.

However, for the survival tips video, I would have preferred having pictures in addition to calling them out. Thank you!

by Premvignesh S A

2020年5月7日

Excellent course.. Really worthy to learn specially for the QHSE, Healthcare Professionals. and in general all to know. how to handle disaster situation. Gained worthy knowledge.

Special Thanks to Pro. Michael Beach & all the Supporting Team members for sharing their knowledge. Thank you Sir!!!

&

Thank you all team members. & colleagues.

by Yogesh G

2017年8月31日

This course is super useful. Many don't get the point of being prepared, others take it to extreme, often useless levels of preparation bordering debilitating paranoia. This course is grounded in reality and gives very useful, actionable tips to being prepared. Prof. Michael Beach is very effective and encouraging. Will recommend.

by Nicholas R R

2020年5月3日

This course is excellent, well presented and necessary in modern society.

I am absolutely thankful for the content, everyone should do this course, it is concise and well thought out. The assignment at the end of the course is relevant and worth the effort to do well as it can be kept for personal implementation afterward.

by Emilio C

2019年3月3日

Practical, targeted course, quite based on US vision, but applicable in many other contexts. Some of the links to external material do not work any longer, it would be great if they could be reviewed. In any case, thank you very much for having compiled this useful knowledge!

by Amit S

2020年5月30日

I learn a lot of new things regarding disaster management, personal preparedness and triage. Thank you Dr Michael Beach for making such interesting MOOC about disaster preparedness. This course is equally important for disaster policy researcher like me. Thank again.

by BERTHIA J N

2019年7月19日

I enjoyed the content of this course. I will recommend it to my friends and neighbours to force/ guide them to prepare their own plans. Many people I know are still 'winging' it, which is not safe. Thank you University of Pittsburgh for making this course possible.

by Justin D

2015年12月3日

The course was very interesting an informative. I feel much more prepared for if an unfortunate scenario is to present itself to me and the family. I'm very glad for this opportunity I received and the knowledge I now possess. Thanks.

-Justin Dougherty Winter Park, FL

by Leagaioalii M

2017年1月31日

Dr. Beach was engaged with students on video. I really enjoyed the interaction with other students globally on the 'Open Forum' portion. MOOCs gave me the opportunity to learn on my time frame. I highly recommend purchasing your certification, you've earned it!

by Dr N N

2019年7月23日

Definitely, it is a great guide line for 'disaster preparedness'. Course is well planned, very informative and interesting too.

Yet, there is scope to improve the course by providing more specific knowledge related to specific disaster.

Thank you.

by Rodney S G

2020年5月26日

It was great, it was part refresher and new information. It great insight into how countries like Japan are rearranging their response model to gain better results, by using lessons learnt to prepare for the next if and when it should happen.

by Christian O P Y

2020年9月9日

The best course with hands-on skills ready for use and application in a disaster situation. Very interactive with key stakeholders representatives sharing their experiences.

by Andrea C

2019年10月31日

Well organized and very well presented. This course takes the learner from the fundamentals of preparedness, to designing personal preparedness plans. Very worthwhile.

by Noel C

2020年4月1日

Great course, really enjoyed it. Lots to learn. Would highly recommend it to anyone who likes to be prepared.

by Nicole W

2020年6月22日

The information is interesting; however, the way in which it is presented is rather dry and boring. There are much better MOOCs out there that illustrate the importance of planning a course to engage the learner. This course fails to do that. In addition in order to complete the class, there is a peer reviewed assignment. It seems some participants will score you low with no explanation even if you follow the rubric. I took this course due to the current issues in the United States. Sadly, I realized that it really is not worth the effort due to the subjective nature of grading.

by Lindsey F

2020年5月1日

I do not trust peer evaluations. My assignment was thoroughly researched, well explained and clearly structured. I utilized EIGHT (8) references and even managed to format my HTML references in MLA style. A peer reviewer gave me 3 and 1 across the board without even bothering to read my assignment.

by Chris B

2016年3月17日

Very baisc, and uninteresting