Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
2,534件の評価
882件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

AP
2020年8月11日

It was wonderful experience to know the special theory of relativity from Larry, who has presented the course in very simple way to understand. Thanks a lot to Larry for providing such a good session.

JJ
2020年3月21日

Thanks for helping me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, covered a lot of ground but repeated it so it really could sink in. Like your style and want to thank you for your assistance. Thanks

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 276 - 300 / 877 レビュー

by Michal F

2016年12月1日

Great teacher. Clear message. Goes slowly though the material and highlights key concepts few times to make them stay. If someone does not want slow pace can always jump ahead as course structure is well organized and described.

by Maja K

2020年10月20日

Amazing. Thank you so much. Mr Larry Randles Lagerstrom is the best teacher ever. I am not a physicist, but the subject of special relativity has always interested me, and no one has presented it in such a clear way. Thank you.

by Daniel B N

2018年11月28日

O curso é excelente. O conteúdo é muito bem dividido de modo que o aprendizado é gradual e consistente. O professor é bom, consegue dar bons exemplos e contextualiza bem a matéria. O aspecto histórico é extremamente agradável.

by Jenna K

2020年10月31日

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and couldn’t recommend it enough. The lecturer is terrific at explaining complex topics and his Festina Lente approach was highly suitable for teaching this subject matter at a beginner level.

by Raghad M A

2020年2月25日

thank you, Professor! it has been great learning all this from you. i enjoyed the journey. it was marvelous and creative and helped me reflect upon a lot of things i was once curious about as a child and as i was growing up.

by hello h

2017年9月21日

I never thought that studying Theory of Relativity could be so easy-All thanks to Larry for making the course so easy, conceptual at the same time interesting.

Looking forward for your course on General theory of Relativity.

by Tarcisio P

2020年5月24日

I'm a senior engineer, my job is about power electronic. I have always been interested on the Eistein's thought and I thank Coursera and Stanford University for the opportunity to discover the Special Theory of Relativity.

by Edwin P

2018年6月2日

Great course for thoughtful minds .

Awesome lectures from gifted professor.

Great understanding of Einstein and Special theory of relativity .

Mind blowing facts, time dilation and length contraction .

And the weird paradoxes

by Jayesh A

2020年5月31日

The instructor of this is excellent and provides very good insights into the topic which is very difficult for topics like these, which is totally against our intuition. Everyone should take this course in their lifetime.

by Nimish P

2020年7月26日

Very well Taught & Explained by Prof. Larry Lagerstrom. Thank you a lot for this effort to everyone including the Professor, the University & Coursera for such convenient & Flexible method of teaching such complex ideas.

by Jayshil P

2017年5月14日

I think this the best course for beginners who want to learn special relativity qualitatively. This course contains least mathematics. But, then also, you can learn concepts of relativity very easily without mathematics.

by Sarah.S

2021年1月3日

Prof. Lagerstorm is probably the best professor one could wish for, I am 13 and yet was able to understand in depth. His references, and explanation is so simple that it made such complex concepts easily understandable.

by Mathieu L

2020年9月8日

Really nice course, the teacher explains well and his clear. Mathematic aspects are not too difficult to understand. I really enjoyed this course and have a much better understanding of the special Theory of Relativity.

by Daniel S M

2020年10月7日

I am very happy with this course. I am a physicist and I learned too much, I think the best way to learn a theory is in a historical context. I recommend this course. I expect you open the course on general relativity.

by Gayatri P

2021年5月22日

The course was perfect in every way...I'm in 9th grade and I could understand the concept clearly all thanks to the Professor's teaching and the guidance of the mentors who cleared all the doubts!

Thank you once again!

by SACHIN K

2018年4月27日

This course really explained well "The Special Theory Of Relativity". In addition to that you can also learn that how theories develop step by step, measurement. Also I got know a lot of things about Albert Einstein.

by André B

2020年5月24日

The way the course is given, clear and slow paced, makes it easy to understand the topic for someone who hasn't done math for a long time. Which was good for me since I did the course for fun and not career related.

by Roger P

2018年8月16日

This was a great course and Larry Lagerstrom is a wonderful teacher. I would thoroughly recommend this course to anyone interested in Einstein's Special Theory and I'm hoping that Larry will do more physics courses.

by Andrea P

2017年12月20日

The way topics are presented is so fluid (and for the general public) that it is impossible not to follow the roadmap and conclude the course with few but very sound concepts about the special theory of relativity.

by Yves G

2019年3月28日

Thanks to the professor

Larry Randles Lagerstrom for this high quality course. I had exciting moments during class. It is hoped that one day humanity will become a stellar civilization ... Again thank you very much

by Anil

2017年5月25日

This is one of the best course I have a taken in a while. Thank you to the Prof to make this learning experience one of the best so far, Can't imagine anyone else explaining the same material which such clarity!!!

by VJM P

2017年2月5日

This course helped me understanding many concepts of The Special Theory of Relativity. I recommend it particularly to high school students. Thank you very much to the teacher and all that contributed for that job.

by dave c

2021年3月9日

Thanks for keeping it simple. There was a lot of head scratching; but the professor kept going over the issues with great examples. One of the best instructors I have had in 5 years of online courses.

Thanks

by Joe D

2020年7月6日

Great class! My favorite part was the first 3 chapters regarding Einstein's background history. I don't have much of a science background so I did get a little lost later on in the course, but I still enjoyed it!

by Haithem M

2020年4月15日

THANK YOU PROFESSOR for your efforts, your presentation made me want to study all the physics now, I'm not finished with the course yet but I couldn't wait to thank you Coursera team, this website is a blessing !