Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,511件の評価
471件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

BH

Jun 23, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

OP

Aug 15, 2019

Hats off to the professor for being able to explain such mind-boggling concepts about the very nature of existence in an entertaining and intuitive way. One of my favorite courses on Coursera by far!

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 226 - 250 / 462 レビュー

by Oren R

Feb 10, 2018

Very enriching, even to a 12th grade student. Well made, everything was well explained, The instructor was very professional.

by luisa m a

Apr 05, 2018

Excellent to make a sense and appreciate the beauty of this theory

by Nathalie V

Jun 18, 2017

Very interesting, very well explained.

by Jayendra B

Sep 17, 2017

excellent course ...... i thank stanford for making a course like this ! its like my dream to do p.hd in the field of theory of reletivity so this was being like my first step towards my goal.....! thank you.

by Randy G

Feb 14, 2018

Absolutely wonderful course. I am grateful to Mr. Lagerstrom for making haste slowly in his explanations during the lectures. Really helped to cement the concepts and the math into the mind. This course comes with my highest recommendation to anyone who is interested in learning about Special Relativity.

by Daher N

Jan 02, 2018

genreral and complete

by Hugo C P

Feb 26, 2018

Es un gran curso, el profesor tiene una gran experiencia haciendo clases y he aprendido mucho tomando el curso, ayuda que esté el texto en ingles de sus diálogos para traducirlo si hay alguna duda. El curso cumplió todas mis expectativas, felicito al equipo que diagramó y preparó este lindo curso para los amantes de la física y la astronomía. Un abrazo a todo el equipo.

by Deleted A

Oct 05, 2017

Very good course and great teacher, he really does his best to make things easy to understand but still with humor.

by luiz f g

Jul 29, 2017

This is a greate course. Many thanks to all involved in providing such a very well elaborated course, modeling such a complex subject in a "simplified" version that is reachable by many people that would be disencouraged by maths and formulas intrinsic to the subject. Thanks also to Professor LArry by making the course even more entusiastic and attractive by given many examples along it.

by Moya H

Aug 25, 2017

This course is engaging and interesting. The lecturer inspires you to learn and open your mind. The course itself can be hard in areas but if you stick with it, eventually you can work it out. There is a fair bit of algebra (which I never studied at school) but I still made it! I recommend this to anyone who wants to understand time and space and be drawn into the fantastic world of Einstein.

by Julie B

Sep 18, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to do this. The knowledge I have gained is something that I will treasure and will propel me to keep studying and trying to understand our wonderful universe.

by Алексей О

Dec 16, 2017

Awesome!

by Daniel U

Aug 27, 2017

woww love it

by Alfonso L

Dec 26, 2017

Excelent! everything is perefectly well explained and the bases of the Einstein's theory is clear

by Benjamin Z F

Dec 26, 2017

The content and quality of the course is amazing. I am very satisfied with the course director's knowledge, his ability to convey that knowledge and I now have a much better understanding of the Special Theory of Relativity. Five stars!

by Ayman Z

Jan 29, 2018

Perfect in every aspect, Thank you for this excellent course.

by Ali C

May 23, 2017

it is a great course. Thank you!

by Radhika T

Jun 15, 2017

Beautifully explained and extremely engaging!

by saurav b

Jun 11, 2017

EXCELLENT DEMONSTRATION AND A PERFECT COURSE

by Hamna B

Aug 06, 2017

Excellent course!

by Nicolás F C

Sep 01, 2017

This course was exactly what I was looking for to get a good understanding of the Special Theory of Relativity for a non-specialist. The course progression was very good, building new concepts on top of the previous ones. The video lectures were lively and well presented. The difficulty level and the required math skills were exactly what the course description indicated.

I recommend future students to take this course at a steady pace, and to allocate enough time to take notes, to review the concepts and to go back if necessary. Don’t rush through it. It is very useful to try to solve the optional problem sets. The main difficulty is not related with the math, but with the relationship between the equations and the physical phenomena they describe.

I am 100% satisfied with this course. As a matter of fact, I plan to go again through my notes to make my own personal recap of the main concepts and formulas.

Thanks a lot to Professor Lagerstrom!

by Mohammadmehdi Z

Jul 16, 2017

This Course was amazing

by Hrishi S

Nov 21, 2017

great

by Dhananjay S

May 06, 2018

Great place to start the journey into the theory of relativity. Loved the Lectures, the Professor, the layout of the course. Being a Physics student this course seems to run a little slowly in the first few weeks but the detailed explanation of all the basic concepts was very good.

by Sanjukta G

Jul 31, 2017

Being a high school student, this course looked very daunting to me. However, after the dilemma, whether to choose this course or not, when I finally did choose this course, I felt fortunate that I did. Not only am I getting to learn about the special theory of relativity but also skill-set required to excel in any kind of course. Thank you!