Chevron Left
Discrete Math and Analyzing Social Graphs に戻る

HSE University による Discrete Math and Analyzing Social Graphs の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.4
462件の評価
123件のレビュー

コースについて

The main goal of this online course is to introduce topics in Discrete Mathematics relevant to Data Analysis. We will start with a brief introduction to combinatorics, the branch of mathematics that studies how to count. Basics of this topic are critical for anyone working in Data Analysis or Computer Science. We will illustrate new knowledge, for example, by counting the number of features in data or by estimating the time required for a Python program to run. Next, we will apply our knowledge in combinatorics to study basic Probability Theory. Probability is everywhere in Data Analysis and we will study it in much more details later. Our goals for probability section in this course will be to give initial flavor of this field. Finally, we will study the combinatorial structure that is the most relevant for Data Analysis, namely graphs. Graphs can be found everywhere around us and we will provide you with numerous examples. We will mainly concentrate in this course on the graphs of social networks. We will provide you with relevant notions from the graph theory, illustrate them on the graphs of social networks and will study their basic properties. In the end of the course we will have a project related to social network graphs. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in Python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in Data Analysis, starting from motivated high school students. This Course is part of HSE University Master of Data Science degree program. Learn more about the admission into the program and how your Coursera work can be leveraged if accepted into the program here https://inlnk.ru/rj64e....

人気のレビュー

SS
2020年2月27日

this is a great course i love it and i learned many things like counting , basic of probability graphs\n\nthe first four weeks are amazing the last two weeks was hard to me but possible to solve

LR
2020年3月30日

The course is very understandable and assignments are very interesting and applicable. I love the way Russians teach mathematics, therefore I will continue watching courses from this University.

フィルター:

Discrete Math and Analyzing Social Graphs: 76 - 100 / 127 レビュー

by Kevin M

2021年7月22日

T​his was an excellent course, and all three professors are excellent. The videos and slides and exercises were very well done. I do recommend that the professors speak a bit more slowly, as that would aid in learning.

by Qam R

2021年3月15日

Great course! enjoyed it throughout. video length was very appropriate (mostly under 5 mins) which ensured maximum concentration. Would recommend providing more examples on the graphs part of the course.

by Hichem D

2020年11月11日

a good course rich with useful informations and quizzes to practice, i'm happy with what i've learned but i think the module of graphs needs more time to explain that it could be a course on its on.

by Sameer

2020年9月30日

It uses python 2.x and last assignment instruction were not as clear as they should be in my opinion

as this is complex and when question is not clear it creates a lot confusion and frustration.

by Vasily K

2020年5月20日

First part of the course (Combinatorics) is not so interesting as the others due to not-very-good English of lecturer (sometimes he's not-understandable, sometimes the speach is monotonous).

by Esteban E

2021年11月24日

The course was a little hard at times but the instructor did a good job of explaining all the concepts. I liked how the instructor used various examples to help students understand.

by Nicholas S

2021年3月9日

Challenging and fun course. Some of the questions are phrased rather ambiguously, and feedback is minimal. Nevertheless, the course was fun and I'm looking forward to the next one.

by Fabian d A G

2021年9月30日

T​he course is tough, especially if you are not familiar with math. But with a bit of exploration, you will learn concepts that have a wide range of applications, including DS.

by Ahmed M

2021年3月1日

Everything is perfect except the last assignment. I believe that this assignment is not related to the content of the course and it doesn't serve the purpose of the course.

by Jacqueline G

2021年1月3日

Love the course, the teachers explain very well each lessons, the only reason I gave 4 stars is because is not very clear how to submit the final assessment.

by CHAN K

2020年4月15日

Generally it is a great course but sometimes a new concept is being introduced in a few minutes and it takes time to digest.

by Eduardo A

2020年12月1日

The combinatorics and probability parts were pretty good. The graph stuff was too superficial so it was a bit boring.

by David R

2020年11月23日

A little hard at the end with programming homeworks, but overall is a great course worth the time and efford !!

by Angelo L O S

2021年8月29日

Course is fine, but final assignment requires things which were not covered in it and are hard to find online.

by Somanath K

2020年8月13日

The questions given in assignments and the points discussed in lectures always does not have any resemblance.

by Marc A

2020年12月11日

Fantastic course, gives a very new take on discrete mathematics by explaining it in terms of programming

by Vishvajeet S

2021年5月17日

Some more examples can be given for some topics which were generally orally explained only a bit

by Jorge E A

2021年4月3日

A good course to find resources and keep studying and digging deeper for yourself. I liked it.

by Felix

2020年8月18日

The first and second lecturer is fine. The third one is not so clear in explaining materials.

by Eran S

2020年8月25日

Interesting course on a fascinating subject. I wish questions were a bit more challenging.

by Peter K

2021年10月23日

Some lessons on week 5 are very low quality, not deep diving, but some not clear overview

by Issam B

2020年4月17日

It's a good course. This is my first step in graph theory and that 's so interesting.

by Hanif N

2021年3月19日

You need to know how to code with python. it's not for beginner level in my opinion

by Pratyush S

2021年4月18日

The descriptions of a lot of things could very well be more detailed.

by Deleted A

2020年5月20日

Course was good with hands on experience