Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
2,571件の評価
890件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

SS
2019年12月8日

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

AP
2020年8月11日

It was wonderful experience to know the special theory of relativity from Larry, who has presented the course in very simple way to understand. Thanks a lot to Larry for providing such a good session.

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 151 - 175 / 883 レビュー

by Sheshagiri K M R

2017年6月24日

I must say that it is a great course. It moves along nicely (though at times a bit fast); the context has been laid out well and there is enough of summarizing and 'looking back' before moving forward. This course is an ideal beginning for anyone who wants to deep dive into relativity at a later stage! My thanks to Coursera and special thanks to Prof. Lagerstrom!

by Om G

2020年3月14日

As a student hoping to study Physics in University, this course offered a fantastic and simple to follow explanation for concepts that are often portrayed as impossible to understand by mainstream media. Props to Professor Lagerstrom and the rest of the team in developing a course that even a person with a passing interest in physics can follow comprehensively!

by Rusi R

2018年2月11日

Great class, thank you. Just a suggestion for the movie with matter-antimatter fuel comparison to the center of the galaxy , when speaking of 38 kg antimatter, just for comparison perhaps we can convert this to truckloads of coal ... this way people will realize better how much energy it goes to producing 1 gram of antimatter, not even to mention 38 kg ... :")

by Amit M

2021年4月3日

A well-paced introduction to theory of relativity. The instructor offers a historical angle to the developments, an especially useful perspective for students, beyond the intuition-bending clutter of mathematical derivations. I highly recommend this over other courses on this subject to students of all disciplines, especially those of engineering disciplines.

by Catherine W

2020年1月31日

The professor is a joy to listen to and wish he had more courses on here. While I couldn't follow a couple of times, the benefits of taking a course that goes far beyond our daily experiences is astronomical. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone with even the slightest interest in engaging a more hands on approach to the Special Theory or Relativity.

by Alun D

2021年3月11日

A complex and challenging topic was presented with great clarity. Some of the early lectures seemed rather slow and laboured, especially if one has some scientific or mathematical training, but getting a clear understanding of the 'basic' topics allowed the more challenging aspects of the course to be cleary understood. Thank you for an excellent course.

by John O

2020年6月10日

An excellent introduction to a fascinating subject. Each individual lecture is short and focused so the amount of new material introduced can always be understood and absorbed by an engaged student. Once key concepts are introduced, they are regularly reinforced in subsequent lectures. Highly recommended for anyone interested in exploring this subject.

by Sherng L

2021年1月24日

The introduction on how to follow the course is crucial in the successful understanding of Einstein's Theory. I thought how Einstein came out with theory of relativity was beyond my ability to comprehend. But the the step by step approach by by Dr Lagerstrom makes the whole theory simple to understand. Thank you very much. I really enjoy this course.

by Haaran A

2017年1月13日

This is a must course those who want to really want to learn more about the theory of relativity which is considered the most confusing theory ,but its actually not true because of this course you can easily understand the course. After completing the course sincerely you would be able to solve basic problems on relativity and even quantum mechanics.

by Gethro O

2020年4月28日

This course is perfect for anyone interested in science. All you need is high school math and everything else is explained spectacularly well. The pace is a bit slow, but it pays so you can deeply understand each topic as you go on. You won't get bored. The professor is engaging, the Special Theory of Relativity is weird and fun.

TAKE THIS COURSE NOW

by Srijan A M

2020年4月9日

This course is a very beneficial course.It helped me to increase my knowledge about physics and different phenomenon which occurs in our day to day life. this course helped me to take a better insight of the laws of physics made by the great scientist Albert Einstein. I would prefer all of you to take up this course and be benefited by this course.

by Anton U

2017年4月29日

This course was amazing, and I'm sad to see it go. It was interesting and full of new things that I have yet to learn and hopefully go more in-depth into during my university studies. I hope more people are informed about this course and I also hope that I still have access to the video lectures for future reference. Thank you for the experience!

by Pranshul J

2020年5月16日

The way of teaching of the professor is just fabulous, I hope Professor Larry makes more courses. He teaches in a clear and easy way. I strongly recommend this course to anyone who is ardent to learn and curious about how the universe works, what is ' the marvelous structure of reality.' No complex mathematics is needed(least of all calculus.)

by Shamim D

2017年1月17日

Professor Lagerstrom is a great teacher and the course is well organized. While still a little complex for someone with rudimentary or fairly stale science knowledge, Professor Lagerstrom's approach is easy to follow and understand. I especially like his summaries at the end of the course which put together the complex mathematics into simple

by Sanjukta G

2017年7月31日

Being a high school student, this course looked very daunting to me. However, after the dilemma, whether to choose this course or not, when I finally did choose this course, I felt fortunate that I did. Not only am I getting to learn about the special theory of relativity but also skill-set required to excel in any kind of course. Thank you!

by MOHIT M

2017年2月23日

The struggle to understand the marvellous structure of reality is an ennobling experience. The course is more engaging than a movie, I literally mean that. Professor Larry takes you on a roller coaster ride. I bet you would love the ride.

P.s. Don't be afraid of maths. Professor Larry has taken care of that part. It's only simple algebra.

by L H

2019年1月11日

This is hands down the best introduction to the Special Theory of Relativity I have ever found. The instructor really explains everything so lucidly that even lay audiences without a strong math or physics background can grasp the theory. I would really love to see a course by this instructor on the General Theory of Relativity as well!

by Gregorio T

2020年5月17日

This course met 120% my expectations. Prof. Lagestrom has extraordinary teaching skills and assembled a course that allows students to slowly build fundamental blocks of knowledge. I look forward to keep learning with him if any other course is available. It has been a truly memorable experience. Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

by Alvaro W

2017年10月21日

Thank you to Dr. Randles for teaching us this excellent course, for preparing all the lessons in a simple manner, he makes us see the theory easy. And thank you for teaching us not only the scientist, but also the human person through Einstein quotes.

Try to become not a person of success, but try rather to become a person of value

by Edwin R

2020年3月29日

Great course. Easy to follow and to understand. Also a great compliment to the professor for explaining the material in a clear and easy to follow manner. I have now a clear understanding of the underlying concepts of the special theory of relativity. I would really like to see a similar course on the general theory of relativity.

by Kishore R

2017年5月23日

This course is well laid out and planned. The professor goes through step by step and makes it very easy to understand a very difficult and non-intuitive subject. The qualitative explanations are excellent in giving a sense of what the equations mean.

All in all, an excellent course. Thank you very much for making this available.

by King C

2021年1月6日

A very good and extensive course giving you a solid introduction to the special theory of relativity. As a high school student I found that it started out quite slow with a bit too much on history in the first week in my opinion. It gets really interesting after the second or third week, especially for someone who loves maths.

by Diksha A

2020年9月15日

A very intuitive course which starts from the ground basics and builds an understanding on how to jog one's brains to imagine in-depth thought experiments which help us in understanding the amazingness of our universe. Very well taught by Professor Lagerstrom who explains in a very simple manner for everyone's understanding.

by Mauritius X

2017年9月14日

Incredible. Now I can say to have learned the basics of relativity. A step by step approach with some math guided me through the field. Before the course I was simply aware of the major points of the theory accepting its conclusion bona fide. Now I got it. Thanks a lot professor. There is a reason why you teach at Stanford