Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
2,183件の評価
742件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

SS
2019年12月8日

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

BH
2017年6月22日

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 701 - 725 / 729 レビュー

by Aidan K

2020年2月27日

Quite hard work - the topic is not intuitive, and the questions teem with the possibility of going wrong - badly wrong.

Effort is required, and is paid-back.

by Ritvik A

2017年11月23日

It's a good course to start understanding Relativistic Physics. Nothing rigorous though.

The lectures are amazingly easy to understand. Overall liked it.

by luis a g s

2017年10月12日

I think a chapter on momentum and energy conservation would be interesting, I liked the examples and the treatment of the paradoxes, very good course.

by chiu t h

2018年7月21日

a very thorough introduction to special relativity, as a layman, I have gained immense insight & basic understanding. Thanks prof Lagerstrom!!!!

by Krish

2017年6月22日

The course was really good. But the discussion forum was not pleasant. Due to the unruly behaviour of this person named Thomas Lahn

by Gary S

2020年8月13日

Mr Lagerstrom has explained a difficult topic in a very understandable way. He is a true teacher, not just a lecturer. Thank you.

by Christophe N

2020年10月18日

Nice course with very clear explanations! Too bad that I had to wait for week 4 to really start the core of special relativity

by Vertika S

2018年12月17日

Excellent Prof , Excellent Resources. My only drawback is that prof is a bit excessive repetitive, rest everything is fine.

by apeksha j

2020年5月20日

A very interesting course simplified to an under graduate level. it helps in understanding relativity in perspective.

by Lee H

2017年8月16日

Well taught and structured course, gives a more quantitative understanding of some of the outcomes.

by Kiran K

2017年3月9日

Good course for introduction to special relativity. I expected more related to E=mc^2 derivation.

by Víctor P V

2016年12月7日

This course is superb, covers easyly all the aspects of the special theory of relativity

by Callum B

2018年7月4日

Really good to get a grasp of what relativity is all about

by Maartijn S

2017年11月13日

Really great course, the teaching was excellent and fun.

by Shayar S

2018年9月12日

Really interesting topic but can get a little boring

by Luis A B M L

2020年9月7日

A bit long, too much time to cover easy themes...

by Yasoda R

2017年8月26日

Nicely presented, but pace was very slow.

by Rajendraprasadbabu M

2019年7月19日

a little bit more advanced required.

by Don M

2020年7月23日

good course

by Wellington D P

2017年4月30日

good course

by harsh r

2018年10月2日

This course is just okay. The professor seemed nice and explained the concepts well. However it takes a painstaking long hours just to proceed to the next material(if you aren’t skipping stuff) as he just keeps over-explaining. The problems are far too easy , if you want to do relativity from a quantitative standpoint. Also,my biggest complaint is the introduction, which lasts for about 3 hours. And it takes around middle of the 2nd week to get started. I get it, make haste slow, but not to a crawl.

by Pratheek

2017年3月4日

Rather easy questions and not many difficult ones even in the optional exercises.

by Devika A M

2020年6月24日

It was a very informative and interesting course.

by Peter Z

2017年2月15日

The professor is so slow I have to have him at 1.5x speed when listening to his lecture and am still falling asleep. I am very interested Special Theory of RElativity but I ll just get a book. Will be faster.