Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
2,570件の評価
890件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

BH
2017年6月22日

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

JJ
2020年3月21日

Thanks for helping me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, covered a lot of ground but repeated it so it really could sink in. Like your style and want to thank you for your assistance. Thanks

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 351 - 375 / 883 レビュー

by Peter B

2017年9月22日

Larry Lagerstrom did an outstanding job in presenting much counter-intuitive material. The course flowed nicely and I feel that I have a reasonable grasp of Special Relativity.

by Mohammed A

2018年9月20日

This course is really made me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, does not matter if your physic level is not that much good, with this course you only need so basics.

by Pritam k s

2017年6月12日

teacher is good course is also good i loved it.i wanted to buy a certificate but i have not enough money to buy...anywhere thanks for enroll free thank you so,much............

by KEVIN T M X

2021年1月6日

It is a great course, it helped me a lot in understaing Einstein's thoughts. The didatics of professor Larry is excelent. For sure, this course definitively expanded my mind.

by Robert D

2020年5月23日

Professor Lagerstrom did a wonderful job building a foundation in order to make this very complicated theory understandable. The course was well worth the effort. Thank you

by Andrew M

2018年6月23日

I have been interested in relativity for years and thought that I understood it (in a general sense) pretty well - this course gave me new insights and is highly recommended.

by Eduardo D S F

2021年10月16日

Very clear and very well designed. I found it very easy to understand and useful to get an idea about general relativity.

Thank you very much, I enjoyed the course very much.

by Michael A

2021年2月21日

A tantalizing topic, a fantastic teacher...what could be better. Truly a well structured, superbly presented course and teacher. Highly recommended for the so inclined....

by Joseph D I

2021年1月3日

Outstanding course. I cannot say enough about the course design and instruction in building the foundation - piece by piece - for thorough understanding. Highly recommended.

by Shah Z K

2021年10月12日

The course was fantastic. It helped ma a lot to learn about special theory of relativity. The way of teaching was easy and good. Thanks for providing the great opportunity.

by randolph o

2020年8月20日

Very good instructor, knowledgeable, coherent, understandable, enthusiastic; course well organized, well paced; interesting subject; I learned a lot and enjoyed experience.

by Julian S

2019年4月18日

I am a second-year undergrad student. This is a well organized introductory course and I really enjoyed learning something new. Will definitely recommend it to a friend. :)

by Jojy M

2018年10月12日

An excellent course for those who want to have a basic understanding of the special theory of relativity without the scary math that one usually associates with the theory.

by Chanithu H

2021年10月24日

It was a truly amazing and informative course. The extent to which it widens our knowledge and intuition towards any approach in science is priceless. Highly recommend it!

by Michael C

2020年1月2日

So very glad to have taken this course. Professor Lagerstom was an excellent lecturer, making this challenging subject understandable and interesting. Thank you so much.

by Lea D

2019年8月2日

It was an amazing Course. I really enjoyed the Course and understood the concepts of the Theory of relativity. The weeks were really well-thought and add up to each other.

by Abigail M

2017年11月7日

Fantastic course! Really encouraged me to go study Physics at University. Really well explained and completely sparked me enthusiasm. So thought provoking and interesting!

by seesy

2020年7月29日

Overall, I thought the course content was very interesting and I really enjoyed learning more about Einstein and theories about time dilation and other related materials.

by Tucker E

2021年4月28日

Awesome course and professor did good job of explaining. Might have to use youtube or outside sources to help grasp some of the topics but great course and learned a lot

by Mayada S E

2019年9月1日

Amazing course that makes your mind opened for imagination in a magic Einsteinal world with a great instructor who simpliphy every tiny information.thanks alot Dr. Larry

by fred

2017年9月17日

Really interesting course, Prof L Lagerstrom is extremely good at teaching the concepts in a comprehensive way ; I hope that he will give more courses in the future ! :)

by Etienne T

2016年11月10日

Very good, easy to follow course. Concepts like time slowing down and things becoming shorter at high velocities are no longer a mysterie to me after taking this course.

by Grace V

2020年12月5日

Feeling a bit emotionally as I depart from this class. It was truly an enlightening experience and I walked away truly having a grasp for quantum mechanics as a novice.

by Marko S

2020年8月21日

Really great course, it can be seen that professor really puts in great effort and repeats key concepts throught course so you never go astray of main ideas. Thank you.

by Patrick M

2017年7月2日

Very good introduction to the topic without going too far in depth into the calculations. This has inspired me to take more advance physic courses to continue to learn.