Chevron Left
Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS に戻る

デューク大学(Duke University) による Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
6,491件の評価
1,390件のレビュー

コースについて

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

人気のレビュー

IS

Oct 06, 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

JS

Jan 13, 2020

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

フィルター:

Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS: 1276 - 1300 / 1,358 レビュー

by Ashesh s

Oct 08, 2016

lectures should be more detailed!

by Mohammad A A

Oct 31, 2015

its very good for beginners.

by Roman V

Mar 03, 2016

Hard to understand JS part.

by Abhishek S

Sep 09, 2016

Should Make courses audit

by Benjamin V

Nov 05, 2016

work, work, work.

by Dmitry F

Sep 15, 2016

No so good

by abhijat g

Feb 16, 2016

It's ok...

by William S

Dec 29, 2016

not bad

by Doaa S M Y

Jan 30, 2020

Good

by Bob C

Nov 08, 2015

This course is the first course in the Courser's Java Programming specialization, however, it uses JavaScript to teach high level programming concepts. If you want to learn JavaScript, this course is not for you. If you want to learn Java, this course is not for you.

The course mainly solves image manipulation problems with Duke's proprietary JavaScript IDE. All the details are "black boxed" so you can't see what's in the JavaScript functions. I believe this is the wrong way to teach newbies because too much abstraction is never good.

Also, as a man, I was personally offended by Professor Susan Rodger saying she wanted to see more women in programming. More woman means less men and that is sexist. As a supporter of equal opportunity, Duke University should take disciplinary action against Professor Rodger. I will not financially support any University that allows it's faculty to express inappropriate personal ideology in a classroom setting.

I do not recommend this course, or any course with Professor Susan Rodger.

by Ksenia M

Oct 07, 2015

I's not exactly class for the beginners. First half covers HTML and CSS and quite understandable and easy. Although, it might also help that I had class completely on HTML and CSS in the past, so I actually know what to do to write necessary code. The second part is on JavaScript. And here is where problem starts (at least for me). I didn't take JavaScript class in the past and it was all new for me. Professors try to explain it in few lectures 10-15 minutes each and then they expect you to write couple of programs and to make some project from scratch in few days. Sorry, maybe it's just me, but I got to have much more then about an hour of explanation to do so. I would highly recommend anyone who is new to JavaScript to take JavaScript class first and then to start this one. And no, I'm not new to programming.

by Cameron B

Mar 24, 2018

This course could be very useful for extreme beginners trying to wrap their heads around programming in HTML/CSS/JS. It has some decent fundamentals, but it gets way too granular on image manipulation and really lacks in just about every other applicable application you'd like to use HTML/CSS/JS for.

The hosts were actually pretty entertaining and they definitely do a great job of presenting the material that is provided, but it just seems very much lacking in terms of content.

It would have been great to see more topics pertaining to things such as implementing CSS/JS into HTML, using a real IDE, creating navbars, display properties, mixins, using preprocessor tools, etc.

by Peter H

Feb 12, 2016

I was very disappointed in this course which held much promise. Too much of it has to do with the changing of colours. I got bogged down by hex colour requirements and other ancillary requirements. I did not want to learn such things. I wanted to learn the methodologies of programming and how the statements in HTML, CSS and Javascript interact. All of these areas were only touched on in very minor ways and with little learned. I got more out of the books I borrowed from the library in the same timeframe.

by Katherine K

Feb 19, 2018

I had to refer to a lot of other resources to make the jump from the very basic information that was given in the videos to the much more complicated assignments and practice work. I feel as if I am basically gathering knowledge from many other sources to complete the assignments here rather than learning the information here and being given enough explanation to move further with application. There is not enough advanced instruction in this course to do the problem solving that is asked of you.

by Ian T

Nov 29, 2017

I really did not enjoy using CodePen and Duke's portal to complete the assignments. They are unrealistic to use in the real world.

Secondly, HMTL and CSS felt very straightforward. However, Javascript felt like an entirely new world. I think lessons and extra time should be taken to explain the semantics A LOT more slowly and methodically than what was done. I found myself severely confused for the large part of this class in the last 1/3 of the course.

by Gurinder V

Oct 18, 2015

Waaay too basic and simple for a comprehensive principles course. One or two concepts is not enough to gain an understanding. The power behind online learning is that if it takes you three views to understand it all, you have the luxury. Please beef up the videos and the assignments. The assignments had no feedback mechanism so I could easily plow through them without any knowledge of whether I did them right.

by Adrian W

Mar 16, 2018

The focus on image manipulation is confusing and makes code really hard to debug, especially when referencing external sources for functions. Simple text output and arithmetic would be more helpful. The graphics theme seems like a bit of a gimmick. My assignments are all buggy and I can't fix them because the source functions used to generate the images are beyond my skill level.

by Muhmmad F u h

Aug 08, 2016

Speaking of beginner level it is good until you are learning css in it . but as java script starts this course becomes a headache , not because javascript is difficult but they made it difficult . instead of going with basics they teach you to manipulate images . which is not every one's interest field . they should improve their javascript course . other than that it is ok .

by Jennifer B C

Nov 07, 2015

HTML and CSS were GREAT. JavaScript was very confusing as it did not teach me what each part of the code meant, including the syntax --- and hence I was unable to understand anything by Week 4, despite having listened to all the lectures and participated in the all the activities. I wish JavaScript's structure was more consistent with that of HTML and CSS.

by Alina S

Oct 16, 2015

Actually it's rather hard to understand how JavaScript works if you'd never learnt it before this course. And all this comments like "write a programm before start the quiz" hold me up to ridicule, because as a beginner I don't understand logic of writing.

HTML & CSS are simple, so there's no problem here.

by gaurav s

Jan 06, 2016

Very very basic course. Learned about HTML ,CSS in initial classes. Then it was completely JavaScript. But there was no details about how to use JavaScript for web programming. Projects and Quizzes are kind of ok difficulty.

I will recommend this course for the people who are not aware of programming.

by David T

Sep 13, 2016

I'm confused as to why there was so much emphasis on domain knowledge rather than a good, solid foundation of basic principles. I'm also failing to see how much of this is going to be applicable to future installments of this course. As a starter for a Java course I am worried.

by Ko, Y

Apr 20, 2017

The course contents are pretty good, but the suggested time to complete each week's assignment is misleading. I spent on average 2 hours for each assignment that suggested 10 mins to complete. I end up spending way to much time on this course than I planned to.

by Konrad D

Jan 23, 2016

okay for an intro, not the most boring content. It is a bit aweful that the insist on you using their libraries and programming environments. You spend perhaps 20% of your actually practicing coding, and the rest is wasted in libraries you will never use again

by Tanja P

Sep 21, 2016

I really enjoyed the first two weeks. When it came to JavaScript I couldn't follow, so much information was missing and lessons were not clear anymore. I understand that the goal was to teach the most in a short time but this was not the right approach.