Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,489件の評価
463件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

BH

Jun 23, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

OP

Aug 15, 2019

Hats off to the professor for being able to explain such mind-boggling concepts about the very nature of existence in an entertaining and intuitive way. One of my favorite courses on Coursera by far!

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 226 - 250 / 454 レビュー

by Leo K

Mar 12, 2017

Excellent introduction to the Special Theory of Relativity: steady pace, lucid explanations and thorough comprehension.

by Matthew G

Aug 23, 2017

This course provides a clear and accessible introduction to a theory that can otherwise be difficult to grasp.

by Affan M

Jun 23, 2017

This is the best course on special relativity for a beginner.

by Michael F

Aug 17, 2017

Great course, I now know the Special Theory of Relativity well enough to teach it to others!

by Richard Q

Jan 10, 2018

Great introduction course. The teaching skills of Prof. Lagerstrom are really great. I studied a long time ago relativity (special and general) and this refreshing course was in some ways better than the one I had at the University. It does not require any high mathematical skills. I particularly appreciate the historical surrounding of the theory clearly highlighting how ideas and theories grow (not at all as usually explained in school). I do hope Prof Lagerstrom will pursue his teaching with general relativity and/or maybe a course on quantum mechanics.

by José J B d M

Nov 20, 2017

It very well explained by profesor Lagerstrom. Congatulations!

by Aman B

Oct 18, 2017

Excellent course which explores every concept of the theory deeply. It is a very interesting experience to see the theory build up little by little from scratch.

The discussions forums are great with active mentors.

I highly recommend it to anyone interested in science and willing to take some time out!

by Élyse L

Apr 04, 2018

Love this. Everything is so clear and extremely well organized, I like the fact that sheets are available to us.

by Bruno M

Apr 01, 2018

Thank you very much to Professor Lagerstrom for sharing his knowledge publicly for the benefit of others. This is a fantastic course for learning the concepts of the special theory of relativity. Highly recommended if you are getting started or getting back into physics.

by Dieter S

Apr 23, 2018

Well structured and explained. The course shows the advantages of a classical board in comparison to showing just slides.

by Benny H

Jun 23, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

by Patrick F

Sep 07, 2017

It is amazing to have access to such an interesting, well taught class through this free app. Prfessor Lagerstrom takes material that is often considered extremely difficult and explains it in such clear and concise terms that it can be understood by just about anyone. The required math is not much beyond basiic algebra and you can come away with a much deeper understanding of the way the universe works as well as a nice look at Einstein as a person.

by Yugesh B

Dec 05, 2017

Thank you Coursera for providing such a excellent course with such a master prof. from such a prestigious university.

by Vishal V

Jul 22, 2017

I like this course and i learn something new and very weird things about universe. I also thankful to Prof. Larry Lagerstrom, and Stanford University to provide such valuable knowledge and also thankful to coursera to provide such platform for learning.

by saadhvik a

Oct 07, 2017

The course was an enriching experience that truly ennobled me!

by Tomo V

Nov 01, 2017

Excellent!

by Samiha T

Dec 25, 2017

This course was truly amazing and everything here was taught in a way that students can easily understand. I earnestly request Larry, sir to compile a course on general theory of relativity

by Rady M R

Jun 19, 2017

This course is excellent, Improve the critical thinking and the understanding to the basic concepts of the relativity and it's philosophy.

by Jared F

Sep 15, 2017

Until I took this thoughtful, extremely well organized course, I could not get my head around many of the weird concepts in Einstein's Special Theory of Relativity, no matter how much I read about it. Prof. Lagerstrom is to be congratulated for the very excellent, logical manner in which he has taught this course. I would highly recommend this course to anyone seeking a great mental challenge and scientific curiosity.

by Baha A

Jul 30, 2017

Simply awesome!

by Francois L

Oct 23, 2017

I really enjoyed the quality and pace of this course. The weekly pace was reasonable for someone like me taking this course out of personal interest and doing so after work in the evening. The quality of the video courses was excellent but I understand that this is tied to the individual quality of the professor. Support materials (notes and problem sets) were very helpful to complement the videos. I like the structure of the course and the tool itself which I ran conveniently from my tablet. Overall great experience and looking forward to my next course.

by Aman N

Oct 13, 2017

best course👌

by muhamed n a

Sep 18, 2017

great course and great instructor i deeply understood the special theory of relativity

1- very well organized , from simple to complex gradually

2-detailed

3 -persuasive , full of examples and logic arguments

4- clear effort and patience of this great lecturer

3- gradual

by Daniel M P

Nov 03, 2017

Amazing experience

by Carlos G

Apr 02, 2018

A very thorough and complete explanation of the Special Relativity theory. Finally a really good pedagogical approach is used to explain to plain people like me concepts that are proven for more than a century but still a mystery for most. Having very important scientific concepts explained to our society can mitigate the terrible challenges we shall confront in the coming decades.

Thank you very much to Stanford University and specially to Dr Lagerstrom.