Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
2,183件の評価
742件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

SS
2019年12月8日

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

BH
2017年6月22日

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 351 - 375 / 728 レビュー

by aida t

2020年7月22日

Thank you so much for this wonderful opportunity, looking forward for more courses hopefully General Relativity from the same instructor.

by Abdessamad M

2019年5月10日

Excellent course. it explained the theory in a comprehensive way and shed light on many dark corners of this science. It helped me a lot.

by Michael F

2018年1月22日

Simply OUTSTANDING! Well designed, clear, fun, easy to follow and tremendously beneficial to my ongoing thirst to understanding reality.

by Michelle L

2020年8月16日

Great course for anyone interested and intellectually curious! Very detailed and thorough even at a basic level! Would highly recommend!

by Riccardo C

2019年4月28日

The best course I have attended so far! The Lecturer was very clear and easy to follow despite the themes explained are not easy at all!

by Chan H Y

2018年11月1日

The pace of week1-week3 are too slow for learners with well science / mathematics background.

All parts of the course are well explained.

by Eric

2018年2月13日

Well organized and described - Each section can add to one's appreciation for the basic physics behind the special theory of relativity.

by Sherbaj T

2020年7月8日

The Way Instructor Had Arranged And Explained The Concepts Is Love. Thanks To And Instructor - Larry Randles Lagerstrom And Coursera :)

by Ethan E

2020年11月8日

Superb, this course is definitely congenial to one who likes to learn about physics. It has been a pleasure to participate from London

by Sebastián R

2020年8月13日

Excelente curso. el profesor es muy bueno y los ejemplos didácticos para entender de forma práctica la teoría de relatividad especial.

by Antonova E

2020年7月15日

Thank you very match! It was really interesting course! I found out a lot of new amazing information about time and physics generally.

by BANZAI V

2020年7月14日

Fantastic course! I was able to complete it without a strong math background! the Instructor is very thorough and very easy to follow!

by Pritish J

2020年4月3日

Excellent course and loved the way Prof. delivered the course. Wish he could take up a course in General Theory of Relativity as well.

by shubham k

2017年9月16日

This course is awesome . The lectures provided by the Stanford is very helpful. Our professor is also very helpful and encouraging.

by Steve B

2017年1月3日

A enjoyable and well laid out course, mathematics level: high school, some rigorous algebraic proofs though not essential to pass.

by Parker R M

2020年7月16日

Excellent course, very informative and interesting - even without a math/physics background, I feel I've taken a lot away from it.

by Raphael R

2018年11月11日

This material is probably the best explanation currently available for anyone and allows for intuitive understanding of the Theory

by Gary

2020年11月22日

Excellent course presented by a very clear competent instructor. If I can grasp the concepts and the math just about anyone can.

by Pam E

2017年8月20日

An excellent course with great videos explaining the concepts at a level and pace that could be understood. Thank you very much.

by Palak C

2017年7月7日

This course was amazing. The way Proff. Larry Taught, was so subtle and understandable. I recommend this course foe enthusiasts.

by Laurel S D

2016年12月19日

Great course. I have a BS in physics from Colorado School of Mines, which is a tough school, and they didn't explain it as well

by javier l

2020年4月12日

Fantastic, best course ever. I sincerely congratulate Larry Randles for his great work.

Thanks, Javier Lázaro

San Sebastián Spain

by Priyanka S

2019年8月22日

The course was informative and took a very unique and simple approach to explain The Special Theory of Relativity to beginners.

by Tim B

2017年11月6日

Very good course for people with little formal preparation in mathematics. The instructor explains the concepts very patiently.