Chevron Left
Fundamentals of Music Theory に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Fundamentals of Music Theory の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
974件の評価
263件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will introduce students to the theory of music, providing them with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, meter, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts and, as such, is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike. Follow us on twitter @musictheorymooc #edmusictheory...

人気のレビュー

SS

Aug 23, 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

MM

Apr 12, 2019

As a Buzzok player and a software engineer, this course encourages me to play on my instrument differently and to think in a new web application for music discipline !!\n\nThank you very much

フィルター:

Fundamentals of Music Theory: 201 - 225 / 254 レビュー

by Jael T

Jun 30, 2017

This course was really good and I learned a lot, but the teachers jumped around a lot and assumed that the students knew a lot of information already. I was able to survive simply because I had studied about a third of the information presented already. It is a very good course, but not complete. More explanations and examples of HOW to do/calculate the concepts presented would be nice.

by Ricardo J

Feb 24, 2018

Great course, the tutors give a clear explanation of the topics. I hope we could have this course available in spanish.

by Judith S

Nov 23, 2016

At the beginning, I thought the course was very good for beginners or people that know how to play an instrument well but would like to know more about the theoretical background.

However, the last two sessions were very hard and there could have been more detailed course material throughout the course and more exercises to make sure the concepts are well-understood by all students.

Nevertheless, the course proved to be very useful and enabled me to analyse a musical piece, which made it worthwhile.

by Stefan O

Sep 05, 2016

Great introduction to music theory. In some sections the layout of the course could be somewhat better.

by David G

Apr 10, 2018

Really helpful for getting a basic grasp of concepts that I've struggled with without really learning in other places. The final exam is somewhat of a departure from the course material though and requires a fair amount of self-learning to complete. But I'm thankful for the free course!

by Megan M

Dec 20, 2016

Very interesting!

by Gabriel G d O

Feb 28, 2018

I could give five stars, but I've ended up with four and I'll explain why. The course is awesome, instructors are great. The problem is the pace. At some point you have to absorb a considerable amount of information in a short period of time. Of course, it's not a reason to avoid the course, but this feedback could be useful for further adjustments reflecting in a better product for all community.

by Chloe A G

Oct 17, 2016

This was a great class, but some of the information could have been more comprehensive, and some of the questions on the tests did not match the information from the lectures.

by Ro

Jan 06, 2018

good.

by Joshua H

Jan 07, 2018

This course moves just a little bit too fast for beginners. I think it needs to be spread out a little bit with further explanations for people who don't understand what they are saying.

by Fiona S

Jul 05, 2017

I think that this is an excellent course and I got a lot out of it. However, at times, I found that the quiz and exam questions were far extended beyond the material covered in the lecture. For example, in lectures, the keys were often limited to C Maj, and A Min, but the quiz questions would be much more difficult extending to keys with many more sharps and flats. It might be that further examples, or lectures could be added to address this.

by Sara S

Mar 06, 2018

I've found this course very helpful to improve my knowledge of music theory. Some teachers are very clear and passionate about what they teach. However I don't think I would recommend this course to those who know nothing about music, I think it is necessary to know at least how to read music. I found the quizzes and the final exam very challenging and difficult but they helped me maybe more than the lessons themselves to get a better view on this subject.

by Yasmine A M

Jul 21, 2017

Wow! The course is very rich! I never knew that music is so complicated.

The professors are really amazing, and they teach us verbal cues to memorize the complicated parts (Every good boy deserves fun!!)

by Xavier T P

Nov 10, 2016

I think it is a really good course, unfortunately too advanced for someone that is just starting to play the recorder and recognises the notes and so on. Also the fact that the notes are ABCDEFG instead of DO.RE.MI.FA... made thinks a little bit confusing for me. I learnt some stuff until 3rd week where started to be quite complicated, 4th week was frustrating. Maybe in the future I'll come back to it.

by pengfei z

Feb 01, 2018

Apart from a steep increase of complexity somewhere around the third week, you still manage to learn a lot through this course.

by Lemuel P

Jun 04, 2017

this course is great

by Răzvan M

Nov 27, 2016

I am absolutely delighted to have had the opportunity to study the fundamentals of music theory from a prestigious university such as The University of Edinburgh for free online. I extend my most sincere gratitude to Coursera and the professors teaching the course for making this possible. The course makes it very easy to build knowledge going from week to week. The assignments are all challenging. In this way this course encourages studying to understand the concepts. I have attended the course as a beginner in music theory, having encountered only some very elementary concepts earlier. I have found all the teachers to be very pleasant and very clear in their explanations. I have given 4 stars to this course because I would have liked to learn more from the professors on some topics which were very briefly mentioned. Some of the courses have external links to Wikipedia instead of a more clear explanation. This are however the exception and not the rule. The majority of the course is well taught and presented.

by Percy Y

Feb 27, 2017

Wonderful

by Ishaan K

Oct 03, 2016

Very informative course. Teaches all the fundamentals till they're painfully obvious. It has helped me understand the skeletal structure of the music I listen to and has helped answer many questions. Thank you.

by Wesley P

Oct 04, 2016

Challenging at times, but doable with effort, and quite rewarding upon success. Recommended.

by Tansel S

Sep 05, 2017

A bit fast but extensive course.

by Gilbert P C

Feb 20, 2017

really helpful, but also tough

by Jan D

Oct 04, 2016

A little bit steep demand curve regarding to what is offered in the lectures.

Well, well... The whole world knows that "they" are a little "thrifty" ;-)

by Anıl Ç

Oct 03, 2016

Generally this course has good subjects and syllabus. In some parts of course they teach reasons of the subjects and it becomes more logical for me. The only reason that I gave four stars is lecture videos are not enough for the final exam. Especially for part 2 of final exam, some questions are more detailed for given lectures. However, it was a good introduction for music theory.

by Dominic M

Sep 04, 2017

Good introduction to music theory.

Final assignment tougher than expected.

You will need to do the extra reading and research.