Chevron Left
Fundamentals of Music Theory に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Fundamentals of Music Theory の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,014件の評価
279件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will introduce students to the theory of music, providing them with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, meter, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts and, as such, is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike. Follow us on twitter @musictheorymooc #edmusictheory...

人気のレビュー

SS

Aug 23, 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

MM

Apr 12, 2019

As a Buzzok player and a software engineer, this course encourages me to play on my instrument differently and to think in a new web application for music discipline !!\n\nThank you very much

フィルター:

Fundamentals of Music Theory: 251 - 270 / 270 レビュー

by Jose V

Aug 20, 2019

The last part of the recording or video was completely bad. you couldn't understand a word.

Some of the question in the tests were a bit out of the lecture spectrum or at lest they were not take deep enough in order to ask some of the in tests.

by Greg C

Mar 04, 2019

The lectures were entertaining and the lecturers are qualified and competent. However, I feel that they left content out which was needed to pass the quizzes and tests. I spent significant time on the internet researching the topics.

by Vicky V

Jan 27, 2019

It's an upper intermediate course reviewing everything you must know already. I have basics of music theory and had to retry this course twice. I haven't finished yet. I will when I gather more knowledge elsewhere...

by Yi-An L

Jul 03, 2017

A little bit not well organized. If the music and the staff can be demonstrated at the the same time to show the progression of the triad would be better.

by Sunita S

Feb 06, 2018

The assignment at the end was pretty tough to attempt with the content of the course

by Jonah A

Mar 20, 2018

It was difficult for me. This course would be challenging for beginners.

by Michael S

Nov 10, 2016

YOU TURN ME ON

by Malcolm P

Apr 08, 2018

I enjoyed the course and passed although the material was challenging for a novice. The course organisers need to be aware of the following.

(1) The material isn't always presented in a logical sequence. For example students are expected to understand chord inversions and something about cadences before they are introduced properly (in a subsequent week).

(2) Too little emphasis is placed on the more advanced parts of the course, e.g. modulation.

(3) Parts of the course look like they've been lifted straight from university material with little consideration for the MOOC learner (the last video, e.g.).

(4) The final exam covers concepts that were barely touched upon during the course, for example, passing notes, and is very different from anything that learners are subjected to throughout the course.

by Susan K

Sep 27, 2016

This is a very unevenly paced and constructed course - not at all delivered to the standard of the previous Coursera courses I have followed. Some lectures are clear and guide the learner step by step - and then others suddenly assume a level of knowledge and sophistication that is at a significantly higher level and includes concepts that have either not been introduced or have been dealt with in minimal detail. It also ends up focusing more on music analysis than music theory - while there is a relationship between these 2 approaches I did not embark on this course to become an analyst - as a practising musician I wanted to understand more of the concepts behind what I do and hear. Very disappointed - I will now look elsewhere to satisfy my learning.

by David M

May 01, 2017

The information in the videos was very interesting and well presented. I feel like I learned a lot. However, the quizzes and tests seemed to be of a very different level, and often covered material that was hardly discussed in the lectures. I understand that students are expected to do independent learning of material, but the gulf between lectures and test difficulty was extreme. If others were interested in learning about the basics of music theory, I would not recommend this course.

by Julie B

Feb 10, 2020

This course is really unbalanced in terms of difficulty. The first week is aimed at complete beginners, but by the fourth week or so things get much, much harder. I didn't feel like there was adequate explanation or materials for many of the questions on the quizzes at that point. I did manage to finish and pass the course, but the last couple of weeks were really frustrating. I think this material would be better spread out over a longer course, or multiple courses.

by Robert B

Nov 18, 2016

The lack of teacher or teaching assistant participation in the forum discussions is deafening. For an institution like the host institution, this is odd. I liked the course, but it was not very well organized. Seems like it was for experienced musicians, eve though the goals of the course hinted at it being for beginners as well. Good Course, badly organized.

by Gregory C

Nov 02, 2016

This course does not do a good job at teaching the material. The lecture videos gloss over the topics briefly, but do not give a thorough explanation of the core topics of the course. The quizzes will repeatedly test on terms not even remotely mentioned in any of the course materials.

by Oscar

Jan 31, 2020

Its great for those who had a music background to review about music theory , but its definitely not for absolute beginners. This lacks coherent guidance and could cause misunderstanding to those who didnt get a big picture of music theory in advance.

by Tom F

Nov 19, 2016

This was fun as a refresher course. If you're brand new to music theory, this course won't help much unless you spend a lot of extra time learning the concepts using secondary materials, google, youtube, and your own keyboard.

by Iasonas T

Oct 30, 2016

could offer and cover much more subjects.

spend too much time on basics, less on advanced.

could have chosen better music examples.

by Asterios K

Feb 23, 2020

Starts really well, but then there is a huge leap in complexity and difficulty

by Wendy O

Sep 03, 2019

This course is DEFINITELY NOT for beginners as they initially lead you to believe. I took this class to hopefully help my daughter in her high school music theory class if she needed it. I've taken plenty of online classes over the years and this was definitely one of the most difficult!

They really need to let potential students know that a solid background in piano and/or guitar is necessary before tackling this course. Despite the fact that I've been playing flute for over 40 years, and have a dance background, I was very lost throughout this course. There's nobody to explain anything and the final exam (especially part 2) was nearly impossible to complete accurately. It was as if they wanted us to read their minds. I did learn some things but it was not-at-all a pleasant experience.

by Manuel A

Jul 18, 2019

Very disorganized presentation of materials, bad explanations, and the quizzes have wrong/ambiguous answers. I don't recommend this if you want to start learning music theory. Youtube has better offers.

by yousuf t

Jun 27, 2019

FUCKING GARBAGE ASS SCAM