Chevron Left
Algorithms for DNA Sequencing に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による Algorithms for DNA Sequencing の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
448件の評価
105件のレビュー

コースについて

We will learn computational methods -- algorithms and data structures -- for analyzing DNA sequencing data. We will learn a little about DNA, genomics, and how DNA sequencing is used. We will use Python to implement key algorithms and data structures and to analyze real genomes and DNA sequencing datasets....

人気のレビュー

VK

Aug 08, 2017

This course provided me a very quick overview of all the core concepts pertaining to DNA sequencing. It is very well organized, crystal clear demonstration of concepts and I really enjoyed the course.

AL

Jul 07, 2019

This is the best course so far in this specialization. I enjoyed the way both instructors explained the concepts using simple analogies. It was a really productive month for me!

フィルター:

Algorithms for DNA Sequencing: 1 - 25 / 102 レビュー

by Cheng J

Nov 12, 2018

The course is very helpful to me,especially the code that the professor assistants wrote in the class. There are some algorithms have mentioned and completed ,but I think if the class talked about the software like BWA, BFAST and other DNA sequence or De novo assembly software, it will be more perfect and helpful. Finally ,thank you for your work

by Stephanie T E

Jan 06, 2019

This course was a really awesome course for anyone that has a light background in Python and wants to look more into bioinformatics. The instructors were very passionate and clear, and there was a good balance between learning about biology and the programming aspect. However, for somebody that only has the programming knowledge from Course 3 of the Genomic Data Science Specialization (Python for Genomic Data Science), that course, I believe, is too light for the new Python concepts taught in this course. I believe that before taking this course, you may need more background knowledge for Python. However, this is still a stellar course that I greatly enjoyed, with the homework and assignments being appropriately challenging.

by Yafremau N

Jan 11, 2019

This is one of the best courses I've seen so far, that explains and showcases main principles, fundamentals of genomics, algorithms. Lectures are very informative and use metaphors for person to understand complex tasks in simple manner. I loved practicals as you could go along with the lecture in parallel, seeing how such algorithms were made and what steps to take while doing so. 5/5

by Carlos M

Mar 22, 2019

Great material, nicely presented.

by Manuel C

Aug 13, 2018

This is more of my area... just starting the first videos and I'm already excited.

by Mohamed E

Aug 24, 2018

this is just so good. i did take a lot of courses online and in my university on bioinformatics and this is the best course design i saw so far. i had to take pauses while watching the lectures to appreciate how much effort the creators of the course put to make it this connected and comprehensive. thank you!

by Omar E

Oct 19, 2018

I loved this course a lot. It's well organized. The lectures are clear. And the practicals are highly useful. Also, the assignments are helpful.

by Yueqi C

Sep 24, 2018

This is a super nice course.

by Joanna W

Aug 31, 2018

This is an excellent course. Lectures are very well prepared, practicals provide step-by-step explanations of the scripts (which is especially useful for people with little coding experience) and homeworks are well thought through, so that they force students to use the knowledge gained in the module. Some of the homeworks are challenging, but all the information needed to do the exercises is provided in lectures and practicals. All the notebooks containing scripts are provided, which makes it easy to take notes and better understand the scripts by running some examples. The way the concepts are explained in the lectures (the computational problem is described in details and then the ways of dealing with it are carefully explained in order of increasing complexity) provides insight into not only how these algorithms work but also why (what is the purpose/cause/reason behind these solutions). I can imagine how much work and thought went into preparation of these lectures and I honestly admire the teachers for their efforts. Taking this course was a great experience: I learned a lot and enjoyed it a lot. A big thank you! Please, keep up the good work.

by Anastassiya Z

Mar 11, 2016

Awesome, you will learn a lot about how DNA assemblers work, but very challenging and time demand in, especially if your background is in life science and not computer science.

by Michael R D

Nov 10, 2016

This was really fun. Really enjoyed the a-ha of the algorithms and the fun of solving the alignment and assembly problems. Feel mildly powerful after assembling a virus genome.

by Matt C

May 03, 2017

Great but too short. I realize that it is hard to know where to start the course from but it is true that the Introductory Course for the Genomics Specialization has a lot of over lapping material. I suggest getting rid of your intro material and go just a little farther in depth.

Thanks, MC

by Ronald C

Jun 29, 2017

well explained

by Gonzalo C S

Nov 14, 2016

Excellent course, not like the first and second one of this specialization.

by Oliver S

Apr 12, 2018

I enjoyed the introduction to some of the algorithms used in genomics... and hope to explore these further in my career.

by George C

Sep 17, 2017

A lot of new information and work to do, really awesome!

by Kasper T K

Nov 27, 2017

This course, is the absolute best course of the entire specialization!

The way the assignments are structured, relative to how well each video explains the contents of each subject, is so fullfilling that very little help is needed to complete homework assignments and quizzes! Small examples are even included, to make it possible to test your solution!!

by Allan T S

Oct 31, 2016

This is a high quality course!

Este é um curso de alta qualidade!

by Antoon L

Jan 11, 2017

Engaging course with a lot of information.

by Tebogo M

Mar 14, 2016

Nice course even for people who don't understand Bio-informatics that well.

by Eduardo A U

Aug 18, 2017

Very good course! You end up with a repertoire of nice algorithms that might be useful in many kinds of genomic analysis. While these are far from the optimal algorithms used by the actual genomic programs, they provide a nice introduction to the subject. It would be very good to have another course for "Advanced algorithms for DNA sequencing" where strategies for dealing with the several complicators of actual genomic data are added on to the knowledge obtained in this course.

by Michael C

Jun 28, 2017

This is hands-down the best course in this specialization. There are good teachers (many of whom are teaching the other courses) and then there are the top 20% excellent teachers (Ben Langmead) who teaches this class. In addition to being an excellent computer scientist, he is also an excellent teacher and he makes the material interesting and approachable. The homework assignments are challenging, but created in such a way that the difficulty lies more in grappling with the concepts themselves, and less with debugging python code or whatever. I highly recommend this course, and hope that Ben will do a "Algorithms: Part Two" covering Burrows-Wheeler and going into more depth, maybe discussing pseudo-alignment as well.

by 李仕廷

Jun 02, 2018

it's really a helpful course, and it would show you the basic algorithms of the software we are using today.

by Julia O

Apr 18, 2017

I really appreciate how much effort the authors have put into the course 'Algorithsms for DNA sequencing'. The clarity of the lectures is absolutely amazing and the assignments are doable. The assignments took me a lot of time because my only programming background is the 'Python for Genomic Data Science' course. Another really positive aspect about this course is that it helped to consolidate the python coding I had learned in the previous course.

by gushengchang

Mar 16, 2016

Very Clear!