Chevron Left
Fundamentals of Music Theory に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Fundamentals of Music Theory の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,216件の評価
356件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will introduce students to the theory of music, providing them with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, meter, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts and, as such, is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike. Follow us on twitter @musictheorymooc #edmusictheory...

人気のレビュー

SS

Aug 23, 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

KM

May 01, 2020

Its not as easy as it seems, it will give you a good challenge. After you finish this, you will be more confident about your music theory. Thank you University of Edinburgh! Thank you Coursera!

フィルター:

Fundamentals of Music Theory: 326 - 347 / 347 レビュー

by Sunita S

Feb 06, 2018

The assignment at the end was pretty tough to attempt with the content of the course

by Jonah A

Mar 20, 2018

It was difficult for me. This course would be challenging for beginners.

by Michael S

Nov 10, 2016

YOU TURN ME ON

by David H

Jul 12, 2020

If one completed the course the person definitely has learnt a lot. But I haven't completed it. I was looking for a course that really only covers basic terminology and concepts, however, the course covers also intermediate and advanced topics, and the learning curve is steep. It's really challenging and requires at least a simple keyboard for practice and lots of time for self-study by using external materials and sources. This is definitely more effort than I planned to invest.

I managed to pass the first three weeks but really struggled with week 4 and onward. The presentation feels dull and the material taught in the videos and notes often does not cover the exam questions. Many, many details were missing. It would have been better if the pace was slower, the material more in-depth and spread out over time, and the syllabus should be reworked to be really closer to a "fundamentals" course.

by Malcolm P

Apr 08, 2018

I enjoyed the course and passed although the material was challenging for a novice. The course organisers need to be aware of the following.

(1) The material isn't always presented in a logical sequence. For example students are expected to understand chord inversions and something about cadences before they are introduced properly (in a subsequent week).

(2) Too little emphasis is placed on the more advanced parts of the course, e.g. modulation.

(3) Parts of the course look like they've been lifted straight from university material with little consideration for the MOOC learner (the last video, e.g.).

(4) The final exam covers concepts that were barely touched upon during the course, for example, passing notes, and is very different from anything that learners are subjected to throughout the course.

by Tung C T

Jun 15, 2020

The first few weeks were pretty good. However, the last two weeks are too advanced for a "Fundamental" course. Modulations are definitely not beginner territory - even when there was a warning about the difficulty of this section, I still don't think it should be included in the course. The final assignment is also extremely difficult and requires a significant amount of of external reading as many minor but important details were not mentioned. Overall, the syllabus needs to be revised.

by David M

May 01, 2017

The information in the videos was very interesting and well presented. I feel like I learned a lot. However, the quizzes and tests seemed to be of a very different level, and often covered material that was hardly discussed in the lectures. I understand that students are expected to do independent learning of material, but the gulf between lectures and test difficulty was extreme. If others were interested in learning about the basics of music theory, I would not recommend this course.

by Julie B

Feb 10, 2020

This course is really unbalanced in terms of difficulty. The first week is aimed at complete beginners, but by the fourth week or so things get much, much harder. I didn't feel like there was adequate explanation or materials for many of the questions on the quizzes at that point. I did manage to finish and pass the course, but the last couple of weeks were really frustrating. I think this material would be better spread out over a longer course, or multiple courses.

by Robert B

Nov 18, 2016

The lack of teacher or teaching assistant participation in the forum discussions is deafening. For an institution like the host institution, this is odd. I liked the course, but it was not very well organized. Seems like it was for experienced musicians, eve though the goals of the course hinted at it being for beginners as well. Good Course, badly organized.

by Gregory C

Nov 02, 2016

This course does not do a good job at teaching the material. The lecture videos gloss over the topics briefly, but do not give a thorough explanation of the core topics of the course. The quizzes will repeatedly test on terms not even remotely mentioned in any of the course materials.

by Oscar

Jan 31, 2020

Its great for those who had a music background to review about music theory , but its definitely not for absolute beginners. This lacks coherent guidance and could cause misunderstanding to those who didnt get a big picture of music theory in advance.

by Tom F

Nov 19, 2016

This was fun as a refresher course. If you're brand new to music theory, this course won't help much unless you spend a lot of extra time learning the concepts using secondary materials, google, youtube, and your own keyboard.

by Mostafa A

Aug 17, 2020

Very difficult to be a "fundamentals" course. You certainly will need to be acquainted with some of the concepts introduced even in week 1 and 2. Not recommended as a first course.

by Iasonas T

Oct 30, 2016

could offer and cover much more subjects.

spend too much time on basics, less on advanced.

could have chosen better music examples.

by Asterios K

Feb 23, 2020

Starts really well, but then there is a huge leap in complexity and difficulty

by Eloá T G

May 04, 2020

not a begginer course. specially week 3

by Linda R

Jun 15, 2020

Huge disparity between the information provided in the lectures and the difficulty of the quiz at the end of each module. I found the presentation of the lectures good and while they covered the fundamentals they often mentioned! more difficult aspects. However the quiz content seemed to feature more of the difficult aspects than was covered comprehensively in the lectures. I had to avail of the guidance of other music educators on youtube to explain some of the questions on the quiz as when I reviewed the course videos and material I didn't find the answers to my questions. The course videos and material are beginner and the course quiz material is at least intermediate if not advanced.

by karthik

Jul 15, 2020

Not beginner friendly at all. They should not have advertised it as such if it isn' t. I feel bad for people who actually bought the course thinking they can learn something new. Course start out as easy and it's a trap, believe me. first few quizzes are fine but then shit gets crazy.

The entire course was boring but i thought i could survive the boredom for the sake of learning something new. but oh boy i was wrong. this is the only course in Coursera I had to stop halfway through. Youtube has even better content.

by Dr. K N S

Jun 27, 2020

The course is good but the way of teaching and lectures are not delivered in perfect way. Way of teaching makes me blur and it is not a course for the beginners that i could learn the theory of music. The notes what provided are very difficult to understand.

by Luis O

Jul 15, 2020

unas cosas vienen en español y otras no, ¿como puedo responder las preguntas si todas vienen en ingles y yo no hablo ese idioma?

by Mar K

Oct 23, 2020

Terrible course. Poorly taught and zero resources really. very disappointing.