Chevron Left
Disaster Preparedness に戻る

ピッツバーグ大学(University of Pittsburgh) による Disaster Preparedness の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
616件の評価
205件のレビュー

コースについて

Have you ever viewed a news report depicting the aftermath of a devastating natural disaster? The damage to human life and property are both staggering and heartbreaking. All parts of the world face the possibility of floods, hurricanes, tornados, fires, landslides, earthquakes, tsunamis, and other natural phenomena. Are you prepared if disaster would strike you? This course will help you prepare! The course is appropriate for any learner who is proactive about developing the core competencies of disaster readiness and survival planning. It is especially useful if you are seeking techniques that can ensure your personal protection, as well as the safety of your family, property, and belongings, during a natural disaster. In addition, it offers essential preparation for a variety of emergency situations and inconveniences, even if you do not live in major tornado, flood, hurricane, tsunami, or earthquake zone. For instance, could you and your loved ones manage without access to potable water, electricity, fuel, and banking facilities? If you are unsure of your ability to respond in any of these possible scenarios, this course is for you! Throughout the course, you will be introduced to the Disaster Cycle, specifically the Mitigation and Recovery phases, and will create an extensive personal preparedness plan for survival in the absence of common amenities, such as food and water, shelter, and communication. You will also acquire practical, easy-to-apply strategies for maintaining a healthy attitude during disaster which can allow you to remain calm, avoid panic, and draw upon inner and outer resources in dire circumstances. Although death may be an inevitable outcome of extreme circumstances, a balanced outlook can provide comfort for all parties involved. Finally, issues of how institutions and governments can aid in disaster are also discussed. If you are interested in this topic you may be interested in other online programs at the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing. Learn more about those programs by visiting our website: http://www.online.pitt.edu/programs/school-of-nursing/...

人気のレビュー

CH

Jan 31, 2017

Really great course that's paced well. I believe this is a course everyone should and CAN take! These things are important to know especially if you live in an area where disasters are prone.

EB

Oct 05, 2015

Excellent course, logically put together and well presented. It raises multiple issues, some of which we were aware of but had not addressed and others which we had not even considered.

フィルター:

Disaster Preparedness: 26 - 50 / 207 レビュー

by Theresa W

Oct 11, 2017

Very timely. I am grateful for the opportunity to get some good information on preparedness with out the hype of the WTSHTF ideology. Preparedness should be a common goal for any emergency, or at least the most predictable ones.

by Muhammad I H

May 18, 2020

I think it should add "basic" to the title. So it become Basic of Disaster Preparedness. But the course is really useful since it Disaster is come without any notification before. So we have to ready and stay alert at all time.

by Almaz K

Feb 29, 2016

The course helped me a lot to gain fundamental understanding of emergency preparedness plan, right attitude and awareness of how to act in a disaster. I would recommend this course!

Regards,

Almaz Kassymkulov

Astana, Kazakhstan

by Natalie D

Mar 12, 2020

Learnt so much, also realised that we are fortunate in Cape Town that we are not faced with so many disasters. All the best to you all who experience various disasters and are always prepared for it. God bless

by RITESH G

Oct 11, 2017

Excellent Course. The case studies from Japan are really informative and give a good insight into the Disaster Management System. The modules on Personal Preparedness are a must for everyone in today's time.

by Christina H

Jan 31, 2017

Really great course that's paced well. I believe this is a course everyone should and CAN take! These things are important to know especially if you live in an area where disasters are prone.

by Alfredo P

Dec 20, 2016

Very good course that gives you the basic information about preparedness.

It would be very interesting to know how to take a practical course in disaster preparedness and survival techniques

by Tatiana M

May 18, 2020

very practical in developing your personal preparedness plan, awareness and knowledge of what to do and expect when disasters strike. Excellent pace, thorough and very good resources.

by Alan C R

Dec 06, 2019

Exceptional class, very organized by the Professor and beneficial to those of us in the healthcare space AND for anyone interested in being prepared for local or regional disasters.

by Brett P

Apr 28, 2020

Excellent course for disaster preparedness! I learnt a lot about how to prepare and also what to expect in a disaster. Highly recommend to anyone who wants to be more prepared.

by Adebisi A M

Apr 24, 2020

A very helpful course. It will get you prepared for disaster or any emergency situation. I particularly gained so much from topic on attitude and composure during emergency.

by Jim C

Sep 04, 2015

Very insightful course. The peer-reviewed plan was also incredibly useful, both in the exercise itself and seeing the risks (and mitigation plans) by others. Outstanding!

by Ritik C

May 21, 2020

It is one of the best courses on Coursera.

Michael Beach is a great mentor and he gives the knowledge about Disaster Preparedness in a very easy and demonstrative manner.

by Pamela W

Aug 14, 2015

I loved this course and all the interesting speakers. I learned a great deal and how much I am unprepared for a disaster, I had no idea. Well worth every minute.

by Cheron C

May 03, 2020

I was very happy with the overall course however the knife portion was a little long and didn’t find useful. Hope you would offer a course a large bachelor degree.

by Ichsan N

Apr 23, 2020

By taking this course, I can share my knowledge with the emergency response community and all parents at my child's school about how we should respond to disasters.

by Rajeev C

Feb 02, 2016

Superb course material and presentation by Prof Michael is simply awesome. Thank you so much for providing me an opportunity to learn through this awesome platform.

by Erwin Y A E

May 06, 2020

The course was very helpful, I learned a lot thing things that I can use for my family ang community, learning with University of Pittsburg is fun and enjoyable.

by ASHUTOSH T

Mar 17, 2018

A course offering multiple insights in to family Disaster Preparedness.This course will be extremely helpful in surviving any Disaster situation successfully.

by Lita L

Oct 23, 2017

Great course. Everyone should be required to take this. There are disasters just waiting to happen in all parts of the country and the world. Be Prepared!

by Angela R

May 18, 2020

I graduated from the University of Pittsburgh and wish I had taken this course there.I highly recommend it! Thank you for making this course available.

by Miguel J R D

Jul 10, 2017

Gracias por ofrecerme la oportunidad de aprender junto con Mike a través de la plataforma de Coursera. Espero poder seguir avanzando con vosotros.

by Perumalu K

Nov 17, 2017

Great course thanks to the teachers and coursera for creating this wonderful opportunities to learn l will definitely recommend to my friends.

by PANKAJ P

Mar 25, 2020

Extremwly useful. Many a things which I was completely unaware were explained so easily. Thanks to Mr. Beach and His colleagues..

by Stacy M

May 19, 2016

Very informative, thorough, and interesting! Instructor very knowledgeable and communicable along with excellent guest speakers!