Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,971件の評価
654件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

SS

Dec 09, 2019

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

BH

Jun 23, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 276 - 300 / 643 レビュー

by Ilias T

Apr 28, 2017

Great course!

Mr. Lagerstrom thank you very much for giving us your insight about Special Theory of relativity and more generally for your learning initiative !

by Kunal L

Jan 16, 2018

A great course for beginners. While it does not cover a large number of topics, the ones it does, it tries to do slowly, thoroughly and with clarity of thought.

by Venkataraman K

Dec 29, 2016

Very methodical & lucid way of explaining the concepts. Understanding of Special Theory of Relativity made relatively easy, pun intended! Thank you Professor...

by Nisnat C

Sep 01, 2019

It was a great experience to learn such fascinating things in such a beautiful way, I believe it increased my eagerness even more towards this beautiful topic.

by Sivasankaran

Jun 23, 2017

Fully Packed with knowledge !!. Best Course for First year students in physics and general people who are interested in physics and with no background in math.

by Pablo P

Jul 31, 2020

Very formative for those without mathematic knowledge. It addresses the key concepts of special relativity at a very reasonable and undemanding pace. Thanks!

by Thomas H

Nov 27, 2017

It is a great course for anyone who wants not only to learn the theory but to understand it and how it's creator Albert Einstein came to these discoveries.

by Dr. M U

Feb 26, 2019

Best course to understand the basis of the Special Theory of Relativity, mainly for such guys who mean to understand this theory only by using mathematics.

by Stéphen F

Jun 18, 2020

Very pedagogic course on a fascinating subject that is not well understood by non-physicists, even though it is considered as scientific general knowledge

by Kaustubh R G

Oct 21, 2018

Thoroughly planned and thought-out course. excellent presentation, no technical issues; has a strong impact on the mind. wonderful course in all respects.

by Mindy

Dec 04, 2017

An invigorating course that provides foundational understanding of the core concepts and theories in physics and Einstein's ingenuity. Highly recommended.

by Ankush K P

Apr 24, 2020

good course and based on the simplification of the course anyone with physics background join and learn the concept of the special theory of relativity.

by Atharva A

Mar 28, 2020

An amazing course for the Astrophiles and curious physics enthusiasts . The course is very well organized and its easy to learn . A great experience .

by 徐致远

Jul 25, 2017

The course is great !

Thank you very much for you effort !

It is genuine the best explanation about special theory of relativity I've ever learn about !

by Vijay T

May 26, 2019

Great course. Totally appreciate the time and effort (and patience) by Professor to help me have a solid foundation on special theory of relativity

by Fethi O Ö

Jul 12, 2017

Good course, for to learn, imaging,considering,observing and measuring.Especially examples are very interesting.Like clocks,spaceships,light beams.

by miguelico

May 25, 2020

Superb. Professor Lagerstrom masters the topic and knows how to make easy a subject that apparently isn't. Thank you for sharing your knowledge :)

by Michał R

Jan 24, 2020

This course is just amazing! I wish I had that kind of teacher in school as Prof. Lagerstrom. I'll be coming back to this lectures. Pure pleasure!

by Vishal J

Aug 21, 2019

Brilliant course. It is taught in such a manner as to really get a feel for relativity and to understand the core principles. Highly recommended.

by Kenneth K

Feb 21, 2020

This was a great course. It was informative (I had several "a-ha moments") and enjoyable. Professor Lagerstrom is truly and educator. Well done.

by Carlos M

Sep 29, 2017

Excellent experience and the Professor is an excellent teacher by showing all these concepts in a way that is really easy to understand them.

by sueg

Dec 21, 2016

This course is really brilliant, Professor Lagerstrom ( I hope I have spelt the name correctly ) really knows the subject, a superb lecturer.

by Joseph Q J

Apr 18, 2019

Dr Lagerstrom is terrific.

WhileI had to watch 2 lectures a second time, I found the course materials and lectures to be clear and precise.

by Mohana A

Oct 07, 2018

Awesome course, well explained. Helps get a good understanding of the basics along with the mathematics behind special theory of Relativity.

by Joost d G

Sep 07, 2017

This course could not have been given better. It explained the concepts of the special theory of relativity in a concise though complete way